We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Custer

Show Prices
#8 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Custer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 129: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge Custer
 Click to rate
pattonsburg mo
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here for several years during the rally, usually for 4 days, handy location, walking distance to town. Always great front desk staff, rooms are made up everyday, breakfast isthe usual free fair for breakfast, but it is always fresh, love the fr esh cut watermelon. Parking is nice and flat for the bikes, and don't notice much noise...

Thank b1carr
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and your review! We love to hear that our guests have had a good stay and its so much fun to see our returning guests each summer. We look forward to seeing you again for Sturgis 2017! Always a fun time. If you have any special requests for your stay, please give us a call.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by how nice this little motel was given how expensive others in the town were. Nice and clean room with comfortable beds, microwave and fridge. Everything functioned well, and we'd definitely stay again if we were in the area. The only problem was we'd asked for a quiet upper floor room, we did get an upper...

Thank travellerstwo2016
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry to hear about the noise from the A/C next door at the forest service building. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We do hope you get back to the Custer area again and we will definitely give you a different room and an upgrade if possible. We are...

Reviewed 8 October 2016

The hotel has an excellent location In Custer. Have a simple breakfast that the folks at the hotel offer or head out the door on foot and chow down at one of the many establishments just a block or 2 away. Then head out N-S-E-W and explore the Southern Hills or Custer State Park or go long it is only...

Thank Brad W
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience. Our goal is for our guests to have a great stay and a wonderful time in the hills. Custer is centrally located in the Black Hills. We do hope we see you again, and ask us about our rooms with the hot tub! Thank you again.

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We spent three night here & were pretty pleased, especially with the price. The location is on the main street in Custer, & was handy for getting to Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Wind Cave National Park, etc. The room was comfortable, & had a refrigerator, which we hadn't expected. The indoor heated pool looked nice, although we didn't use...

Thank TexasClaire
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate your business and you staying with us. We are so happy you had a good stay and the location is so convenient to all the sights and activities in the Black Hills. I appreciate your feedback on breakfast. It is only a continental breakfast and we do offer fresh fruit and...

Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Centrally located, clean and relatively modern. Pleasant staff and indoor pool. My only tiny complaint is the somewhat mediocre complimentary continental breakfast. This was easily corrected at "Our Place" (see review).

Thank Underpaid62
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate you staying with us and your comments and feedback. I am happy that you had a great breakfast at Our Place - the locals eat there also. We do try and offer fresh fruit and yogurt besides the usually continental breakfast items. We hope you had a wonderful...

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Nice little motel in downtown Custer run by a delightful couple whose welcome was both warm and friendly. Rooms were a good size, very clean and the motel itself was quiet. Prices are a little high but so is everything in the Black Hills area so that's to be expected. Nice cafe virtually next door who did a good breakfast.

Thank Elevenfiftysix
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

We thank you for staying with us and are so happy to hear you had a good stay! We are in a located in a central location for all the attractions and walking distance to eating and shopping in Custer. We hope you had a wonderful time in the hills and that we see you again in the future.

pittsburgh, pa
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights (9/9 and checked out 9/13). It is in a perfect location for Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, etc. The room was very clean and comfortable - it has a refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave and hair dryer and the beds were comfy. And it has an indoor pool - small but good for...

Thank steelergirl87
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us! We always love to hear that our guests had a great stay. Custer and the Econolodge are centrally located in the hills to all the attractions. Thank you for sharing your experience and perhaps we will see you again in the future. We hope you had a great time in the Black Hills.

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Extremely clean rooms. Great value. Very friendly staff. Comfortable beds, but next time I will bring my own pillows. However, my teenager loved the pillows. Shower was really hot, which I liked. The breakfast that was included was good, but mostly carbs. Would have liked to see a bit more protein.

Thank tlh1025g
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you for the great review. We are so happy you had a great stay. Enough our breakfast is a continental breakfast, we will look into some healthy, protein items that we could add. We hope you had a wonderful time in the Custer area and we look forward to seeing you again in...

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We went there for 4th of July. The room was clean and neat, very good service, friendly stuff. The Crazy Horse is very close from the hotel, Mount Rushmore is not very far either.Me and my family had a good time. I highly recommend going there, we had a lot of fun.

Thank Adriana A
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

So glad you had a fun time while visiting the Black Hills area. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post a review. I have shown my stay your review and we love hearing that our guests have had a good stay. The 4th of July is such a special time in the hills and Custer...

Reviewed 31 August 2016

I don't usually book the EconoLodge in the Choice Hotel chain, but based on reviews, I decided to take a chance. I was NOT disappointed as the hotel is very clean and updated. The staff is friendly and efficient upon check in, and helpful with suggestions for places to eat as well. This is so affordable for a really comfortable,...

Thank bmk67
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I wish we had more space in our breakfast area also! We just haven't come up with a way to enlarge it due to construction of the building. I am happy our staff was helpful and my housekeeping staff this summer has been the best. We do appreciate your business and so...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (15)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (25)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Dining (3)
Room/Suite (11)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.7 km away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
251 reviews
19.7 km away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
1.2 km away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Custer

Address: 342 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1928
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Price Range: $105 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Custer 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custer Econo Lodge
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Custer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Custer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the south are more off street and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 758bradw, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor, by the parking lot, and street, but heard nothing; very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles bmk67, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Seemed quiet except for bathroom creaking wall.”
  • Motel
 of 5 bubbles Phoenix52, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just tell Debra what you need and she will get it for you!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelrP5733LP, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 104 close to pool, front desk and breakfast...and it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kfs1919, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5