We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Guesthouse at Hestheimar

Booking.comUS$209*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Guesthouse at Hestheimar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse at Hestheimar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in hotels, cabins, and other guest houses in Iceland. But this has been my best experience. The room is clean and welcoming, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the estate is gorgeous. This also has the best shower and bed that I've encountered in Iceland. Plenty of outlets in the room too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hayesie82
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Hi! :) What a superb review! Thousand thank, we are deeply touched. Always welcome back to Hestheimar, hopefully very soon. Best regards from the owners, Lea and Marteinn and the Hestheimar´s Team.

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This was far by the best place we stayed at in whole Iceland. The cottages are great! You have everything you need, a comfortable bed, quiet, and a tremendous view. Can´t wait to stay there again. Do not forget to plunge into the hot tub!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgang
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Dear Edgang, WOW! What a sweet review! Thank you so much for it and for choosing Hestheimar. We are deeply touched and are looking forward to you next stay here in Hestheimar. Always welcome back. Your hosts, Lea, Marteinn and the Hestheimar´s Team.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

My friends and I spent 9 days in Iceland in October. We toured the Golden Circle during the day and ended our night at Hestheimar Horse Farm. The drive up is really beautiful - through lovely farmland. We stayed in a quaint little cottage overlooking the horse farm. The cottage had a nice little kitchen so we bought food from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robin F
Rochdale
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I absolutely love this place and I have just come back from my fourth visit. I recommend it to everyone. The location is fabulous, a great base for visiting the golden circle, south west waterfalls, glacier and black beach. The views are amazing, and the bedroom accommodation is very clean. The owner Lea Helga has met me three times and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LouiseTab
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Travelling as a Vegan can be difficult especially in Iceland although this hotel was brilliant at catering for alternative diets. They made a real effort to provide for me and made some delicious food. I had spaghetti and tomato sauce with mixed vegetables. They even baked me a vegan chocolate cake which was just amazing. For breakfast soya milk was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam P
The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Pros: The view. Free parking. Cons: Sofa bed very uncomfortable, the worst ever! Dirty cutleries and oven. No towel racks. Very unstable and unusable WiFi. Very unfriendly owner who handles situations poorly. The price. Poor value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WEWEWEA
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Hallo. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our farm. We are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay here in Hestheimar. The fact is, however, that you booked a TRIPLE room, but we upgraded you, without extra charge to one of our COTTAGES. You were not pleased with the sofa...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 October 2015

The cottage was cute, nice, and clean. It’s like a miniature house. It would be a great option for a family of four or for travelers who will be cooking all their own meals. It comes with an equipped kitchen. We arrived by 8pm, but there wasn’t really anyone around to assist us. Definitely arrive early. They also stopped serving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank farandfamiliar
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

I came to Hestheimar for a riding course. First of all, the course exceeded my expectations. The teaching was excellent. Horses were picked according to personal needs. The horses were very friendly. The course was very well planned and offered us many experiences from riding classes to trail riding in the beautiful Icelandic nature to the Golden Circle tour. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odelai
SLC, Utah
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We stayed here just 1 night and were upgraded to a cabin which had a wonderful view out over the pastureland. The cabin seemed to be brand new and was paneled in natural wood, which was beautiful. It came with a full kitchen, where we cooked our breakfast after picking up a few supplies at the supermarket in Hella, about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MisterP801
Herzelia Israel
Reviewed 1 October 2015

we were surprised as the wonderful, helping, warm hospitality of the staff. the appartment was great as well surrounded by windows that the aurora could be seen directly from the bed. it was so great just lying and watching it !!! and great breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dori S
Hestheimar851, Owner at Guesthouse at Hestheimar, responded to this review

Dear Dori, thank you so much for choosing Hestheimar. We are very pleased that you were content with your stay at our farm and also that you had a chance to see the aurora. This autumn we have seen the northern lights very often, which has been very nice for us and more importantly, our guests. Always welcome back to...

235 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
9.9 km away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
457 reviews
17.3 km away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,566 reviews
32.1 km away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 km away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
591 reviews
9.8 km away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
226 reviews
11.7 km away
Guesthouse Bitra B&B
Guesthouse Bitra B&B
#3 of 26 in Selfoss
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
2 Hot tubs. One outside the main building, the other by the Guest house. Great view over volcano Hekla and Eyjafjallajokull. Only 1 hour's drive from the capital, Reykjavik. Free Wi Fi. Free parking. Great location in South Iceland. Horse rental open all year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Hestheimar

Address: Asahreppi Hestheimar, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Price Range: $131 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse at Hestheimar 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse at Hestheimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Guesthouse at Hestheimar staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Guesthouse at Hestheimar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to stay at the far end of the hall when in the guesthouse. You're closest to the hot tub that way!”
taurenlegend, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“any of the 6 cottages, but there are other rooms available”
ginkgobiloba1, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All cottages are wonderful!”
606icelandic, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have great views”
LouiseTab, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Cabins are excellent”
MisterP801, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$209* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$209
PricelineUS$209
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates