We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kanaloa at Kona

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Kanaloa at Kona
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

788 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 704: English reviews
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the third time we've stayed at this complex; last time was 5 years ago. We stayed in a 2BR/2Ba unit (3A) which had new floors and washer/dryer, but the rest of the unit needs serious updating. Very tired, worn out, faded and dated. Skimpy on the towels, but at least we could wash and reuse them. We stored...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SycamoreMom
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was OK but really not outstanding in any way. Our unit was very tired and not particularly clean. Several things were broken. The location is good and there are shops very near by which is an advantage. We were a party of 3 families with kids, on day one we went to the Family Pool and within about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamphilipwebb
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are probably spoiled after staying at a more well known chain of condos, but nonetheless we were very disappointed. The condo was advertised as having a king, a queen and twin beds in a three bedroom unit, but it actually had one king and the rest twins...that were way too short for us. Our feet hung over the end....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dorisjohnson30
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in Kanaloa for one week. Absolutely loved the places. We were so lucky to get one of the suites right in front of the ocean pool, with a fantastic view over the ocean and the sunset. The pools was great including small jacuzzi next to them. There is a good shopping mall close by, but like any other places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic apartment, overly spacious and well decorated in a superb location. HOWEVER, the customer service was appalling....... We reported a leaky noisy toilet cistern in the on sweet, which kept us awake all night. We reported this on 3 separate occasions, to 3 separate members of staff; without anything being done about it. Resulting in 3 poor nights sleep. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glyn S
Sonoma County, CA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well, in one word, "Don't." The unit is basically OK, but it needs upgrades like nobody's business. The added on cleaning fee of $65 after the quoted price $140 for one night is utterly ridiculous! The manager Stephen Hicks was NOT reasonable. We cleaned the sand off our feet and left. Bad business practice. Beware!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HJHteacher
San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Great unit super value- listen and watch the waves from the lanai and master suite. Clean, new carpets, well maintained by owners. Will be back again! Ceiling fans in all rooms keep the condo comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank t0psy2
Webster, New York
Reviewed 12 November 2016

terible cleaning fees smelled smoke all evening just to keep it cool on first floor somebody singing or radio till 11 pm not a modern place would not recomend it to my worst enemy main office air conditioned of course

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronson2016
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed at the hotel for two nights 08/06/2016 our room rate was $159 and then we were charged a cleaning fee of $159 ! This was in the very small print of the conformation that was sent to us under "general information: "A MANDATORY DEPARTURE CLEANING COST WILL BE ADDED TO ROOM COST AT DEPARTURE BASED ON THE CATEGORY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline S
Stephen H, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha, It is disappointing that this experience affected your recent stay at Kanaloa. There are a number of companies that rent units for owners of Kanaloa At Kona. The cleaning fee you were charged is common for vacation rentals in Hawaii. Some companies provide a discount for shorter stays. Castle Resorts and Hotels is the onsite rental management company and...

Reviewed 25 October 2016

Booked this condo at a reasonable rate- Was not told we had to go to a different location to get the condo key-was not told it was extra daily (25$) for the air conditioning, the ad said it came with. When we finally paid the extra-plus house cleaning fee of 200 we walked into a 3rd floor condo -carrying 8...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darci R

663 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (464)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Fairway View 2 BR (50)
Viewed
Ocean Front (58)
Viewed
Ocean View with Loft (53)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
9.0 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
50.2 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.8 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,680 reviews
4.8 km away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#17 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
410 reviews
5.8 km away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $216 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kanaloa at Kona staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Kanaloa at Kona staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get all the details about fees in advance, in writing, and bring the information with you!”
 of 5 bubbles SycamoreMom, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view rooms are the best”
 of 5 bubbles iamphilipwebb, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“high rates for cleaning $69 one night”
 of 5 bubbles ronson2016, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the sea shore view, which is rocky with great surf to watch.”
 of 5 bubbles haroldc718, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to request clean...”
 of 5 bubbles Lorisweetcheeks, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay