We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

India House Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$40*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
India House Hostel
India House Hostel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for India House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 346: English reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Great vibes. Super friendly staff and manager. The staff group is pretty cool. Great breakfast & dinner, prices are reasonable, too! FREE coffee & tea available 24/7. Vending machines with snacks, drinks, & misc items you may have forgotten. THERES A POOL. I find that amazing. Washers & dryers. The cleaning ladies are sweet and do a fantastic job every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria N
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write this great review for us!

Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

This really is one of the few terrible hostels I've stayed. It's ran by kids who have no clue how to run a hostel. They overbook and basically leave people stranded in the middle of the night with no place to stay because of their incompetence. Unfortunately they have no competition in terms of hostels as there aren't any, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemma B
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

We apologize for the fact that you were given an 8 bed dorm when you booked a 6 bed dorm. Our 24 hour reception is run by young students and travellers who want to stay in New Orleans for a while. They work in exchange for free accomodations. They are not professional full time receptionists like you would find in...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Last year I was travelling by myself in New Orleans (Jazz Fest!) and stayed at the lovely and quirky India House Hostel. Staff were super friendly, helpful and down to earth and the whole place exudes an artsy, quirky, lived-in charm, with amazing paintings covering most surfaces, a great backyard with space for concerts, cookouts and a sizeable pool for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reka S
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 8 February 2017

My husband and I stayed at India House Hostel and were quite impressed. The hostel is housed in a lovely old building with lots of lovely old woodwork. There are several community spaces, a communal kitchen, warm water in the bathroom. (They even have a pool!) The staff was really nice too. What more could you ask for?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank virginiafgreen
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We do try to give our hostel that "old" New Orleans feel. We believe our buildings and property have lots of character. It is important to us to make everyone feel at home and appreciated when they stay with us. Again, thank you for your lovely response.

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

India House is an okay hostel, the facilities are not the newest or cleanest but for what you are paying I think it's fair. I didn't spent that much time in the hostel but I met great people there, location is good walking distance supermarkets, pharmacy and rest/bars. People told me to be careful in that area but I walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlehLennox
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

The hostel is really cool and the location is great. Access to the city is really easy and cheap with public transportation. It could be a little cleaner and the breakfast is pretty expensive. The staff members are really friendly but a little bit alternative like the entire hostel. I would come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The hostel is on par with all other hostels in terms of beds, showers, toilets, etc. I did stay in a private room with a private shower one evening and it was clean. You are able to book tours from the main desk in the hostel, they have reasonably priced meals for breakfast and supper. Corner store is just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
New Braunfels, Texas
Reviewed 1 November 2016

If you are groovy enough, this is your spot! Meals are available all day long for about $6 or you can use the kitchen to cook your own stuff. Groovy atmosphere. Meet new people. NOT quiet at all.... but really, it's New Orleans, so please don't tell me you are headed that way for some peace and quiet! Various bedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KortneeWithak
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I spent 2 weeks at this place and it was awesome. This place has a pool! The location is right next to the tram line which is great! Really close to a great bar named chickie wah wah. The chef does a meal every morning and night and it is sooooo tasty. First come first serve. The rooms are clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alex r
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 13 October 2016

If you want the real local experience and you're on a budget this place is where it's at. My friends and I reserved a few of the private rooms with bathrooms. Newly remodeled, simple but tidy and a half a block from a trolley stop. The staff were helpful and they had fresh coffee brewing 247! This place is da...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank atankersley

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Dorm (1)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Private Four Person Bunk Room (9)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (112)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#7 of 35 in New Orleans
73 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 35 in New Orleans
215 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#5 of 35 in New Orleans
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#12 of 35 in New Orleans
116 reviews
Mid-City
The Crescent Palms Motel
The Crescent Palms Motel
#124 of 162 in New Orleans
108 reviews
Garden District
The Atlas House
The Atlas House
#17 of 35 in New Orleans
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Price Range: $29 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your India House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from India House Hostel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from India House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're not a partier, see if you can get in a room in one of the adjacent houses.”
TravelingStagehand, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Depends what YOU want- dorm or private! Just plan ahead. Bathrooms are shared. So PRE BOOK for a private bathroom.”
KortneeWithak, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stay away from the common area”
jclove49, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bunks are $20/night on average, private rooms available.”
35juliannam, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one away from the main/common areas.”
treadmill360, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$40* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates