We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kona Resort

75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (4307)
Room & Suite (980)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!10% Off Best Available Room Rates
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 5 resorts in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

With its dramatic setting overlooking Kailua Bay, the Royal Kona Resort is an oceanfront landmark in the heart of Kona town, conveniently located just steps from many fine restaurants, shops, historical sites, and activities. Completed in 2021, guests will enjoy the $15-million renovation to the resort’s 436 guestrooms and suites, and oceanfront pool deck.

Drawing inspiration from the tropical surroundings and sheer beauty of the islands the new Deluxe guestrooms and suites are designed with modern coastal inspired décor and finishes, rich teak furnishings, colorful natural fabrics, and beautiful marble wet bars outfitted with coffee makers and mini refrigerators.

The relaxing open-air lobby, surrounded by a tropical saltwater fishpond, leads out to an expansive newly refinished oceanfront sundeck impressively set directly above the ocean featuring luxurious teak loungers, beach umbrellas, and pool cabanas. The Resort also offers a private sandy beach cove and sheltered saltwater swimming lagoon perfect for beginner snorkeling.

Guests will find light meals and a variety of tropical beverages, including the Original Mai Tai, showcased in a world-class oceanside setting at the signature Don the Beachcomber Restaurant & Mai Tai Bar. With its open-air setting, right on the water’s edge, Don’s is the perfect spot to enjoy the sights and sounds of all the activity taking place on Kailua Bay, and it’s a great place to catch a breathtaking Kona sunset. Several nights a week, the Resort is home to Kona’s best oceanfront Luau, the "Voyagers of the Pacific Luau” presented by the award-winning Tihati productions.

Other resort amenities include four tennis courts available for day or evening play; rejuvenating massage and spa treatments; a fitness center; Hawaiian cultural activities; yoga classes; and a great sundry shop. Island specialists are available at the Resort’s Activities Desk to assist guests in booking tours and to recommend other island attractions, and specialists are also available on-property to assist couples with destination weddings and vow renewal ceremonies.

