We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

India House Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
India House Hostel
India House Hostel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 345: English reviews
Start your review of India House Hostel
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place is amazing. I made lifelong friends and had the absolute time of my life, stay here if you want to meet people and party. Rooms are so quirky and cool. We extended our stay because we were having so much fun! I always recommend this place to people visiting New Orleans. My favourite city in the world!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paige_maxi
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at India House at least three times since 2012, most recently in March 2017. I love it! For context ... I'm a 35-year-old American woman, so yes, I'm on the older side of most residents here. But actually I'm always surprised by the diversity of people who end up at India House. It's an interesting cast of characters....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingStagehand
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good hostel atmosphere with some food options and good access to the street car out on Canal Street. We stayed in a no-frills private room and I was happy with the level of service and cleanliness. Chatted with some cool folks in the common areas. It's a bit outside of the action down by the river, but that also means...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went up to New Orleans for St. Patty's day and was not disappointed at all with this place. I was in a group of four and we had our own room w shower. The bunk beds were comfortable but mainly the groups you interact with at the hotel are all on the same easy going attitude. Showers could use a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouisandMarie
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lot of fun here! There are daily activities planned and all of the staff is super nice. Pool is nice and home cooked meals every day for a cheap price. It is a bit far away from downtown, but the trolley ride is cheap and not too time consuming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
Damme, Germany
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here during a stopover on business trip. Booked a private room with private bathroom for approximately 60,-$ per night. Whole area looks a little dodgy and worn out, also the hostel is a little bit trailer park. But what to expect for that price? I found a very clean room with also very clean bathroom. I could store my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DR_Chrischi
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We definitely aim to give a value for the price. We also appreciate everyone who stays with us.

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here during Mardi Gras with a few of my friends and I was not disappointed. I never am when I come here! This place is seriously one of the best things about coming to New Orleans. They have all options, private rooms, female dorms, male dorms and co-ed. I usually opt for female or private but I've stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia L
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a great reviews for us!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I booked a private room with shared bath and it was $99 for 2 nights, so not cheap. I wouldn't mind the price but it has the worst facility ever. No towels provided, no kettle for hot water, no drinking water. The place is just filthy, the room is so old and dirty and tiny hardly any space to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F00die_hard
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at India House. Our reception is open 24 hours and we can fix most problems if they get reported to us. $45 dollars plus tax a night is about the most inexpensive private accommodation in town at this time so it's basic, but private. The beds are designed to accommodate both couples and just...

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Great vibes. Super friendly staff and manager. The staff group is pretty cool. Great breakfast & dinner, prices are reasonable, too! FREE coffee & tea available 24/7. Vending machines with snacks, drinks, & misc items you may have forgotten. THERES A POOL. I find that amazing. Washers & dryers. The cleaning ladies are sweet and do a fantastic job every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria N
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write this great review for us!

Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

This really is one of the few terrible hostels I've stayed. It's ran by kids who have no clue how to run a hostel. They overbook and basically leave people stranded in the middle of the night with no place to stay because of their incompetence. Unfortunately they have no competition in terms of hostels as there aren't any, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemma B
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

We apologize for the fact that you were given an 8 bed dorm when you booked a 6 bed dorm. Our 24 hour reception is run by young students and travellers who want to stay in New Orleans for a while. They work in exchange for free accomodations. They are not professional full time receptionists like you would find in...

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Dorm (1)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Private Four Person Bunk Room (9)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#7 of 35 in New Orleans
73 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 35 in New Orleans
212 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#5 of 35 in New Orleans
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#11 of 35 in New Orleans
116 reviews
Mid-City
The Crescent Palms Motel
The Crescent Palms Motel
#124 of 161 in New Orleans
104 reviews
Garden District
The Atlas House
The Atlas House
#17 of 35 in New Orleans
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Price Range: $32 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your India House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from India House Hostel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from India House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're not a partier, see if you can get in a room in one of the adjacent houses.”
TravelingStagehand, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Depends what YOU want- dorm or private! Just plan ahead. Bathrooms are shared. So PRE BOOK for a private bathroom.”
KortneeWithak, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stay away from the common area”
jclove49, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bunks are $20/night on average, private rooms available.”
35juliannam, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one away from the main/common areas.”
treadmill360, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5