We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Monteleone

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Monteleone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monteleone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,716: English reviews
Marksville, United States
Reviewed 8 February 2016

The location is excellent. The staff is great. The cleanliness is excellent. My only negatives is that there is a lot of street noise, and in my opinion, it is way over priced for the typical historic hotel's small rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William G
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

William, we are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be in a great location and very clean! We take pride in our amazing staff and are happy that you agree! We passed along all of your comments to our management team for review. We appreciate all your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.

Birmingham, United States
Reviewed 7 February 2016

The hotel was average at best. We were overcharged, in room phone would only call the garage, had trouble getting bell service, didn't have enough coffee in the room. Price of the room is way too much for what you receive. Would not stay there again, I would go back to the Royal Sonesta.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kelly P
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

Kelly, thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and the Hotel Monteleone. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. The Hotel Monteleone is a historic property, and with that comes a unique floor plan with varying room sizes. We have tried our...

Gulf Breeze, Florida
Reviewed 7 February 2016

My typical corner Mardi Gras room went up from $300.00+ to $500.00+ and meanwhile the personnel & service has gone down. When first arrived desk man offered to move us to a higher floor(which is more away from the street sounds/bands); Moved us from a Corner room reservation (at $500.00 a night) and moved us to 1275 (a $300.00 room)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom M
Clayton, Georgia
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were given the Royal treatment. The hotel was gorgeous and our suite was nothing less than amazing. The carousel bar was fun as well!! We look forward to more anniversary trips in our future!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

Kelly, happy belated anniversary! Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same royal treatment you described. We look forward to hosting you for many anniversaries to come!

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 February 2016

The service was excellent; the concierge was efficient, friendly, and very competent; the food was beyond excellent--some of the best meals I've ever had. It was a professional meeting and the hotel did all of the food service and catering. Everyone at the meeting was blown away! And the catering staff clearly likes their job and excels at their job--so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bert F
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We take pride in our amazing staff and are glad that you found them to be efficient and friendly. Our food is indeed amazing, and we are happy that you were able to experience it! We look forward to hosting you again soon!

MA
Reviewed 6 February 2016

The Hotel Monteleone is a beautiful classic hotel. The check-in staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size and well maintained. The bathroom on our double was small, but it worked for my daughter and myself. The staff upgraded our other room to a king suite. That was a really nice corner room. It had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fifiMA
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Hotel Monteleone! We appreciate your positive and thoughtful review of your room, Criollo, and Carousel Bar. I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought...

Reviewed 6 February 2016

It is located right in the middle of New Orleans so you are close enough to walk to a lot of what you'll want to see. The lobby is beautiful, staff is great, and the rooms are luxurious. We had no problems staying here and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nicer hotel in the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at the Hotel Monteleone! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. We appreciate your recommendation, and please come back and visit us soon!

Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

OK so we got here @ 1030am our room wasn't ready check in is not till 4pm but Stephanie gave us a couple options. Check out another room on another level, so we did. Came back to the front desk and Stephanie had upgraded our room to a suite and let me tell you. Room is fabulous the bed is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lady G
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for your amazing review of your experience at Hotel Monteleone! We take pride in our exceptional customer service, and are thrilled that Stephanie took care of you. Carousel bar is always a great time, and we are glad that you were able to experience it! We agree that our gym and rooftop pool are great...

Seattle, United States
Reviewed 5 February 2016

My friend and I enjoyed everything about this hotel. From parking to check-in to check-out, we had absolutely no problems at all. I would have liked the price to be better but we were there just before Mardi Gras so it was probably more expensive than other times of the year. Oh, and the water pressure in the shower was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

Michael, we sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us for Mardi Gras. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maw3130
TheGrandDame, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monteleone, responded to this review

1,515 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1161)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (76)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (315)
Viewed
Room/Suite (189)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (427)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (295)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Executive Suite (47)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Preferred Double Double (38)
Viewed
Preferred King (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Traditional King (33)
Viewed
Vieux Carre Suite (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4,201 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
3,872 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
5,064 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Criollo Restaurant
Criollo Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
No photo provided
Hunt Room Grill
Cuisines: Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It’s been said that the French Quarter begins in the lobby of the Hotel Monteleone. In fact, this venerable establishment sits majestically at the foot of Royal Street giving guests the best point of departure for all things New Orleans. Visitors need only step outside this French Quarter hotel to discover shop after shop of fabulous European antiques, estate jewelry, Oriental rugs, and art and antiquities from around the world. Quaint restaurants and specialty shops outside of this luxurious New Orleans hotel line the cobblestone French Quarter streets that lead to Jackson Square, the Old French Market and the Riverwalk where tourists and native New Orleanians stroll the levee and watch the steamboats and barges along the Mississippi River. At this New Orleans hotel, you’ll find history around every corner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Monteleone

Address: 214 Royal Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70130-2227
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: $300 - $845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monteleone 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monteleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteleone Hotel New Orleans
Monteleone New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Monteleone staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Monteleone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Preferred rooms tend to be higher up away from the street, larger, and have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles SCTraveler2010, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room facing Royal street. Our room faced the side of a building.”
 of 5 bubbles stephanietT4915BW, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request a high floor with window. A lot of street noise on Royal Street side of building.”
 of 5 bubbles bearbike137, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Join iPrefer for free wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles dhinTX, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose room with window.”
 of 5 bubbles lluckylab, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5