We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Royal

Show Prices
#103 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is great, nice rooms, excellent location, the most friendly staff ever (that will work to grant you almost any request), light breakfast included. The front desk staff are the best! They upgraded us to a better room just because.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valentinae925
Brian C, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Thank you! We greatly appreciate reading such kind reviews and certainly love to hear that our staff helped to ensure your stay was memorable and positive. We certainly look forward to your return. If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

great location, great space! my room was the perfect size for me, comfy bed and wifi! everyone that works here is so nice! so friendly and we're happy to help with anything I asked! the courtyard was a real nice spot to enjoy a coffee in the morning as well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shannoncE4907IZ
Brian C, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Thank you! Your feedback is greatly appreciated; we certainly love to hear that our staff helped to ensure your stay was memorable and positive. We certainly look forward to your return. If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our second stay at Hotel Royal. The service is impeccable. Staff is wonderful. Courteous, attentive and knowledgeable. This stay was in a lovely first floor room that opened onto the small courtyard. Simply lovely. Our new fave. We'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn H
Brian C, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Thank you! Your feedback is greatly appreciated; we certainly love to hear that our staff helped to ensure your stay was memorable and positive. We certainly look forward to your return to our lovely courtyard! If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at the Hotel Royal for our 38th wedding anniversary. My wife and I are extremely happy we choose the Hotel Royal. When making the reservation I commented it was our anniversary. When the hotel contacted me back, we were offered an upgrade if available. When we arrived we were given that upgrade which truly enhanced our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Brian C, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Thank you! Your feedback is greatly appreciated; we certainly love to hear that our staff helped to ensure your stay was positive. Our balcony rooms certainly are memorable! We certainly look forward to your return. If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the best customer service I've ever received at a hotel. Jennifer and Eric rock!! From a handwritten list and map of 15 restaurants with vegetarian offerings, to personally calling restaurants to find out what was open on Thanksgiving Day. We observed Eric handing apples to a couple headed out on a carriage ride--I assume for them to feed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank junegirl05
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had one of the best rooms at the Royal and it felt really special. It was a large room with a balcony and spa bath. IMHO well worth the extra cost as compared with a normal room. The hotel feels like a piece of history and is well located to walk to everything in the French Quarter and other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T2563ALandrewm
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Thank you! Your feedback is greatly appreciated; we certainly love to hear that our staff helped to ensure your stay was memorable and positive. I certainly agree that our balcony suites are well worth the upgrade! We certainly look forward to your return. If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Dalhart, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an ideal location to set out on your trip on foot. However, the room was very small and you better be in decent shape to trek up the steep stairs if your room is on the 2nd or 3rd floor. We had a few minor things wrong with the room such as a toilet that ran (noisy) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annW8560WE
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, while I'm sorry your room failed to meet your expectations I am delighted to hear that our staff helped make your stay a warm and welcome one. We look forward to your return, and if you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No elevator... and carrying luggage up and down the stairs to and from your room is a challenge. There is only one ice maker which is located on the first level and no coffee pot in rooms and you have to go down/back up all the stairs just to get a cup of coffee. However, staff is very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifermachalec
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, while I'm sorry your room failed to meet your expectations I am delighted to hear that our staff helped make your stay a warm and welcome one. I will certainly pass along to Jennifer and Eric that you found them extra helpful. We look forward to your return, and if you have any questions feel...

Slidell, Louisiana
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Escorted to wrong room. Roach in bathroom. Water in shower did not stay warm. Not worth the $350 a night rate. $30 to park in a terribly kept garage. The front desk staff was not very friendly. However, the guys that helped us to our room was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natashab605
Trisha L, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your stay failed to meet expectations. Please excuse the growing pains of a historic structure in a subtropical climate, these issues do crop up from time to time but we do our best to mitigate them. Apologies again that things were not to your liking. If you have any questions feel free to contact...

Glendora, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms have paper thin walls and stairwells are built into them so you hear noise all night long. Other rooms are street facing and you hear people walking by the hotel all night long. The bathtub was dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleenhB546AB

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Room (31)
Viewed
Royal Balcony Suite (36)
Viewed
Royal Superior Room (28)
Viewed
Royal Superior Room with Jacuzzi Tub (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#113 of 161 in New Orleans
689 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#117 of 161 in New Orleans
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#36 of 161 in New Orleans
2,128 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#101 of 161 in New Orleans
414 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 161 in New Orleans
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 1006 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2704 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $145 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Royal staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Older travelers and others averse to climbing stairs should request a first floor room!”
 of 5 bubbles 488gwynh, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was up 2 flights of stairs and there is no elevator. No problem for us but there are rooms on the ground floor if that is a problem”
 of 5 bubbles T2563ALandrewm, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't ask”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'd request being at least on the second floor. The first floor can be a little loud.”
 of 5 bubbles Q6794EJlorim, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Courtyard fronting rooms convenient for groups (no need to pay more for a balcony on the street front.)”
 of 5 bubbles pamd583, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay