We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kona Resort

Save
Traveller (2114)
Room & Suite (704)
Pool & Beach (244)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good42%
  • Average22%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“private lagoon”(109 reviews)
“alii tower”(86 reviews)
“mai tai bar”(83 reviews)
AMENITIES
Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (3,173)
There are newer reviews for Royal Kona Resort
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,853 results
Traveller rating
630
1,108
633
284
198
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
630
1,108
633
284
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingwatch the sunsetalii drive
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1,301 - 1,305 of 2,853 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was my third time staying at this hotel and I keep coming back because it's in a great location. Next to the town of Kona everything is in walking distance, and it's not like many other crowded towns where you can barely get seats...More

2  Thank Jack S
Response from DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona ResortResponded 10 September 2014

Aloha TA family, nice seeing another return guest had another great stay. They love the location, which is the best in Kona hands down, as well as our terrific food and beverage at Don"s Mai Tai Bar. I'm g;ad they love our large. clean rooms...More

Reviewed 2 September 2014

You could, but it would be a feat of good humor. Instead, you would imagine the glory in the lines and fullness of the architecture that drove the Greek spirit to construct such a palace. Only here it is the more wily Hawaiian spirit and...More

3  Thank LLFauntleroy
Response from DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona ResortResponded 10 September 2014

Aloha TA family, I love the spirit of this review, though most important, it appears they truly had an enjoyable stay with us. Reading between the lines, they did their homework and shopping based on their budget and price point, and when they arrived, were...More

Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Lagoon Tower in an ocean view room. I was a bit bummed when we were assigned a room outside the main tower because main tower is main tower for a reason. However, stunning surprise, we had gorgeous morning & sunset views...More

1  Thank Mailao V
Response from DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona ResortResponded 10 September 2014

Aloha TA family, glad to know that although there were a couple of things that were disappointing, their expectations were met and exceeded! Glad to know they enjoyed hearing and seeing the beautiful ocean from their room, Nice to know they slept well in the...More

Reviewed 30 August 2014

the hotel is nice ... the pool small and no beach. we had a corner room and only saw the roof and the balcony to the room next to us. not so good. the bar was great he staff friendly.. but we asked about wi-fi...More

Thank teeepee260
Response from DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona ResortResponded 2 September 2014

Aloha TA family, sounds like, besides the wifi concern, and the lack of view from their room or a beach, these guest had a great time! I sent a PM to discuss their concerns, but they share they'll be back due to the great location...More

Reviewed 27 August 2014

The location of the hotel is just spectacular, right on the beach, watching the waves crash in on the rocks. The room was a great size and we had a corner verandah which gave us views in both directions. Enjoyed the close proximity to all...More

Thank Mary-Ann M
Response from DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona ResortResponded 2 September 2014

Aloha TA family, great to know our guests from AU will return when they can! The wifi and parking charge have been mentioned in the last few reviews, so I want to address. We have free wifi in the bar area, it's not for streaming...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Island of Hawaii
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$157 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$157 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (2114)
Room & Suite (704)
Pool & Beach (244)
Dining (142)
Amenities (64)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
elliottsuk
9 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from HHR_CustomerService | Property representative |
Aloha At this time we are not affected by the volcano. Mahalo Tara - Customer Satisfaction Specialist
1
Vote
Hironori K
14 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from HHR_CustomerService | Property representative |
Aloha Unfortunately our standard rooms do not fit a rollaway with two double beds. For your needs one of our suites maybe a better fit we have our ocean Kailua Bay Junior Suite, our 2 bedroom ocean Kailua Bay Junior Suite... More
0
Votes
Tina M
17 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HHR_CustomerService | Property representative |
Aloha There are many attractions in our area such as the coconut grove market place as well as tour companies that help set up excursions for our guests as well for exploring the island. Mahalo Tara
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Get an ocean view. A bit more money but worth it if you are staying a few days."
Read review
"Ask for pool view; can also see the luau from yuor room if you get 4-5 floors up."
Read review
"Get the ocean view - worth it"
Read review
"Full ocean view rooms offer amazing vistas!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing