We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northern Light Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Northern Light Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 764: English reviews
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Northern Lights Inn again for a quick visit to the Blue Lagoon. I can't say enough about the cleanliness and modernity of the hotel--it's great, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the food is wonderful. Plus, it's only a 10- or 15-minute walk to the Blue Lagoon. I booked two nights, including the night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pamela H, Many thanks for your nice words and we are both happy and thankful to hear that you will be returning. We are sorry for the building noise but we hope to conclude and open our new facilities in July the latest, were we are adding 10 deluxe rooms, wellness-spa and fitness room. So next time you will...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying here worked out well for our 1 night layover in Iceland on the way home from a 2 week trip in Europe. We took advantage of them booking the Blue Lagoon and used the free shuttle both there and back. We had lunch at the restaurant on site before heading to the airport. The multiple lounge areas at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KSeattlite
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear KSeattlite, many thanks for your review and nice words. We hope to see you again with us, one day.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Northern Light Inn for two nights at the end of what was unfortunately a rather disappointing 5 night escorted tour of Iceland . The two other hotels we stayed in were generally quite good but on almost every count NLI was extremely poor . First impressions were not good as we entered through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david f
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear David F, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry not to have met your expectations. I am very surprised to read your review but unfortunately can not see which dates you were staying with us in order to make a detail investigation of why you had this experience. I would therefor be very thankful if you could...

Reviewed 15 February 2017

Rooms are basic and the location is pretty remote but ultimately, I would assume that most people are staying here in the hope that they might catch the Northern Lights, and for that, this a great hotel. They call your room if the NL appear (if you request for them to do so) and its remote location means that you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tom A, Many thanks for your rating and nice words. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and thankful to hear that you would visit us again. We sincerely hope to see you again with us, one day.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed in a family room which was spacious enough for myself, husband and boys 14 and 11.The location is great,it is very close to the blue lagoon-easily walkable in daylight and only a 20 minute drive from the airport.I don't think you can underestimate the power station as it dominates the hotel but apart from the smell if the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet m
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear janet m, Many thanks for your review and rating. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again, one day.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We spent our last day at the northern lights inn. Never again. Food was really expensive. For four of us to eat, which was very small portions £140. Which was double the price of the capital town. And a lovely view of a power station out side the dining room window. And if you went outside a lovely smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canary3110
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear canary3110, We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation. We are also surprised to hear that you say that we are double the price of the capital town. We pride ourselves of having fair prices and our prices are lower than in the city and for most other places in fact. Iceland is an expensive...

Boston, MA
Reviewed 11 February 2017

I stayed here back in 2015 and although the room was nice, the customer service was not. This time, the customer service was excellent. The room was spacious, the beds were super comfy and the shower had good water pressure. I would definitely go back. Breakfast was decent but nothing special. I only gave the location 3 stars because being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annakiwi
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear annakiwi, Many thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that our customer service is improving and thankful to hear that you would like to come again for the third time. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

This hotel is situated in the middle of a lava field and the views from the rooms are very unusual but fascinating. The rooms are large, clean and have every facility apart from a fridge. The hotel is very close to the Blue Lagoon which can be reached along a pathway in about 10 minutes. There are many comfortable sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivien97
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Vivien97, Many thanks for your kind words and rating. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again, one day.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

They had a mid-day waffle bar. Does anything else even matter?! So besides the waffles, they have a fantastically comfortable common area with a self-serve bar. They left a notebook out for guests to use the honor system noting what they enjoyed. Major kudos for that. It made me feel like I was at home. The room was so-so, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BookOfTravel
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear BookOfTravel, Many thanks for your review. We are glad you liked our waffle bar and thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again, some day.

United States
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in hopes to see the Northern Lights. Unfortunately we didn't but that's just nature. I loved that they have a sign up sheet incase the lights show after midnight, they will call your room. The place was clean, staff friendly, and close to the Blue Lagoon which is a must!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin J
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kaitlin J Many thanks for your review and rating. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

862 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (550)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Dining (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Other (188)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
4.2 km away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
232 reviews
14.4 km away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
816 reviews
39.0 km away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 km away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
944 reviews
15.6 km away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
731 reviews
38.2 km away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, Cognac Lounge with 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Price Range: $290 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northern Light Inn staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Northern Light Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“close to blue lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles explorermee , 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The family suite is perfect with 4 beds in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles almsfamily, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room closer to the lobby so you don't hear the construction noise during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles PamelaH650, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not luxury feeling but over $200/night”
 of 5 bubbles KSeattlite, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 901davidf901, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5