We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Northern Light Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Northern Light Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 745: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We stayed one night here on our last night in Iceland. The hotel is much larger than we expected, and is spacious, warm, and has a number of very comfortable reception rooms for sitting and relaxing. We arrived late at night when the entire population of the Inn had rushed outside to see the Northern Lights which was lovely! Such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moonwolf242
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear moonwolf242, Thank you for taking your time to write a review of you stay with us at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future, (even for a long travel :o) All the best, Northern Light Inn

Campsea Ashe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Upon arrival we were dealt with quickly, staff were friendly and efficient and fully explained everything we needed to know. Our room was lovely very spacious, clean, fantastic bed and lovely arm chairs. Little extras like glasses, chocolates and shower gel etc all provided. Wifi worked well. Heating in the room could be controlled by you in the room so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura0609b
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear laura0609b, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and value the comments that you have given us. We hope to have the pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015

What a beautiful, clean, spacious hotel! The rooms were modern, clean and large with a small fridge/freezer extra towels and delicious chocolates on arrival! We did intend on walking to the Blue Lagoon on our first evening but ended up driving because the weather was so bad! We had dinner booked in the restaurant which was fantastic and really wasnt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EROSE89
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear EROSE89, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Northern Light Inn

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night at the end of a tour, to be close to the Blue Lagoon and It's airport. Location for the former is 5/5 but for anything else 3/5. As with many places in Iceland, it is remote, baron and somewhat bleak - especially in winter. I naively thought we could walk from the hotel to the lagoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TurnersTips
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear TurnerTips, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for the comments they are valuable for us. We will close the hotel from April 20 to April 25 to do some renovations, including adding mirror to the...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Stayed there for one night in February. Staff very helpful. Clean comfortable room. Dinner was excellent with locally caught fish. Breakfast was only continental, but good quality. We asked to be woken up if the northern lights appeared which they did. They have a tower and balcony from which you can view the lights.A nice touch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stanley066
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear stanley066, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure to have you visiting us again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Spent three nights here with my girlfriend and throughly enjoyed our stay. Was made to feel very welcome by all members of staff. One member even gave us a lift in her car to the blue lagoon one day as the shuttle bus was running late. Food was very nice every night, especially the fish dishes (as you would expect)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Josh A, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We thank you for your nice comments and are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Stayed here for one night on the 13th February on our last night before we went home. The hotel is a 5 min drive from the blue lagoon. The hotel does free pick up and drop off service to the blue lagoon. They can also lend you towels for the blue lagoon if you haven't booked that package. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lorraine19841984
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear lorraine 19841984, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Northern Light Inn

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We arrived at the hotel, safe car park, and lots of snow! Check in was easy, informed of the 'honesty bat', viewing gallery, northern lights wake up call and the mutliple lounge ares we were welcome to enjoy. Disappointed there was not gym or hot tub at the price we paid. Breakfast was included, and was adequate. We ate at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouB1973
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear LouB1973, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Northern Light Inn

Sunderland
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

Have just spent 3 nights in this wonderful Inn with my best friend for our 40th birthday celebrations. The Inn itself is amazing with comfortable rooms, cosy lounges, free hot drinks and very accommodating staff. We couldn't fault it at all. We only ate in Max's restaurant once during our stay and that was on our last night. The meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joolz1975
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joolz1975, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn and thank you for your nice words. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure to have you visit us again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015

We visited the Northern Light Inn 5 years ago and when we wanted to return to Iceland the first thing we decided is that we must return to this hotel. It was still clean but had lost it's character. It felt more like staying at a Premier Inn or similar hotel chain. My memory was of roaring fires, soft blankets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel S
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rachel S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Northern Light Inn. Your comments are very valuable for us. We are sorry for that you did not enjoy your stay with us as you did five years ago. We do our best to serve our guests and not to loose...

808 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (502)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Other (162)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
4.2 km away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
221 reviews
14.4 km away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
792 reviews
39.0 km away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 km away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
929 reviews
12.6 km away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#5 of 9 in Keflavik
44 reviews
15.6 km away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, Cognac Lounge with 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Southern Peninsula > Grindavik
Price Range: $356 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northern Light Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Northern Light Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room closer to the lobby so you don't hear the construction noise during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles PamelaH650, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not luxury feeling but over $200/night”
 of 5 bubbles KSeattlite, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 901davidf901, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are similar in size, fixtures, and views. The entire hotel is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewM_8, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not a bad room, but hotel is big and if you have mobility issues ask for a room close to the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles konacoco, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5