We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Puffin Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Puffin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Puffin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 285: English reviews
Bethel, Alaska
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed in a room that reminded me of Bate's motel. Their sidewalks are hazardous, sloped and steps are not marked. I fell not realizing the change in elevation. When I advised staff of my fall and did not receive any inquiries or apologies.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tina g
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's very disappointing to hear that you found our facilities sub-par, Tina. Although we try to keep our sidewalks clean and well marked, it seems like we were a bit off during your visit. In the future, I will personally make sure that all of our walkways are safe and well marked for all visitors. Thanks for the feedback and...

Juneau, Alaska, United States
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Aside from a late night disturbance by an intoxicated man, This was a lovely night spent.The rooms were clean, cozy and the beds were so soft and fluffy. They had free airport shuttle which was great and a great breakfast was included. Who doesn't love OJ?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley J
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Easy airport access, cozy accommodations, tasty OJ — that's what we're all about so it's great to hear that we're doing a good job, Ashley. Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Next time you're in town, we'd love to have you stay with us again. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights in total, one in the lower cost room (whilst waiting for our kids to fly in to Anchorage), and the other two nights in a family room. The lower cost room was old, run down and very small but had all the basics we needed. The family room had 1 bedroom with two queen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kubabelle
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

My sincerest thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. From the comfortable beds to the complimentary continental breakfast, it's simply fantastic to hear you had a lovely stay with us. I truly appreciate your support and hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're in Anchorage! Warm regards, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is long overdue but sentiments are still as solid as ever. I have had the opportunity to stay at Puffin Inn on business and family travel. All times we have been treated as valued guests and there is that comfortable feeling when you walk through the door ...... like everyone is happy that you are back ! The new...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dani-Lee S
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Hi Dani-Lee, Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you feel valued every time you stay with us. We sincerely want all our guests to feel that way. I appreciate all your support, and look forward to your next stay with us. Take care, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Montana
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here together on two different occasions (at the beginning and end of our last vacation) and my fiancé stays here every year before and after he works as a fly fishing guide on Bristol Bay. We stayed in the older part of the hotel. The lowest cost rooms are small and old, but they are super clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gypsynw
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We love hearing from our loyal customers! You have no idea how much your kind words here on TripAdvisor mean to us. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your experience and that your fiance is back home safe from the bush! Thank you for the review and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon. Till then, Sonja, Puffin Inn...

Sarasota,FL
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Actually pretty pleasantly surprised! Reasonably priced accommodations in Anchorage and very convenient to the airport. Our room was in the remodeled original Puffin Inn and was clean with good quality towels and linens. Breakfast was the usual bagels/pastry/waffles, but all seemed pretty fresh.My only concern would be noise, as there are large gaps at the bottoms of the doors. DO...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HikerRichard
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like we’re doing something right, Richard! Great location, comfortable accommodations, tasty breakfast — that's that we're striving for, so your compliments here mean the world to us! Thanks for the feedback and I hope you'll come visit us again on your next trip to Anchorage! Till then, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

windsor, co
Reviewed 10 September 2013

not the ritz but didn't expect it to be.Got in late and left early. served the purpose. Breakfast was adequate,included in the price. Have used before, will use again if and when needed. booked early and got a great rate..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monte m
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Tasty breakfast, affordable prices, comfortable accommodations — that's what we're trying to provide, so I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the feedback and I hope you'll visit us again soon! TIll then, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management

Columbus, Georgia
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Old fashioned motel with dirty carpet and poor service. Breakfast was served in crowded place wih lobby; menu was really poor . Romm was old date and there was no elevator in use. Complete absence of security on premise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pinco p
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We work very hard to provide a safe and secure environment for our customers, so I'm sorry that you felt as if our security was lacking. In fact, we have nightly security patrols that make sure all of our buildings are safe and secure. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and hope your next trip to Alaska...

SD
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The rooms in the main building are fine, as is the breakfast. However, you will be dissapointed if you are in the "original building" or what they call "the suites" in the Chandler Inn. No comparison. Staff is great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SdPetey
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and breakfast, but disappointed that you weren't satisfied with your room in the Chandler Inn. Although the Inn is a lot older than our main building, we work hard to make it as clean and comfortable as can be. Thank you for the feedback and we hope you'll visit us again...

Peoria, AZ
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It's not hard to find a lot of good things to say about this hotel; good location close to airport but not too close, restaurants all around, large rooms, nice TV, easy parking, good breakfast, nice lobby & fountain... But a few flaws mess things up: On arrival a very pretty and sweet young blond with too much eye makeup...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmahar
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad that you loved a lot of things about our hotel, but very disappointed to hear that you thought your room smelled like smoke. I will make sure that our housekeeping staff checks through the rooms to make sure that they are all smelling fresh. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you come visit us again on...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.0 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
0.2 km away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#51 of 72 in Anchorage
85 reviews
0.2 km away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#41 of 72 in Anchorage
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#33 of 72 in Anchorage
225 reviews
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
5.3 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Address: 4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: $71 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage
Puffin Inn Anchorage, Alaska
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anchorage
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Puffin Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ephrata, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Puffin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book on line to get the lowest rates”
 of 5 bubbles C6729OTbarbaras, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the "large rooms."”
 of 5 bubbles Foxsan, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from Spenard Road”
 of 5 bubbles rafterflyfisher, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for main building away from road.”
 of 5 bubbles jadstrim, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure your next to elevator”
 of 5 bubbles ferguson88, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay