We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aviator Hotel Anchorage

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aviator Hotel Anchorage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Start your review of Aviator Hotel Anchorage
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 December 2016

This is the kind of stay that I will remember for all of the wrong reasons. The mantra goes "you get what you pay for" but in this case, I was still expecting a better experience than what I received. Staff don't bother explaining how to get to your room upon check-in, nor do they ask how the stay was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David R
Osman D, General Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear David R, Thank you for your recent stay at The Aviator Hotel. I'd like to extend my sincere apologizes for the negative experience you have had in our property. Would you like to share more details about your stay with me? If you do, please do not hesitate to contact me at 907 793 5555 or e-mail me at...

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 17 December 2016

My family and I did an Alaska cruise and we booked the Alaska railroad train towards Seward so we booked this hotel due to its location. The location is excellent, as you can literally walk to the train station depot, it takes you about 8 minutes. The hotel is also located close to the mall and to restaurants and bars....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelExploreLearn
Osman D, General Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear TravelExploreLearn, Thank you for your recent stay at The Aviator Hotel Anchorage. It is a pleasure for us to read about your great stay. Being in hart of downtown Anchorage gives our guests the privilege of being on walking distance to major attractions. We as The Aviator Team are striving to provide excellent service and feedback like yours is...

Big Lake, Alaska
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We booked a room here because it was pet friendly. I specifically informed them I was bringing my small dog. When I arrived they had my reservation but no pet friendly rooms available, they had given them to "regulars". I even showed the girl my printed confirmation with the notation that it was for a pet friendly room. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alaskamassage
Osman D, General Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear alaskamassage, Thank you for your recent stay at The Aviator Hotel Anchorage. I'd like to apologize for the confusion during your check-in experience. If you'd like to share more details with me, please contact me at 907 793 5555 or ozzy@broughtonhotels.com. Sincerely, Ozzy Demir

El Paso, Texas, United States
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Stayed at The Aviator at the recommendation of a friend. Nice room with a very comfortable bed. Heater could have had a better thermostat to have better control of the room temp, but overall it was very comfortable. Staff was very knowledgeable and helpful in giving me suggestions on where to eat and where to visit. The little club had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin R
Tyler L, Operations Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Aviator Hotel, and taking the time to write about your experience. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Saturday nights are always a hit, and the blues band consistently puts on a great show week after week! Have a great day, and...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Visited the Aviator Hotel in Anchorage on a trip with friends in October 2016. Had a very nice and quiet stay. The hotel is situated close enough to the downtown area that It is convenient even to walk to the mall there, but at the same time far enough that it is quiet and peaceful. Very nice and personable staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trippingout613
Tyler L, Operations Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Shmuel96, Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Aviator, and taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to have you stay with us again! Since your stay we have joined forces with a management company and made some big changes that I...

Ellensburg, Washington
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The hotel is fine but not particularly special. But the price is fair for Anchorage. Beds made nicely and mattresses good. Sink in room is like a kitchen sink and that is a bit odd. They've improved the place some from the Howard Johnson days, but they have a way to go. The ice machine on my floor was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PierreTraveler
Tyler L, Operations Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear PierreTraveler, Thank you so much for staying with us at the Aviator and taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. I am sorry to hear that our internet was not working during your visit. We have increased our internet strength since your stay, and have welcomed a new management company with open arms. We have...

Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This place is conveniently located in down town Anchorage. We stayed the night of 2 Sept. 2016. The beds proved to be comfortable enough. Though the room backed towards the street there was no noticeable road or "pedestrian" traffic. There was adequate vehicle parking available enough though we arrived at approx. 9pm. Several other down town hotels in the same...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank blackspruce
Tyler L, Operations Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear blackspruce, Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Aviator and taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. Having a bigger parking lot than most hotels downtown is a huge plus for us as we can accommodate a large number of our guests. I am sorry to hear about your experience in the...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 September 2016

PROS: Cheap, 5 minute walk DOWN hill to Alaska Rail Road, some rooms are clean and new, Staff very attentive and courteous, AK alchemist a coffee/breakfast shop down the street is open at 6am with excellent coffee. CONS: Have to fight for that clean, nice room. A lot of foot traffic in and out of hotel. IMPRESSION: this is an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1LGM1
Tyler L, Operations Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear 1LGM1, I would like to start by saying thank you so much for choosing to stay here at the Aviator with us, and taking the time to write such an in depth review. I would like to apologize for your room situations and would like to try and make it right in anyway possible. We have joined forces with...

Reviewed 17 September 2016

We booked in for 3 nights and spent the first in disgusting squallow that I wouldn't put a dog in. The room stunk of urine and I daren't take my shoes off as they were sticking to the carpet. Due to the stench in the room we opened the window which exposed some very suspect activities in the car park....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Maree W
Tyler L, Operations Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Maree W, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Aviator Hotel and taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to inform you that since you stayed with us we have welcomed a new management company and made some big...

Stratford-Upon-Avon
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Location of the hotel was good but otherwise it did not inspire. The decor was very brown and it didn't feel luxurious at all. We only spent one night here as we were passing through Anchorage so it was adequate for our purposes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sal320
Tyler L, Manager at Aviator Hotel Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear sal320, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Aviator Hotel and taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. I am sorry you did not find it luxurious, however I would like to inform you we have made some big changes since your stay! We have updated our lobby, worked on...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Anchorage Uptown Suites
#51 of 72 in Anchorage
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 72 in Anchorage
354 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 72 in Anchorage
499 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 72 in Anchorage
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Independently owned and operated, we are a secure, clean, comfortable and affordable option with the best location in downtown Anchorage! We invite you to be our guest and feel a part of the family that brings you service with a smile! Rooms offer an option of a single king bed or two double beds. Each has a private bath and refrigerator. Our Anchorage City Limits Cafe offers a full menu and entertainment nightly. Corporate offers are best in downtown Anchorage and the location of this massive hotel is in the heart of it ALL. We look forward to seeing you at the Anchorage Lofts Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel Anchorage

Address: 239 W 4th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501 (Formerly The Anchorage Lofts Hotel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: $92 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aviator Hotel Anchorage 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aviator Hotel Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Anchorage
Aviator Hotel Anchorage Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aviator Hotel Anchorage staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Aviator Hotel Anchorage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to ask for a room that isn't above a laundry area”
 of 5 bubbles K6862TMdavidr, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room facing the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles erinr740, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Only some rooms face the water which is about 1/2 mile away. Not sure it matters. If you want the views, get outside and walk.”
 of 5 bubbles PierreTraveler, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 113 does not have carpet, Room 227 nice room.”
 of 5 bubbles 1LGM1, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to get an 'upgraded' room”
 of 5 bubbles adcrumpton, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5