We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Seward

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Seward
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

527 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Seward
See the most recent reviews
Showing 512: English reviews
san francisco
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Friendly staff and fairly clean place. But the hotel is really old, sort of dark and dingy and pricey ! Wifi connection was terrible. If you can't find any other hotel then the one is ok. 360 Harbor is a better choice location wise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2cents_from_sf
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review

I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I apologize if the Wifi was slow it we have worked on some improvement this year, but when the cruise ships are in it does tend to affect the speed. I am not sure how to respond to your comments on the hotel, I understand it was not to your...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We stayed in the old section of the hotel, so the room was older and we had a shared bathroom. ( although two bathrooms are provided and both are modern and clean ) No aircon, you wouldn't think you would need it in Alaska, but the room was a little stuffy so we welcomed the fan provided. Neat, tidy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoanneTony
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review

Appreciate you comments. I think they are very helpful. Look forward to another visit. Please stop by see me, Mary

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Our family (2 adults and 4 school age kids) spent 2 nights here in August. We got 2 connecting rooms on the ground floor (each with 2 double beds). The rooms were very comfortable and the hotel was very clean overall. Definitely lots of character - the rooms are furnished in late 19th / early 20th century style, which adds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff C
Guadalupita
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed at the Hotel Seward in the old section. This was an experience for us as the rooms were cozy (small) with double beds and the two bathrooms were down the hall but not very far. They were extremely clean bathrooms. Plenty of hot water and when needing the bathroom there was never a wait of more than 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A8598AOjamesd
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here, and we would recommend it. The hotel is charming has a historic feel. It is very convenient to bars and restaurants on 4th street, as well as the sea life center. This was nice after a day of hiking when we didn't want to walk very far. The restaurant downstairs serves a fantastic breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeAndTheMajor
Greenfield, New Hampshire
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Wow!!! Great place to stay in Seward. Front desk folks were so helpful with local attractions. Resident dog Bella was a joy to cuddle when you're so far away from your own dogs. Breakfast was absolutely yummy. Close to downtown shopping and restaurants. Big thumbs up!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mongobud
São Paulo, SP
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Hotel Seward is a historic hotel in Seward. You can see that its history is linked to the city's history and it is cool. You can also fell that it is an old hotel, but it is very well maintained, clean and functional. The location is perfect if you want to be close to the main attractions in town. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErikaRFB
Voorhees, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We didn't like this hotel. Very old, the mattress was terrible. I didn't sleep all night. The smell was terrible as well. very old place. The bed was very small and the room as well. We won't come back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yana g
Washington
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Very nice hotel at the south end of town. There are interior hallways. My room was very quiet at night. There is no complimentary breakfast but there is a restaurant on the premises. They have a lobby computer for catching up on email if you still have a flip phone like I do. The location is good and bad: it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Road_Rambler59
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel was fine, staff were great, price was very reasonable. The lobby was filled with mounted hunting trophies. As a person strongly opposed to trophy hunting, I found that a bit saddening. Far prefer to admire and photograph these animals I. Their natural environment rather than celebrate the coward that can only appreciate them through a rifle scope.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark L

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
2.0 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
892 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
0.1 km away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
147 reviews
5.7 km away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#2 of 14 in Seward
620 reviews
0.1 km away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#10 of 14 in Seward
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Price Range: $79 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Seward staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Orlando, Florida
6 months ago
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Seward staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“WiFi worked well”
vrqqqm, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the third floor”
Archicube63, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be aware that not all rooms have their own bathroom.”
BuildMemoriesTravel, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in new section if you want modern American conveniences. Otherwise stay in the old section for old west charm.”
A8598AOjamesd, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room is good, you won't spend a lot of time in it...”
PHXBen, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5