For a great location in the heart of Kailua-Kona, gracious Hawaiian hospitality and service, and the Big Island’s best value, choose the Royal Kona Resort.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Evening entertainment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Rate:10% Off Best Available Room Rates
5,345Reviews128Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,704
  • 2,036
  • 922
  • 404
  • 279
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
David-from-CT wrote a review 11 Apr
Hebron, Connecticut121 contributions74 helpful votes
This is exactly what you would expect. No more, and no less. The rooms were comfortable and in pretty good condition. I'd say our section of the hotel was due for renovation, but we had no complaints. Things were just a little tired. The staff were friendly. Parking was an extra which I always think is a cheap trick. This is a resort not New York City. It just sets you up to expect a nickel and diming experience. They seem way understaffed on the bar area (and that does meals and breakfasts) - so expect a wait to be seated even for a drink after dinner: and that bar closes early. Servers were efficient but not friendly (worked off their feet). The location is very good with excellent views over the bay. It has a nice small pool and separate kids pool, plus a saltwater tidepool/lagoon. If the hotel is busy these get slammed. There is no beach here - pure rocks. There's a small beach down the coast 3 miles (10 mins by Uber) at Magic Sands. Otherwise there's easy access to the rest of the town. Two things to be aware of. Kona is a cruise destination, so you get daily influxes of several thousand people flowing in and out. If you want to do excursions be sure to book ahead. This hotel hosts a big early evening luau with room for hundreds. Great if you are going to it; maybe not so good if you are staying.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make reservations for meals!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing your concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time on the island and will keep us in mind on your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BolDert wrote a review May 2023
Snohomish, Washington4 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
First timers to the Big Island and Royal Kona Resort. We were not disappointed. We knew in advance that it was not a sandy beach setting. Rather, the resort is located on a beautiful lava rock outcropping. There are plenty of places to relax next to the wave action, which was mesmerizing and peaceful. There are sandy beach areas up and down the coast, but we preferred relaxing at the resort. We also knew in advance that one of the resort towers was under renovation, and we were accommodated away from that area. The resort went to great lengths to keep disruption to a minimum, and we never even heard any construction noise. We stayed in one of the deluxe corner rooms. These have very large lanai's and perfect ocean and sunset views. If there was more outdoor furniture on the large lanai, we may have simply stayed there the whole time! We also saw other room types and it seemed that any with a water view were worthwhile. We enjoyed several meals at the resort's restaurant which is right at water's edge as well. One evening we listened to a live performance there at the restaurant by Henry Kapono, which was entertaining. We also enjoyed several days with a poolside cabana, super nice for enjoying the sunshine in moderation. All of the resort staff were excellent, from the moment we arrived and checked in, and throughout our stay. Everyone there was friendly and good at what they do. All of this, combined with the fact that the resort retains that Hawaii vibe that we like to feel, is why we will return to the Royal Kona Resort!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 12 May 2023
Aloha!! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Hawaii.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Malinda M wrote a review 8 Apr
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Best staff at hotel. Very friendly and helpful with any needs. Our room was fabulous but the bed was too hard. Probably different mattress or maybe needs topper for it. Most staff was nice except one front desk person said since we used third party she couldn’t help us. Lady I still paid and you got paid. One restaurant staff so rude to us for not ordering alcohol. I have a liver disease and I’m a Mormon. We do not drink. She made our stay miserable when she was around. They know she’s a problem. Please Amy stop making people miserable. You have a job because these people come there on vacation. Please be nice. I cried because you tried to ruined that part of my vacation. Tyler did make it so much better. Thank you for that. I would still say the food is FABULOUS!!! Good to see they keep the great employees like Woody who was there when I was there 14 years ago. Margo, Jenny , Lacey, and most staff were so nice. Paula you are the best. She does everyone’s job and smiles. The people were the best part. I will refuse to let one person destroy that. I would come back again. The coffee in the room not so great. Awful! Couple tweaks and this place would be a 12 out of 10.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for soft bed if they have it. Go to breakfast and any meals in restaurant earlier or you will...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We want every guest to have a welcoming and comfortable stay and are sorry to read that there were some issues during your visit. We will address this with our staff to ensure that service improved. We hope that you had a lovely time in Kona and should you return please contact us so that we can provide a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
K25billyzone wrote a review 4 Apr
Fargo, North Dakota31 contributions79 helpful votes
The room smelt like mildew. The bed covering was stained. The tub was obviously original to the building. The owner of this building needs to start using some of their profits to update the rooms. Also, the need to invest in some giant containers of Febreze to get rid of the smell in the room. The only things we enjoyed at this hotel were the view and the restaurant. The Luau was well organized but grossly overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: look elsewhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR CRES, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for providing you feedback! We are very sorry to read about your concerns with the room. We would have been happy to move your room or address any of your concerns had we known that you were unhappy. We will share your feedback with our team and ensure that the room is reviewed. We hope that you had a lovely time in Kona and should you return we would be happy to ensure that you are comfortable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Curious70573 wrote a review 3 Apr
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The bedroom was comfortable but despite asking for a twin room in advance we were given a king bed - having travelled from the UK with a three year old for a whole day and arriving in the evening this wasn’t overly helpful, but the reception changed our room promptly for us. The room felt sparse with only the two beds and tv unit - would have been nice to have an extra chair to use to sit indoors with. We took to moving chairs between the lanai and indoors as needed as there were three of us. The only other downside was the water never really ran warm, we mentioned this and we’re asked if we’d let it run for ten minutes. As a precious natural resource we didn’t really think that was an ideal response, but even when we did try that it didn’t get warmer and just wasted water! We loved the lanai overlooking the mountains and hearing the birds in the morning and the ukulele lesson was fantastic - a definite highlight of our trip. The Mai tai vouchers on heck in were a nice touch as part of the resort fee. We didn’t eat here as preferred to eat at the local restaurants which are very close. Great position to explore the island from.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing your concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time on the island and will keep us in mind on your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GillJezz wrote a review Mar 2024
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom558 contributions347 helpful votes
I thought this place was overpriced until I looked at what other hotels around Kona were charging and it turned out to be decent value by comparison. We got a room at the discounted tower renovation rate and ended up with a partial sea view and only heard muffled drilling noise once in the five days we stayed. The room was a bit dated and I rather assume that will be getting done fairly soon, but everything was clean and working with a comfy king sized bed and a large balcony. Check in was easy and the receptionists were very helpful and friendly. The car parking is safe with plenty of room and the hotel is within easy walking distance of restaurants, bars, souvenir shopping etc. The laundry room was easy to use and very handy too. We didn't eat here so I can't review the restaurant and their regular Aloha evenings seemed popular but aren't our thing
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing your concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time on the island and will keep us in mind on your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debra D wrote a review Mar 2024
Oklahoma2 contributions
Loved the open air lobby and the beautiful sunsets. The room was clean. Loved the wooden sliding louvered doors. A nice touch was the two Mai Tais ticket given at check in. Also really enjoyed the Thursday night live music but should’ve made a reservation because it was crazy busy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed it and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
angeleyes27 wrote a review Mar 2024
Brigantine, New Jersey5203 contributions985 helpful votes
We stayed here many years ago when it was the Hilton and then again a couple years ago. We liked it here. There are pros and cons here. First the pros: Nice location with easy walk to everything including shops and restaurants on the Main Street, pleasant public areas nicely done, beds comfortable and rooms clean, price was better than some others on the package we got, rooms are very large, beautiful grounds with many places to watch the ocean, nice luau right on premises, restaurant and bar on premises, good amount of parking spaces, pleasant staff. The restaurant had prices comparable to local restaurants and food was good.. Rooms had mini fridge. Now the cons: no hot tub. Needs more handicap parking spaces. , public areas in towers other than main tower have nice gardens but seem very worn with empty business offices at bottom.. watch your step in some areas as they could be more lit at night . We feel the good outweighs the bad.and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 5 weeks ago
Mahalo! We appreciate your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mari N wrote a review Mar 2024
8 contributions4 helpful votes
First time staying here & the LAST!!! Loud wedding party under my balcony. No mention of this when I checked in. Had I known there was going to be noisy wedding reception so close by, I would have opted to stay at the other tower. Called the front desk...and got an apathetic response. The front desk staff are like AI bots...actually AI bots would have had a nicer programmed response. For what I paid for this room, not acceptable. Rooms are dated & need upgrading. I should have booked a nearby condo instead. AVOID...not worth the money!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Royal Kona Resort. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience. We will be forwarding this review to our team to address the concerns you have listed to improve the service for our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joyce Z wrote a review Mar 2024
California91 contributions76 helpful votes
Let's start with the pros, had a 3 night stay here for my husband's birthday and was pleasantly surprised with how huge that corner room and its 270 degree view balcony was. You could've fit another bed on one side of the balcony, it was that big. The view was my favorite from this oceanfront room where you can see downtown and the open ocean to catch the sunset. There was a mini fridge and a microwave is available upon request to heat up any leftovers. The box of chocolates at check-in for his birthday was a nice touch. Cons: pool is only available during the day as the underwater lights are out, making it dangerous to be open after dark. I was surprised that it's not something they would've fixed since I noticed in one of the previous review that it was out for over 6 months before our arrival so not a new problem. Hopefully it has been fixed since. The last night there was a large roach on our balcony right by the door so luckily it had scurried away instead of into our room and it was our last night. I know this is a tropical location, but we didn't have any issue with even the B&Bs we stayed at on the Big Island, so quarterly pest control might be a good idea.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HHR_CustomerService, CSR at Royal Kona Resort
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing your concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time on the island and will keep us in mind on your next trip.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kailua-Kona area.
PRICE RANGE
S$312 - S$407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal kona hotel kailua-kona, royal kona kailua
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
436
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL KONA RESORT: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 4,335 Photos (Kailua-Kona, HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Kona Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Kona Resort?
Nearby attractions include Royal Kona Resort (0.08 km), Huggo's on the Rocks (0.2 km), and Don's Mai Tai Bar (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Kona Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Kona Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Kona Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Kona Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gypsea Gelato, Basik Acai, and Island Ono Loa Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Kona Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Kona Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Kona Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Kona Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hulihe'e Palace (0.9 km), Kamakahonu National Historic Landmark (1.2 km), and Ahuena Heiau (1.1 km).