We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

686 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 656: English reviews
Start your review of University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
 Click to rate
Forks, Washington
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The pineapples everywhere is kind of fun! Our room is super clean! We were unsure about the personal blankets but after sleeping and not having to pull the covers back from my husband all night, we are fans!! Staff is super friendly and helpful. Breakfast bar/area was kind of confusing and a mess but the food was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keat610
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Keat610! Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to submit this review. I'm very glad you enjoyed the "Stay Pineapple" spirit :) and found your room comfortable. of course, it's especially good to see that you found our staff "super friendly and helpful" -- as that's where we hope to shine and rise above...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I feel like I missed something that everyone else who rated this hotel so highly saw. This hotel is basic and dated. It was "okay," but definitely nothing more. The breakfast was just enough to be adequate, and the beds are nice (very warm, though!). However, the room was not particularly clean (hair in the bathroom sink), and the much-lauded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Longhornpenguin
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Longhornpenguin! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. I'm very sorry that your experience was so disappointing. I've reached out to our housekeeping manager regarding the issue your raised -- while I can't offer an excuse, I can say we do try and improve every day and will do everything we can...

Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

Standard room did not come with a microwave, so we upgraded to a Deluxe room ($10 more). Apparently this room is a little bigger; it was a very nice room. I do think this hotel is overpriced -- but maybe this is normal is Seattle. Continental breakfast was actually very good. However, apparently the hotel is no longer providing free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wabasha
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello wabasha and thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. I'm glad you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. We do everything we can to keep our hotel a good value, and I'm sorry if we didn't measure up for you this time. Please contact me directly at thackett@staypineapple.com so we...

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotels in Seattle can get very pricey for fairly basic accommodation. The University Inn is indeed fairly basic, but at around $175 all up for a night inclusive of parking I thought it was good value. Location is in the UW campus area, a 20 minute walk from the Husky Stadium light rail. Rooms have basic amenities and comfy beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny K
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Danny K and thank you very much for staying with us and writing this review! It's great to see that you found your room comfortable, our location convenient, and our experience an overall good value. It's particularly gratifying to see that you found our staff helpful, as that's how we hope to stand out from the pack. Thank you...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the University Inn for over 15 years and saw it change hands. The new company did some remodeling and upgrades which were lovely and we didn't mind paying more for that. However, the last few years they have been tacking on fees for previously part of the accommodations. We now pay $15 for parking and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmrussell122016
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ms. Russell; Hello Ms. Russell; Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to submit this review. I'm glad we had a chance to speak since this was written -- and very happy that you're giving us another chance. We greatly appreciate your return business and while we may have fallen short last time, we...

vancouver
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We usually try to stay at the Maxwell (as sister property) if we are doing a Pineapple Hotel, but they were full up this time. I arrived in the late afternoon. Parked and entered. I was received cooly but professionally. The front desk person (all young college-aged men) offered to move me from a double queen to a king, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loutzl
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ms. Loutzl and thank you very much for staying with us and submitting this review. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. We endeavor to always provide a warm welcome to our guests, including offering an orientation to the property and finding a solution for any problem that may come up. While it's true we had...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed the room - Stay Pineapple promises surfaces you want to roll around naked on, and they pretty much deliver. Towels were a tiny bit scratchy, but the sheets were wonderful! Housekeeping was very polite and always did a fantastic job taking care of the room while we were out and about, replenishing the copious amounts of coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NovelApproach626
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello NovelApproach626 and thank you very much for this five star review! I'm very glad to see that you found your room so comfortable, and also enjoyed several of our amenities. I have passed along your compliments to our housekeeping manager as well. Thank you for recognizing the housekeeping staff's hard work! We hope to see you again soon. Wishing...

Seneca, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love this hotel. We come to Seattle twice a year to visit our son. We have stayed 5 times and will stay again the next time we come. Good room size, clean rooms, good beds, continental breakfast and great customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hall7478
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello hall7478 and thank you very much for this five star review! I'm very glad you found our accommodations to be so comfortable for your visits. It's particularly gratifying to see you found our customer service to be great -- as that's where we really hope to shine. Thank you again. We greatly appreciate your continued business, and hope to...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at the University Inn many times in the past. I enjoy the hotel feel and amenities. Although I could stay at other name brand hotels in the area, I have always picked the University Inn for those reasons. In the last visit, I had two disappointments, 1) The circuit breaker blew in my hotel room and no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hnaumer
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

For the price this is a great little hotel. The rooms are unique - great bed and duvets. Bathroom had everything you need. Entire room was clean. Breakfast was your typical one included with your room. Not a lot of room to sit down but shared a table both mornings. Fairly convenient to downtown. I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill D
Tommy H, Front Office Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bill D! Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to submit this review. I'm very glad that you found your room comfortable and our location convenient. It's great to see that our combination of style and function made for a good value for you. Thank you again. We hope you indeed stay again soon!...

244 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
1:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (141)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
One King Bed Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premiere Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Two Queen Bed Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#59 of 100 in Seattle
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Price Range: $194 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
5 months ago
Los Angeles, California
6 months ago
Los Angeles, California
6 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you know about all of the add-on fees!”
 of 5 bubbles kmrussell122016, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request room on back side, no street noise”
 of 5 bubbles hall7478, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms that face the city are nice”
 of 5 bubbles H8245QBmarkm, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have less street noise. Rooms facing south may have a downtown view. Sofa beds have memory foam & are comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles victorialong63, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All Rooms seem to be about the same.”
 of 5 bubbles 247richard669, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5