We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa

Save
Share
78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
8 people have started booking this hotel
Hotels.com
US$329
View deal
Prestigia.com
US$313
View deal
Agoda.com
US$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/05/22
travelup.comUS$399
Trip.comUS$329
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2667)
360
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (695)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 06/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Updated 06/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms, you'll be close to the best of Hawaii as a guest of our Kailua-Kona hotel located steps from Keauhou Bay.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English
3453Reviews123Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,008
  • 1,165
  • 694
  • 364
  • 223
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephanie G wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
My family and I have been staying at this property at least once a year since 2006. Since then it has changed hands a couple of times, but a few things stay consistent. The resort grounds are stunning. Perched on a lava cliff over the ocean and Keahou Bay, the location CANNOT BE BETTER. Close to a shopping center with grocery and drug stores, and also a 5 minute drive to South Kona and the beauty that waits you there. Yes, some of the room details could be described as “dated”, we prefer to say “vintage”, and anything that may seem that way is always offset for us by the excellent cleanliness of the rooms. Over the years, we have seen several renovations to the property, and I understand that Outrigger will be continuing to renovate and upgrade the property. That being said, we have always enjoyed the accommodations and the rooms, and have always been comfortable and in a clean and welcoming environment. I would really like to comment on some of the staff at this property, that have been absolutely fantastic to me and my family over the years, with incredible consistency and consideration. Veronica, who works at the Reception Desk, has been an ANGEL for my family over the past 10-12 years. My son, who is now 21, always looks forward to seeing her when we stay at the resort. Over the years, and during countless family stays, she has assisted us with so many requests, situations, and questions, it would be impossible to list them all. Veronica is our “go to” team member at the property, and knows the area so well. Her willingness to help and make sure our stays are as perfect in every way as possible is the major reason we kept returning year after year. Indeed, after the resort just changed hands to Outrigger, it was Veronica who persuaded us to come and stay again in November, even though we are Lifetime Titanium Elite with Bonvoy- we returned to this Outrigger property with a friend and had a FABULOUS stay. I am now returning to the property in December with a dear friend to celebrate my birthday, and we are both looking forward to being at the property, and working with Veronica again to ensure our stay is perfect. For these reasons it is a pleasure to recommend this property to friends, family, and yes even to strangers!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Markc66647 wrote a review 3 Dec
San Francisco, California11 contributions2 helpful votes
Ok, the place is old and you can tell. But it’s clean and the staff is amazing! Large pool, and you can watch the Manta rays at night for free. Or you can walk down to the dock and be one of the 20 snorkeling boats that are hanging out just off the hotel. Do the 9am hotel tour with one of the “Aunties” from the resort. You’re going to be charged a resort fee so use the resort. Great place to get an early start to see Volcanos National Park. If you’re going to do the Park in a day, leave about 3:00, bring a real flashlight and see the glow from Devestation trail parking lot walk. One reteraunt is open and pricey but the food and drinks are good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: You can save money by getting a garden view, that’s where the have the luau
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Markc66647, Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa. Your feedback about the service from our hosts and your satisfaction with the accommodation and amenities are greatly appreciated. We are delighted to know that our guests are fully satisfied with their stay. We continue to strive to offer the best service and make Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa your home away from home while on the island. On your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us so we can provide a much more enjoyable stay. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Read more
Sarah L wrote a review Nov 2021
Los Angeles, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a lovely time on our mini honeymoon. This is not a luxury resort, however knowing it was formerly a Sheraton we expected a solid ocean-side hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The staff is lovely, the oceanfront upgrade is definitely worth it, and the proximity to manta-ray swimming is unbeatable. Concierge, Mahea, helped us to arrange our last minute manta ray snorkel. I can't recommend this enough. Don't be afraid and book it. It's a once in a lifetime expeirence. Engineer, Kent, also gave some great recommendations and was incredibly helpful when we needed some assistance in opening our lanai door. Kathryn (Front desk), Loretto (Valet) and the gentleman host at the main restaurant were all very helpful. Food options are limited now with only the pool bar and the cafe for breakfast/dinner. I am vegan and there a a few great restaurants in town that were a quick drive and I would definitley recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ocean front view
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Slothlysarah, Thank you for celebrating your honeymoon at the Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa. It is our pleasure to host you and your other half on this special trip. Your commendation about the service from our hosts, Mahea, Kent, Kathryn, and Loretto are highly appreciated. We will be sure to share your wonderful comments with them and to the rest of the team. Mahalo Nui Loa and we look forward to working with you again and welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Frederick wrote a review Nov 2021
Irvine, California2 contributions
The staff of this hotel has to be commended. They were friendly and helpful. The pool is big and fun. The hotel was just purchased by Outrigger and is going to go through and 80 million $ face lift. I will return when completed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Compass47410702710, Your 5 star review is so delightful to read as it is a true testament of what we want our guest experience to be. Our hosts take pride in making connections with our guests by using guest name and personalization. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for sharing your experience. We agree that our pool is a valuable add on for all of our guests to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Read more
Vincent L wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
I came to Hawaii for a nice vacation for 15 days, we reserved this hotel for a whole week. When i came inside the room with my brother, the room was full of live cockroaches. It smells like mold, do not ever reserve here. They told us that it was normal for hotels in Hawaii to have bugs inside the rooms. This hotel is in need of a renovation the building looks like it is going to collapse, the advertisements make it seem like a million dollar hotel. After such a bad experience at this hotel they still refuse to refund me my money. My mother was told that a manager would be in contact with her to discuss the issues, after 3 months still no activity from them. Please do not book here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Katharina Findlay, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha I am sorry to hear about your experience. We will look into the issues you mentioned. Mahalo
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$205 - US$339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton keauhou bay hotel kailua-kona, sheraton keauhou bay resort and spa, sheraton kailua-kona, sheraton keauhou bay resort & spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
508
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Heavenly Hawaiian Kona Coffee Farm (3.7 km), Aloha Adventure Farms (4.8 km), and Greenwell Farms (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gypsea Gelato, Kona Grill House, and Da Poke Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kealakekua Bay (10.9 km), The Painted Church (15.9 km), and Kamakahonu (9.7 km).
Does Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.