We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona

75-146 Sarona Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3725
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (257)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (299)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Kailua-Kona, offering many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona features 24 hour front desk, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Ali'i Drive (0.1 mi) and St. Michael the Archangel Church (0.1 mi) make Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona a great place to stay when visiting Kailua-Kona.

While in Kailua-Kona, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, including Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery (0.5 mi), Big Island Grill (0.1 mi), and Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill (0.6 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular art galleries such as Kona Henna, Lava Light Galleries, and Trudy's Island Arts.

Enjoy your stay in Kailua-Kona!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
720Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 336
  • 271
  • 62
  • 24
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Keith B wrote a review Jan 2024
Wayne, Michigan442 contributions110 helpful votes
Hotel is located in the very touristy section of Kona, within walking distance. I arrived after check in time, and my room still wasn’t ready! I don’t recall that ever happening at any IHG, especially as a Platinum Elite member. They did allow me to park in the lot (for $10/night). Came back about an hour and a half later, and went to my room. It’s standard IHG, though there is a partial ocean view. Room was clean, slept well, and had poor water pressure from the shower. Pretty standard for an HIE. Breakfast was partially outside next to the pool. Sadly, it was your standard continental instead of mixing in some Hawaiian flavor. Pool is outdoor, which is standard in the tropics. Deepest point was 5 feet. You have to go to the desk to receive pool towels, and they charge if you don’t return them (I think it was $20)! Checkout the next morning was smooth. I was allowed to keep my car parked a few extra hours, to avoid paying more by parking in a town lot. The normal rate is around $300/night, no doubt taking advantage of being in a heavily tourist area in December. I was able to spend my one anniversary night so no charge for me.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MrsMessy wrote a review May 2023
Southampton103 contributions40 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed here for three nights on Big Island. It is located in the tourist area with shops and restaurants a very short walk away. Good things - the staff were really friendly and helpful, especially those refilling the buffet breakfast. The breakfast was complimentary each morning that had lots of choice. The location was good. Room was large, nice Dove toiletries in the bathroom. Useful computer room where you could print stuff for free. Negative - no views from the room - ours overlooked the car park! Our room had poor lighting - no central light only lamps and because the room was decorated in dark colours, it was a bit gloomy! Sofa was a bit stained.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
don C wrote a review Jan 2024
Berthoud, Colorado5 contributions2 helpful votes
Find somewhere else. Donna at the front desk worked so hard because she was only the ever person there. There was always a line because only one person can help you. You have to wait a very long time for anything- like, pool towels, or to check in. I saw 15 people in line today. The single person working hustles a lot, but there are always many requests and questions. Breakfast is gross. I can’t believe the hotel charges $400+ a night and has only one person working all the time. I needed sheets for our pull out sofa, and when I called down I was told “ok, come down I’ll give them to you”. I did, but find it annoying there isn’t another person to assist.. As I said, breakfast was very basic. Pros: the room was clean. I would have liked a deck off the room. We found another place for our last day when we could still cancel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Hi donC_incolorado, We thank you for providing feedback and choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona. We appreciate you as a valued guest and for choosing IHG Hotels & Resorts as your travel partner. We strive to provide seamless and efficient service to ensure your stay is stress-free from check-in to check-out. I'm sorry for what happened and assure you that we are reevaluating our processes to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of our service delivery. I shared your feedback with the hotel management. I have faith in their resolution to provide superior service. I sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope you read it at your most convenient time. Sincerely, Frenzel A. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
HK49320 wrote a review Dec 2023
Canada69 contributions29 helpful votes
We always stay at Holiday Inns and generally have good experiences. But we were very disappointed with this location. The first time we stayed (our first night on the island) we had an ok room, a bit dated with a window air conditioning on the top floor. The second time we stayed (our last night on the island) we stayed on a newer room on the second floor. The problem was the noise. It was like a herd of elephants was staying in the room above us. Constant thumping and smashing around. We would definitely never stay anywhere except the top floor ever again. Always request the top floor when staying at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona
Responded 25 Dec 2023
Hi HK49320, We appreciate you for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express Kailua - Kona for this trip and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate you choosing us and doing business with IHG Hotels and Resorts. We aim to give our guests an efficient stay in a place that feels fresh and focused only on the features and services you need; I am sorry we did not deliver this time. I shared your sentiments with our hotel management and trust that proper actions will be taken to avoid this from happening again. Until your next stop in the area, we look forward to hosting you again to redeem your confidence. Sincerely, Grace L. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
triptaker204 wrote a review Nov 2023
Kansas City, Missouri10 contributions17 helpful votes
STAY AWAY FROM the IHG Holiday Inn Express Kailua-Kona, HI!! We had negative experiences at this hotel throughout our 10 day stay. IWE WILL NEVER BOOK another IHG hotel again. Manager A. Bay only replied once to our complaint and we tried to contact him 5 times! He ignored us and did not even care about our issues! Issues: - The room was not cleaned properly before the room was given to us. We have allergies and cannot tolerate dust and dirtiness. Too much dust. - Throughout our stay, we experienced slow WiFi internet on your network. The Internet WiFi was spotty. It was so slow that I could not get my business done in a timely manner, wasting precious hours a day. - Hairs in the room from previous guests - Entire trip: the cordless phone doesn't work. Only the base worked with a too low speaker volume, can’t hear the person talking. Reported the issue twice to front desk. Noone ever came to fix it. - Entire trip: Breakfast buffet had very few vegetarian options. Cinnamon rolls only offered 2 or 3 days out of 10 days. - Entire trip: Totally ignored our gluten free breakfast food request on reservation for our son who is gluten-free. May 26 - Spoke in-person to front desk guy with glasses and he said he would contact the manager about it. Noone took any action throughout our stay. - Entire trip: Fitness center dirty. Treadmill out of order for all 10 days. Bike machine pedal strap broken - Entire trip: the one elevator was often slow to get to 3rd floor. - For 5 days in a row: Breakfast buffet. Juice machine out of order. Orange juice and all other juices not working. - Breakfast buffet- no muffins, already out of stock by 8am, he said he ran out. Breakfast ends at 10am so should not have run out so fast. - Breakfast buffet, no bananas, had to tell him that biscuits tray were empty. He didn't keep track of items at all. He said he can make more, waited 15 minutes. - Muffins gone from breakfast at 730am - Housekeeping was supposed to change the bed sheets and pillows every 3 days. It's our 4th day here and they didn't change them. We had to ask them to change the bed sheets and only then did they do it. - Maid said they didn't have any towels and would bring them later. She never came back with towels. We had to emrequest it again from front desk. Hotel maids make promises and never do them. - Sofa bed - they never changed they sheets, 1pm maid said she didn't have any sheets and would do it later. She never came back. We had to request it again from front desk. - Room was not cleaned while we were gone all day 930am to 8pm. We came back to a dirty room: towels not replaced. Beds not made, Garbage not taken out, tissue box empty. At 8pm, Front desk lady said housekeeping note was that room was locked from inside. Noone was in the room so they were lying. The room was definitely not locked since we got into room with our room key in the evening. Housekeeping did not clean the room on purpose because the maid had an attitude problem. She was rude to us many times. Not sure why. - Maid cleaned room, did not fill up hand soap in bathroom, did not full up shower body wash liquid. Had to ask her to fill it up. She did not clean the shower tub. There is still some sand in it. She did not clean the bathroom properly. Did not restock cups - Baby or toddlers crying all night in room next door. Walls were thin and noise came through and we couldn’t sleep all night. - Breakfast, at 9am no fruit is out, had to ask for fruit and she gave me. She did not restock fruits bowls. Why do we have to ask for buffet items? They should keep them in stock. Biscuits were out, had to ask her to make more. They don't restock buffet themselves for non-meat items. - Housekeeping did not Mop our room often, stains on floor were there several days. Some food crumbs were on floor for days. - 9am breakfast ran out of biscuits already, closes at 10am so should be in stock until closing time. No cinnamon rolls, No bananas. Had to ask for oranges, they don't put them out, No walnut - Housekeeping maids rude and never smile, they frown at us and have lifeless interactions when you ask them to do their job. It was an unpleasant experience from start to finish. STAY AWAY FROM THE the Holiday Inn Express Kailua-Kona, HI!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: STAY AWAY FROM the IHG Holiday Inn Express Kailua-Kona, HI!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Hello triptaker204, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. The team learned about your review. The team will make the needed improvements to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dawnfleishans wrote a review Nov 2023
Nampa, Idaho12 contributions3 helpful votes
I will start by saying we are Diamond Elite members and stay at IHG properties all over the world. We seemed to miss the nice morning staff, the women at the front desk was rude. That being said, the rooms were great, clean, and big. Breakfast was ok for being included. Our kids and grandkids loved it and the pool. You will pay $10 a day to park, however there is plenty of room. You can walk to everything within minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Corinna H wrote a review Nov 2023
Winnipeg, Canada505 contributions202 helpful votes
