We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Super 8 Custer\/Crazy Horse Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 417: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Went to Mt. Rushmore on the spur of the moment. Made reservations online. Got to Custer SD, and it was one of the only hotels still open. Was clean and we'll maintained. The pool was fun, and the breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroldO4764MD
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 30 October 2016

This is the second year we have stayed during October and really like the quiet. The town of Custer is almost completely closed when we pass through and this is really the only option to stay. Rooms are very clean, nothing fancy. Pool is clean. Average breakfast. Nice staff. Always there with contractors who are demolishing or fixing properties in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed here for 1 night in September. Room was nice with a great picture of Mount Rushmore monument over the bed. Motel is set back slightly from road on edge of town, but just 5-10 walk to the centre. Reasonable breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David4758
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Ok stay in small town Custer. Room was clean and adequate. Breakfast was continental only, as advertised but a bit disappointing having stayed at Baymont hotels earlier on this trip with more choices. Convenient location to Wind and Jewel Caves. Quiet room even though set back from the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil_OPKS
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests feel at home and appreciate your feedback. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit to Custer

Iowa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed at the Super 8 in Custer, South Dakota in October 2015 & again in February 2016 so that tells you we had a good experience. It is one of the nicest Super 8 hotels we have visited anywhere! We didn't use the pool or hot tub, so we can't comment on that except that the area was clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that your stay with us was a good one. The staff here takes pride in customer service and cleanliness of rooms. We appreciate your feedback. I will be sure to let the staff know your kind words. We hope to see you again.

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindaoV6261VY
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Room was great! Hard to find restaurants open at this time of year, but no complaints about the hotel. Hot tub and pool were a plus! People were great. Breakfast was minimal. Location was good for seeing everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly R
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that your stay with us met your expectations. The hot tub and pool is a great feature of ours as its used by children and adults and everyone seems to enjoy the atmosphere in there. We hope to see you again.

Kansas
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaynaF9
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review

Mason City, Iowa
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Why stay anywhere else? Super * Custer/Crazy Horse area is centrally located to all the activities in Custer State Park, Wind Cave, Jewel cave, Mt Rushmore, Hill City-Keystone Train, and on the western side just south of the great Scenic Spearfish Canyon. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are restful, adequate and clean. The breakfast is simple with...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinsU525JU
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that your stay with us was a good experience. We appreciate your kind words and I will sure let the staff know. Super 8 is a great location for all the attractions since we are just minutes away. We hope to see you again.

Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank godfreyt563
Tanya E, General Manager at Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area, responded to this review

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
5.9 km away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
162 reviews
20.7 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
250 reviews
1.4 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area

Address: 535 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1952
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Price Range: $103 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Custer / Crazy Horse Area Hotel Custer
Super Eight Custer
Custer Super Eight
Custer Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you don't mind looking at your car at night, pick a room facing the hillside. It is quieter there.”
 of 5 bubbles 903lizl, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Turn on air if loud move rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles angelahag, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“most rooms are non-smoking with refrigerators. some handicap rooms are smoking allowed. check website.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnU474, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room near the stairwell there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles johnsC846EE, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper level room, it will be quieter in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles 876wendyj, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5