We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
75-146 Sarona Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3725
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (241)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (276)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Kailua-Kona, offering many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona features 24 hour front desk, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Ali'i Drive (0.1 mi) and St. Michael the Archangel Church (0.1 mi) make Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona a great place to stay when visiting Kailua-Kona.

While in Kailua-Kona, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, including Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery (0.5 mi), Big Island Grill (0.1 mi), and Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill (0.6 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular art galleries such as Kona Henna, Lava Light Galleries, and Trudy's Island Arts.

Enjoy your stay in Kailua-Kona!

Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
684Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 326
  • 259
  • 58
  • 19
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JJCA25 wrote a review 4 Dec
5 contributions
After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, I was pretty confident this would be the best option for us. We didn't expect to stay much in our room, and the location is within walking distance to nice restaurants and shopping. However, due to a "kona low", we have been stuck indoors since last night (Friday) and it's predicted to last through through Monday. Our room is RIGHT next to the hotel's laundry facility, and we have been hearing the washer & dryer on and off for the entire day as well as the workers' music. Also, the fan and the electrical outlet in our bathroom, and a reading light are not working - there was no blow dryer. We requested that the reading light and fan be fixed early yesterday, but no one has showed up so far. When I went to the front desk to get our trash emptied and a blow dryer today, the clerk asked me if I was sure there was no blow dryer, and told me I could go empty my trash in the large bin outside. On the flipside, most of the staff have been friendly and helpful, and the clerk eventually dropped off a new blow dryer. Overall the room itself is tastefully done, although the lighting is not as bright as we would like, especially in the bathroom. Hoping the workers come to work on our room soon. We REALLY want to believe that things will be fixed so we can enjoy the rest of our vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: do NOT stay in room 132
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Terry wrote a review 2 Dec
Kapolei, Hawaii6 contributions1 helpful vote
i stayed for a couple of days last month for a business trip. i travel to the big island almost every month for work and have stayed at this hotel many, many times. usually not a problem, but this last trip i was charged for 2 days parking when i explicitly told the clerk during check in that i did not need a parking pass. when i got back from my trip i noticed the bill had 2 days of parking on it......the hotel says they will not change the bill and i should have double checked my bill on the way out......time to stay in Hilo....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Alison K wrote a review 1 Dec
Lodi, New Jersey691 contributions44 helpful votes
Overall a good experience, once we found the parking lot. We drove around a couple of times trying to find the entrance. There are 2 ways in but it is a little hidden. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Breakfast was included, which consisted of several hot and cold dishes, fruit, coffee and juice, cereal, etc. Because of covid, someone was serving the food. We got down pretty early and there was always a bit of a line. Some of the hot food included eggs, sausage and biscuits, chorizo, and bacon. This hotel had the most included options out of the places we stayed and the food was decent. The front desk receptionists were always friendly and helpful, but a few times no one was there though and we had to wait a few minutes. There is an outdoor pool here but we did not use it. Parking was pretty easy, there are a couple of lots and we never had trouble finding a spot, though some of the spots are pretty small. It's $10 per night to park. This was surprisingly the priciest hotel of our trip, despite being a holiday inn. We only stayed 2 nights since we were seeing other parts of the island.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
LYNN Petersen wrote a review Oct 2021
10 contributions
This Holiday Express did not meet my expectations. I understand they were limiting contact because of Covid, but you were suppose to be able to get housekeeping when you needed it, but yet we kept having to fight for it. I would ask for 4 washcloths and only get 3, I would ask for trash pickup and it didn't happen. The toilet desperately needed work as it would flush very hard and would run as if filling tank when it wasn't used. They worked on it once when it wouldn't flush at all so it wold at least flush but no other problem fixed. At one point there was no power at all inthe hotel. On one day breakfast was very limited because they were running out of stuff and never had famous cinnamon rolls. Location was great but that was all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Albert Bay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations. There is no excuse for why these were not met but will be talking to my team. We will also look at the toilet issues you were having in the room you were staying in. Our apologies for the power being out. There was an outage in the neighborhood. If this is something you would like to discuss with me further, please feel free to reach out to me directly.
Read more
april wrote a review Oct 2021
Oahu, Hawaii1 contribution
Booked this hotel reservation online through hopper. I wanted to rate this hotel on their website, but I couldn’t leave a recommendation. So I’m here on Trip Advisor to give my feedback. First of all it we checked in at 8:00 pm on 10/08/21 n were greeted by our front desk clerk Donna such professionalism . Thee location was perfect, 20 minutes from the Kona Airport, shops n restaurants 5 minutes. Very clean n accommodating room, bathroom were great with all bath necessities. Thee water pressure in the shower was spot on. Definitely rating this hotel with 5 stars, n will definitely come back again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Thee parking are first come basis, n part of the road to their parking facility is one way. $10...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456…
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Michael the Archangel Church (0.2 km), Hulihe'e Palace (0.3 km), and Mokuaikaua Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include One Aloha Shave Ice Co, Kona Coffee Cafe, and Scandinavian Shave Ice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kamakahonu (0.6 km) and Ahuena Heiau (0.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.