For multiple reasons we were stranded in Kona without a place to sleep at 3 am and had called 6 other hotels. The gentleman whom I really wish I could remember his name but can’t, was the first person to answer the phone at any of the hotels we called. He was the kindest man! So patient with my exhausted confusion. He got us a room super close to the elevator, and offered us the morning breakfast buffet. We were so tired however we never ate, rather we slept until 11 as check out wasn’t until noon!! We were so very happy. The room was quit large, perfectly clean. We could not have asked anything more. And literally are so grateful we were able to stay at Holiday Inn that night!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jakesa55 wrote a review Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel is in a great location. There are some friendly staff and the breakfast is okay given that it’s free. Rooms are clean. Unfortunately there were some major concerns with this stay: 1) safety and security. On my second day at the hotel I left my key in the room so I stopped by the front desk and asked for another one. The staff member asked me what my room number was and I told her. She didn’t ask to sight my ID or even check the sir name registered to the room. It seems all you need at this hotel to access the room is to ask for a key to the room number and it’s given to anyone who requests it. 2) unauthorised entry to guest room. About half an hour after getting a second key I was in bed trying to get a nap in when I heard the door opening (I had the do not disturb sign on the door). I sang out and the door closed again. After getting dressed I went down to the front desk and they had no record of me being in that room (had they checked that fact before giving me a new key just half an hour before they would have known that). After some investigation it was found that my reservation was marked as a “no-show” and subsequently cancelled during the night prior. This is despite me arriving at the hotel and providing a credit card on arrival and being given keys to the room. 3) Strong chemical smell When I first arrived the room had such a strong bleach smell that I had to open the windows to air out the room. It took over 24 hours with the AC blowing on full and the window open to get the smell out. I didn’t have any housekeeping service for the next 3 days out of fear the room would be bleached again. 4) Staff attentiveness On more than one occasion I stopped by the front desk for help and waited a long period of time without anybody coming out to serve. It seems that the breakfast preparation area becomes a cool hang out for the front desk staff during breakfast hours. After following the laughter I found the front desk staff hanging out in the area. When I asked for help the staff member commented on how much fun the team have at this job. That’s wonderful, it really is, but it shouldn’t come at the expense of the guests. I wanted to pass on the above feedback as I was checking out. After waiting 10 minutes at the front desk with not a soul in sight I just left the key and a post it note on the front desk and walked out. It’s a shame that the management of this hotel lets it down so much. It’s got such potential with a great location and comfortable rooms. But until they address the above issues I’d give this one a hard miss.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Hello, Daydream67117801901 Thank you for leaving a review about our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona. We are truly grateful for choosing our establishment for your travel needs. Our local team will use your observations to improve our service and facilities. I shared your comments with our management team. Our staff will review all your concerns as soon as possible. I offer you my humble apology for the details you mentioned. Our local team truly enjoys delivering the most enjoyable experience to our beloved guests. I hope you visit again in the future and give us a chance to show you the adjustments we've made to improve. See you around! Alejandro Guerrero Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CumbrianCamelLover wrote a review Sept 2023
Penrith, United Kingdom261 contributions80 helpful votes
Things I liked: 1 The wonderful staff, makes a huge difference to have such a great team working to make your stay enjoyable. 2 The lovely spacious room, with comfy beds and sofa bed. 3 The delicious breakfast 4 The open air feel to the place. 5 The good location. What I disliked: 1 Anyone walking past could see straight into the bedroom, so had to keep blinds shut. 2 The pool was filthy and I mean gross. My kids wanted to swim but I said no, unless you want an ear infection. I was so looking forward to taking a dip, so it was a bit disappointing to see such an unclean pool. (Cheered up when snorkeling at Kealakekua though!! Did I enjoy the stay? Very much so. Would I stay again? One can dream!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Caroline S wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was clean and nice. There was a long desk, coffee machine and microwave in the room. The bathroom was okay. The pool and spa was on the ground floor and it was okay. The front desk was friendly and helpful for requires.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kailua-Kona area.
PRICE RANGE
S$432 - S$502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES KAILUA-KONA: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 578 Photos (HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Nearby attractions include St. Michael the Archangel Church (0.2 km), Hulihe'e Palace (0.3 km), and Mokuaikaua Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kona Coffee Cafe, Scandinavian Shave Ice, and Island Ono Loa Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hulihe'e Palace (0.3 km), Kamakahonu National Historic Landmark (0.6 km), and Ahuena Heiau (0.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.