We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Galerie Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
La Galerie Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Hudson, Florida
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very close to bourbon street but rooms need a little updating. Very friendly at front desk.Gave us many tips on touring around the city. Two for one coupons were great!A Little noises at night . Stay away from room next to ice machine. Very loud.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonbonbon33
Management response:

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time out to write us this awesome review. We love to see that our guest enjoyed a fun time in New Orleans. Also I am happy to see that you enjoyed the two for one coupons. We hope to see you guys again on your next visit to New Orleans. Sincerely, Chaz

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

First of all the room was very clean. The price was amazing at 76 a night it was a small room but comfortable. Bed was great. I loved that the room had no windows as we were out late. They also left us a goodie bag with a bottle of water and cookies and stuff that was unexpected and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
Management response:

Good morning Ms. Jennifer, We are pleased to see that you had a very comfortable stay with us. I am happy to see that you liked our goodie bag gift and that everything was very clean for you. We would love for you guys to come back and stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans. Sincerely, Chaz

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff was very friendly, however the room we got felt like a closet/ storage room. There was no windows in our room and the bathroom had broken tiles. I have never stayed at a hotel room without windows (and genuinely believe all hotels rooms should have one), we should have been warned or given the option to change but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliehU1876DD
Management response:

Good morning Julie, Thank you for taking the time out to give us some feedback. I just want to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We want every guest to have an exceptional stay with us. Please let me know if you have any other questions and we would love for you guys to come...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was a last minute decision to stay in New Orleans for the night. Searched for hotels online and found La Galerie for a good price. The concept of the hotel and the rooms appealed me, and I was happy with my decision. This hotel does not serve breakfast. So it was one negative point. But overall facility was very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baret B
Management response:

Good morning Baret, Thank you so much for the awesome feedback. I am so happy to see that our hotel was a cozy place for your stay in New Orleans. We love to see that you enjoyed the concept and appeal of La Galerie. We hope to see you on your next visit to New Orleans. Sincerely, Chaz

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I found this hotel on Expedia for a reasonable price. About $114 average for 4 nights. It's under new management since March of 2016 and it's still under renovation in some areas. It's in a great location and certainly cheapest I found in the Quarter. We had a King room and it was nice overall. They did accommodate us when...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elyse T
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for the awesome feedback. I am excited to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us and the location. We would love for you to come back and stay with us on your next visit. Sincerely, Chaz

Gulf Shores, Alabama
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Poor renovation, loud plumbing, tiny and dirty bathroom, sheets appeared used, too few bedcovers, but a great location! Complete the renovation with materials other than plywood and it will be a cozy eclectic hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jean M
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for the feedback. Here at the La Galerie we strive to make sure that every guest has an exceptional stay. I am displeased to see that your stay was not up to the standard we set as a hotel. My name is Chaz, the Front Desk Manager, if you have any other questions my number is...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For a no-frills, basic-amenity hotel, this was perfect. You couldn't ask for a more convenient location if you're looking to eat/do touristy things in and around the French Quarter. Yes, there is no desk, the TV is small in relation to the room and there aren't fridges or coffee makers in the room, but if you're booking a hotel to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kimberly S
Management response:

Good afternoon Kimberly, I am so excited to see that you absolutely loved our hotel. We love to see our guest give awesome feedback not just on one part of our hotel, but their overall experience. We cant wait to see you guys again on your next visit to the Big Easy!!! Sincerely, Chaz

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

La Galerie was the perfect location for our stay in New Orleans. The room was very clean, and the hotel staff were all super friendly and helpful. We were within anywhere from 1 minute to 15 minutes walking distance to a whole host of fabulous restaurants and shops in the French Quarter. The only thing to be wary of is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fantine23
Management response:

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to write an awesome review. I am very excited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was perfect for your trip to New Orleans. We hope to see you guys again on your next visit. Sincerely, Chaz

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location was absolutely perfect! Our bedroom was decently sized with the brick wall and high ceilings, the bathroom is a little small but not unbearable. The staff were super friendly, valet is a little expensive but worth it considering it is the French Quarter and there's not many places to park. Rooms could have used a microwave and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Haley F
Management response:

Good morning Haley, I am pleased to see that our hotel was a great location for your stay and to rest your head. We love to see our guest have an overall great stay:) We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans. Sincerely, Chaz

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came to the city for a meeting for my fiancé and decided to stay a couple nights. Read the reviews and didn't have too many expectations for this hotel but we got it for an amazing price. Valet was alright considering they share it with other hotels in the area. Now, you have to understand that this is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Management response:

Dear Sarah, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay. We are pleased to see that everything went well with your stay. We work hard to make sure every guest is comfortable and your feedback helps with future accommodations. We look forward to seeing you when you come back to the Big Easy. Sincerely, Nicole...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#44 of 162 in New Orleans
1,503 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about La Galerie Hotel

Address: 131 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Chateau Dupre Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: $139 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galerie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Galerie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Dupre New Orleans
Hotel Chateau Dupre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Galerie Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Prairieville, Louisiana
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Cincinnati, Ohio

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from La Galerie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A few things you should know before booking this hotel: The bathroom is tiny. The shower is 2 feet by 2 feet. That's it. With little to know water pressure. There is absolutely no place to put anything. I had to put my toiletries on the floor in the bathroom and cloths on the floor. There is a tiny closet with a shelf but no light. It's very dark in the room as well. No mini fridge, no microwave, no coffee pot. It's not like there isn't a place to put a dresser or bookshelf type piece in the room- there is. ”
 of 5 bubbles 142elyset, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“4th floor rooms are completely new”
 of 5 bubbles jessicaaW6566AX, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Everything good. Only problem were the pillows, small and soft. ”
 of 5 bubbles Crecay2, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Expect noise. It's the French Quarter! The Wifi signal in 408 was amazing! No issues with it at all!”
 of 5 bubbles cadonner87, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were in 320, our son and family moved from 4th floor to 213”
 of 5 bubbles Nannysheila, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay