We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Venice, Italy
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I only spent one night in this Hostel but I can say that it is very central and very good located to visit Pioneer Square district. I arrived late and there has been no problem. My room was a 6 people female dorm, very quiet. Bathroom are in common and I think they were very clean. Breakfast is included

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilovberl
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Pioneer Square is great neighborhood! Hopefully you were able to check out the Underground Tour and the Smith Tower while you were there. Thanks so much for staying with us! Travel Safe!--Lydia, AGM

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I arrived for a short vacation. My accommodations fell through and I decided to use this hostel as my fall back emergency plan. The guy at the front desk who is a Seattle native was fantastic. He said, "You are in luck, I have a room for two nights". I needed two more nights after that, and was surprised when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RockingTravelQueen
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thai Place is wonderful! I'm so glad you liked it! Thanks so much for your very kind and detailed review of the hostel. I really appreciate your feedback and will take this back to the team to see how we can further improve our service. I hope the rest of your travels are fantastic and we'll see you again soon!...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I reserved this hostel through Booking.com. This is to echo my review posting there. The pictures and the listing descriptions were misleading. I didn't know the shared bathrooms are outside the dorm room. I'm fine sharing bathroom with 4-6-8 female dorm mates, but not with the whole floor (males included)! Yes, there is a specific restroom (1 shower with curtain,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oeka8
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you were able to meet Charlie, our volunteer Concierge that meets with guests during breakfast hours most mornings. He is a wealth of knowledge about the city and loves chatting with everyone and sharing travel stories. Thanks for your kind words about our staff. We strive to give the best service we can and we're glad that...

ireland
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed three nights at this hostel, its located close to the bus station, making it easy to find once you reach Seattle. Its a bit out of the way, possible 15-20 minute walk to downtown. Got complimentary towels and free breakfast, which was ok, nothing to get too excited about. Hostel was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mary999
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us while you traveled around the city! Our location near the bus, train, and lightrail is great, right? We are located in Chinatown, in the southern section of the downtown area, about a 20 minute walk or 5 minute bus ride to the Pike Place Market, 40 minute walk to the Space Needle. I...

Reviewed 28 August 2016

The hostel was located conveniently off the train from the airport. 20 minute walk to Pike Place and the big sights. Bathrooms were all singles and did get full at night and in the morning, which was a little annoying. The bedrooms were nice and well equipped, but were pretty tight. There was construction outside our window, but that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback. I hope you enjoyed your trips to Pike Place Market and the other attractions in our city. The train you took to get to the hostel from the airport also continues on to Pike Place Market, the Capitol Hill neighborhood, and the University of Washington. There are also a number of buses that use...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I was alone in downtown Seattle before heading back Edmonds. Had a real wonderful suprised staying here .. friendly staffs, simple warm breakfast, nice people around, comfortable bed (compared to the rate are paying which is really good). Two thump up!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KikiW4
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and were able to utilize our offerings before you going back to Edmonds. Thanks so much for your very kind review! We'll see you again soon! Kind Regards, Lydia, AGM

South Jersey
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Stayed here with my Boy Scout troop after spending a week and a half in Olympic National Park. The staff here were REALLY friendly and helpful, offering advice and tips for any and all questions having to do with Seattle. Walking tours started daily from the front door of the building. The train station is only half a block away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikebickerson
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your well thought out descriptions of the hostel offerings and the neighborhood. I couldn't have said it better myself! It was wonderful to have your scout group here and we were happy to help any way we could. I'm so glad that the kids were able to meet folks and scouts from other countries and...

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Get the train from the airport, get off financial district/Chinatown stop, hotel less than 100 yards from station. Range of accommodation- from dorms to rooms for 3 (family). Shared facilities- clean + plentiful. Breakfast from 0600-0900, early start is good for tours/visiting. Multiple Asian eateries within 2 minutes of front door, convenience store around the corner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plutoquinny
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great directions and description of the facilities. That about covers it! I'm so glad that you had a wonderful stay and were able to utilize the nearby transportation options to experience the city. In addition to the convenience store around the corner, there is a large grocery store one block away, Uwajimaya, that offers just about...

Juneau, Alaska
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The staff is incredible. the WIFI is outstanding. there is a community tv in the common areas. A wonderful kitchen to cook if you want to. also right in ChinaTown. Close to the main train to get to and from the airport. I enjoyed this stay. Be aware that it is downtown Seattle...keep track of your surroundings. overall yes indeed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dylans111
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

Great advice about downtown Seattle and the staff will be pleased to hear that you had a great stay! Hopefully you were able to make some new friends while hanging out in the tv room and kitchen. At the moment, the Olympic Games are being played on the tv and it's creating quite a fun atmosphere. Thanks so much for...

Reviewed 17 July 2016

this hostel was literally the worst hostel i've even been in US. i landed Seattle a bit late, around 10:30 and checked in at this place around 11PM. i wish it wasnt too late and i wasnt too tired so that i could go somewhere else. there were bunch of drunk and homeless people right at the entrance. as soon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya Z
AHManagement, Manager at Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel, responded to this review

I am so so sorry that you had a difficult experience when you arrived and that you felt unsafe while you were here. We try our best to make everyone feel as safe and comfortable as possible as we know that the appearance of the neighborhood can be unsettling to some of our guests. Unfortunately, in Seattle and other major...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#85 of 100 in Seattle
151 reviews
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
1,940 reviews
Pioneer Square
Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Stadium
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostelling International Seattle, Seattle’s premier hostel, which is conveniently located at the historic American Hotel in the International District of downtown Seattle.Renovated in 2009, Bicycle rentals, Common rooms, Computers (to check e-mail and the web, print boarding passes, etc.),Credit cards accepted,Discounts to Seattle attractions,Grocery store (one-block away), kitchen (self-serve), laundry, & library/game room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel

Address: 520 South King Street, Seattle, WA 98104-2834 (Formerly American Hotel)
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > International District
Price Range: $52 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bozeman, Montana
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hostelling International Seattle at American Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at end of hall was away from stairs with less traffic and near a bath.”
 of 5 bubbles toughbutfair99, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Private Room, or 4 bedroom dorm room.”
 of 5 bubbles RockingTravelQueen, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a private room with 3 or more travelers.”
 of 5 bubbles louiseo937, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Best views, Best Quality, Low Noise, Convenient Transportation to and from Sound Transit Link's International District/Chinatown Station.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisAlabaso, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Best location ever just north of Downtown Seattle and south of the SeaTac International Airport.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisAlabaso, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5