We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

AscendHotelsUS$107*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$122*
US$107*
US$122*
US$107*
US$122*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 925: English reviews
Start your review of The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
 Click to rate
Aurora, Illinois
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff were excellent! Friendly, welcoming, & attentive.The breakfast was generous & tasty. The bed was horrible. The mattress was very uncomfortable & the box spring squeeked. The mattress is not deep enough for the bed frame & made it hard & painful to get in & out of the bed. The shelves in the shower had standing water, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llomonte
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you. We are so sorry to hear that you did not have a restful experience at our hotel. We strive to give every guest a good stay. We welcome your comments as a way for us to strive and improve to meet every guest's expectations. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations with our nostalgic...

Wheaton, Illinois
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 30 December 2016

My daughter and I very much enjoyed our stay at The State House Inn. Upon our arrival, both staff members at the registration desk were extremely friendly and helpful. We immediately felt welcomed and knew we had picked the right hotel. We both loved the furnishings and pictures hanging throughout the hotel...they were very unique and fun. This is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MicheleSteve2014
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Michele- Thank you for the amazing review! We are extremely lucky to have such awesome team members here at The State House. I will make sure I share your review with our staff as they enjoy seeing that they helped made our guests visit one to remember. When we describe our hotel to our guests and future guests, we like...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel's are not overly spacious (nor ridiculously cramped, for that matter), but it makes the most of the space in its rooms, with very comfortable beds and chairs, well planned and placed furniture, and beautiful, clean bathrooms with granite countertops. It has a very pleasant sitting area in the lobby, and the staff are knowledgeable about the sights and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you. We can not thank you enough for the kind words you have expressed about our hotel. We pride ourselves on our clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. We also are glad that you enjoyed our wide selection on our complimentary breakfast buffet and that our staff made sure it was always fresh for you. We...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My room was average. The mattress was on/in a platform and your legs hit the platform each time you sat down or got up. The room was clean. They had the amenities you'd expect. Their soap collection was great. Bar was very casual. Some signs of wear. Complimentary Breakfast was good. You could walk most places downtown Springfield.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia G
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you. We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet and our convenient location to the local attractions Springfield has to offer. We hope that we will see you again. Hope you are having a good...

Villa Park
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our experience matched many of the other reviews: great, friendly staff, kitchy decor, perfect location. We arrived at 11am--too early for check in but were able to pick up our vouchers after paying about $6 for the taxes that the Travelzoo package did not cover. We had a king suite away from the train tracks but next to the housekeeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Likestogoaway
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you. We are glad that you enjoyed our extra touches in our suites. We strive to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible. We really appreciate you letting us know about your stay with us. We hope we will see you again. Hope you are having a good day. Sincerely, Management and Staff

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a wonderful small hotel across from the IL Capital. It is within walking distance of many of Springfield's tourist destinations. The rooms had nice touches not found in others. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. In fact, one lady worked for the visitor center and was a font of information. Free parking and a nice breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you. We are so excited to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our staff is always thrilled to get compliments like this one. We are glad that you found our location convenient for you. And that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet as well. We look forward to you coming back for another visit....

Galena,IL
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night during a visit to Springfield to see the Lincoln sights. The location of this hotel is excellent, a very convenient and short walk to the Lincoln Museum and Library, the historic downtown and IL State Capitol. Park your car for free and walk. The furniture may look "cool," but it is pretty uncomfortable. If you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLH828
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location for your stay and the amenities that we had to offer you. We do apologize that you did not find our furniture or bed to your liking as we try to keep...

Newburgh, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As I drove up I was leary to say the least. I had purchased a package through Travelzoo and thought I was in for a miserable stay. My check in was nice despite the computers being down. Claire had already gotten my keys and coupons ready. The room was updated and modern. I didn't find the couch close to comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank creole6684
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location makes it very easy for guests to enjoy all that Springfield has to offer and all being within walking distance. We pride ourselves on having an inviting staff and hotel as well as clean and inviting rooms. Thank you for taking the time to...

Oswego, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very different than a traditional moderate chain hotel. Building seems old, but lobby and rooms very well maintained and up to date. Hotel theme is contemporary decor, which works nicely for the place; retro without just feeling old. Staff very friendly, lobby is warm and inviting. Room spacious and bed very comfortable. Breakfast very good, but dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DisneyDad21
Jake N, General Manager at The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We love to hear from our guests and are excited that you found our place to your liking. We find that many of our guests find our beds to their liking, centrally located to many attractions, and our complementary breakfast buffet to have some great...

Evansville, Indiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived, we were pleased to see how convenient it was to the sites on our list to see in Springfield. A low profile and more modern look makes it blend a little easier, with a super convenient parking lot and very little traffic to deal with. The décor is very different than expected, being modern and funky, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BradandStacy41

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.7 km away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 km away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
7.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
235 reviews
6.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#8 of 38 in Springfield
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The State House Inn is the only major hotel in downtown Springfield, Illinois to offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, super fast hotel wide WiFi and parking. The combined value of these complimentary goods/services make us, by far, the best value in Springfield. Also, when we say "Breakfast", we mean a real breakfast with eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereals, yogurt, muffins, toast, juices, Seattle's Best coffee & teas, etc. You could easily spend $10/person replicating our breakfast in a restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 101 E Adams St, Springfield, IL 62701-1108
Region: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Price Range: $143 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Springfield
Clarion Springfield
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Springfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#16 Business Hotel in Springfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cincinnati, Ohio
over a year ago
Dardenne Prairie, Missouri
Chicago, Illinois, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request bed you want up front.”
, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Suites are just a bit more than regular rooms, and include 2 rooms, 2 tv's, microwave, & fridge. Well worth the monetary difference.”
LynnD52, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suites are in the corners of the floors.”
IllinoisNomad, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a king bed.”
20karenvp, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded to a 2 room suite. Beautiful!”
tourdirectorsw, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AscendHotels
US$107* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$107
Hotels.comUS$107
getaroom.comUS$122
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates