We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The College Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The College Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Start your review of The College Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the most disgusting "hotel" I've ever stayed. The only reason we are here now is that immediately after booking it was apparent that this hotel (unlike all the other times I've booked on booking.com) does not allow cancellations, even a week ahead. So here we are. Trying to wash our faces with the ice cold water (no warm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri P
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. Booking.com does have a new function for non cancellable reservations with a deeper discount. However, we value our guests and if they are unhappy we will cancel their reservation and work with Booking.com. We are very unique property with the shared bathrooms and I apologize you were not aware. The rollaway requests is...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do i start. First off, upon check-in (11pm), we find that the office is closed (after 10pm), and instructions on the door has us call the in-house stoner and after 10 times decides to put the blunt down and pick up. Then, we are instructed that our keys would be waiting for us in our room. However, after searching...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin R
christudor, Owner at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you posting. I apologize for your encounter. I can assure you the assessment of any failure due to any cannabis is not accurate. I spoke with your room mate during your arrival and I answered on the second ring. I am sorry for the key situation and we are reviewing our late arrival process. I appreciate the credit given...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay here because I am usually in town for one night from Alaska and it is close enough for me to walk to my appointments at UWMC the next day. As long as I have a bed and wifi, I am OK. It is inconvenient to go down the hall to the bathroom but not impossible. It reminds me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy I
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Pretty terrible experience, culminating in finding a dead bedbug on my bed and then being treated rudely when confronting onsite staff about the issue. I chose to stay at College Inn for two nights (Dec 6 & 7) because it was the cheapest option (I paid $75/night for two nights). I was in room 208, and to a certain extent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank didaph
christudor, Owner at The College Inn, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. We are currently addressing the entire situation with the individual you encounter. I apologize he gave the impression he was the on site manager. His demeanor is unacceptable and rest assured his employment will be impacted. We did contact a third party about your original concern and they indicated the insect was a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The hotel desk is also the mini-mart desk, so anyone working at the mini-mart, or who is a mate of the staff can see all the guest details and has access to the keys. This includes the stinky-breath fellow who is a friend of the floppy haired student who was on duty when I arrived. Because the rooms are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gibbo1956
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting. I am so sorry for the issues during your stay. I will be following up with our team member you encountered. His demeanor is unacceptable. We due have security processes in place for protection of guest data and room keys. The store is monitored by camera system. In regards to the windows, the rooms are...

Terrebonne, Oregon
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The room was fine except it was obvious that under the bed had not seen a vacuum for awhile. The shared bathroom at the end of the hall was clean except for the peeling ceiling in one corner with black mold showing through. The 4th floor lobby was unique and where the breakfast was available. The beautiful furniture needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAT1956
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your posting. We are definitely taking your comments to heart and making immediate changes. We appreciate the comments about the beds and we are glad you enjoyed the lobby area. In regards to the service, I am sorry you were not informed but we have the office in the Easyshoppe Store on...

Reviewed 1 May 2016

Really enjoyed my stay. Only challenges were that breakfast was too late for me to take advantage it. Started at 8 am on weekend, and was there for a University symposium that started at 8 am. Maybe breakfast at 7 even on weekend? Also, the store that serves as the office was staffed with lovely people who were very helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis O
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for kind comments. We are reviewing our breakfast hour on the weekends. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

I would never stay here again. It was dirty, the bathrooms were nasty, I didn't shower for the two nights we stayed there. It was just not a good place. I felt really uncomfortable the whole time we stayed there. Overall it was just disgusting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gabbin T
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. Please contact us so we are able to review your impression.

Reviewed 10 April 2016

Being a Hostel is no excuse for an unkept lodging. Specifically....our room was dirty, something resembling tobacco juice on the wall, and while antiques and distressed furniture can be charming, broken, run-down, thread bare carpet is just lazy and poor taste and standards. The fan did not work, the bed side lamp did not have a knob to turn it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariatafoni
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for you experience. We are reviewing your comments with our maintenance and housekeeping staff. Your situation is not normal for our guests. We would like to make the situation right. Please contact us so we can.

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I cancelled my room thirty minutes after booking. This is not a hotel it's a hostel. In addition, there are NO accommodations for people with disabilities or the elderly. I flew to Seattle after my mother had a heart attack and, showing up at this place was more stressful then sleeping in a hospital lounge chair/bed. After cancelling this place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank redgoody
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

I am sincerely sorry for your experience. My thoughts are with you and your mother. I agree you did not need this extra stress during your stay. I apologize our Inn was not accurately portrayed to you. We were built in 1909 for the World Exposition in Seattle. The building is true to the form it was built in back...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University Motel Suites
#71 of 100 in Seattle
70 reviews
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#63 of 100 in Seattle
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The College Inn

Address: 4000 University Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Price Range: $92 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The College Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The College Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The College Hotel Seattle
College Hotel Seattle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The College Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The College Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not come here”
Y6687JVkevinr, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid room 107 which has junk furniture and a ceiling cord for the fan which is impossible to reach.”
gibbo1956, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The area is noisy because you are right off the campus and there is abar in the basement of the hotel.”
LAT1956, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“No Idea. I loved my room.”
alexiso350, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If I had to be in that neighborhood again I'd spend another $75-$100 for a decent room”
davebD1385JT, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5