We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Murphy's Alaskan Inn

911 Fourth Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Murphy's Motel is located within a short walk to the Seward boat harbor. Offering great value for our customers. Our rooms all have queen beds, coffee makers, microwaves & refrigerators. Half of our rooms offer a spectacular view of Resurrection Bay, some with balconies. We also offer a Gas Barbeque Grill for our guests and a freezer for your fish.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wheelchair Access
Public Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Microwave
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Mountain View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
24
37
25
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
24
37
25
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drop box private balcony small boat harbor waterfront park ocean view small fridge and microwave coffee maker nothing fancy front desk staff convenient location day cruise enjoyed our stay kenai fjords murphys mountains fi downtown
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

This is an older motel of course, but love the location. Friendly staff, helpful. If no hair dryer in room just ask for a spare. Beds are comfy enough and has coffee n microwave in room. I give it 5 stars for these reasons as...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank randynina
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Convenient location, quiet. Small room, average bed. If you're spending the great majority of your time outside (presumably what most of us travel some place to do) ,this place will do reasonably well. Helpful person at front desk. Reasonable prices.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank SeattleRoger
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Room was small. Supposed to have a queen sized bed but it was a double. We had an issue with the tub where the water would not drain. Immediately reported it to the front desk and they said they couldn’t address it until after we...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank TravelGrrlNY
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Disappointed by the staff in the front office. Wireless internet non-functional and when called to check on status - the front desk staff started to make excuses instead of answering questions. Checked in for 3 people - only two people's worth of towels - had...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank yugtac
Reviewed 22 July 2018

This hotel is about a 15 min walk into town - no big deal. I've seen a lot of bad reviews but am giving this hotel 5 stars for the fact that it's in a great location, the lady manager was so welcoming, and the...More

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Craig A
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TurtleTrot
27 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Deb022 | Reviewed this property |
They may be closed in winter...I don't know. Try emailing...that worked with another property that was closed. I never called them but the number I had was 907 224 5518
0
Votes
here_after2000
2 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Nona S | Reviewed this property |
Here is Expedia's policy - I hope this helps with cancellation. You may want to call Murphy's to ask what their cancellation policy if you cancel more than 30 days out from your reservation - the folks at Murphy's are... More
1
Vote
here_after2000
2 July 2015|
Answer
Response from jcmonogram | Reviewed this property |
It should be. I think it depends who you make the reservation through. I made the reservation through hotels. com I think I had 48 hours before the reservation to cancel.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Avoid room #1 -- right by bright motel sign, lit up st night, Also lights up entire room st right."
SeattleRoger
17 Aug 2018
Read review
"Ask for an ocean view - magnificent."
Craig3006
21 Jul 2018
Read review
"rooms with "view" are newer I believe, but there wasn't a view..."
NicoleB7292
18 Jun 2018
Read review
"Second floor rooms for an amazing ocean view"
JackieM3208
19 Jul 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
murphy`s alaskan hotel sewardmurphys hotel seward
LOCATION
United StatesAlaskaSeward
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing