We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Berkeley Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 83 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Berkeley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

677 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Berkeley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 669: English reviews
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Berkeley is a great location, close to restaurants ,and walking distance to attractions, and they YMCA which the hotel gives you a free pass to. The rooms are very spacious, well appointed and very quiet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice K
New Canaan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We choose the Berkeley because we couldn't get into the Franklin. The bell & valet staff is poorly trained and the hotel is in need of freshening. It smelled very musty. Our room was dark, bulbs were out in bath. Valets inattentive. Never again. Very disappointed!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss specifics with you surrounding your stay. We are in the process of a renovation and have made several improvments to date. Please contact me at 804-225-5142 so that we may discuss further and invite you back to stay with us. More 

Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were a number of problems in the room ( bathroom door did not close, bathroom not stocked with necessities etc. ) We were the only people in the restaurant for breakfast and had a lengthy wait. Food was disappointing - small portions of quiche that was not flavorful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank C183FVmaryd
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my most sincere apologies. This is definitely not the experience we wish our guests to have. I would love the opportunity to discuss further. If this is acceptable, please contact me at 804-225-5142. More 

Richmond
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While we enjoyed our stay at the hotel, we were disappointed that we did not receive something special on our wedding night or morning after to mark the occasion. Minor in the grand scheme of things but disappointing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 666katiez
TALLAHASSEE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed historic Richmond. Easy walking distance to lots of good eateries, state Capitol and other beautiful sites. Hotel is quaint, cozy and work adding an extra night of stay. I prefer staying on the street side of the hotel. Love the city!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J F
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I traveled to Richmond, Virginia for a business meeting that was being held at The Berkeley Hotel. I felt like I was right in the heart of historic Richmond and easily accessible to everything. The hotel was awesome! Loved my room and the service from the staff of The Berkeley Hotel. My room actually had a historic feel to it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda L
ATLANTIC BEACH
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very comfortable , well equipped room. Great staff. Fabulous location in old downtown. Be prepared to valley park car. Great amenities in room. lovely neighborhood with boutique shopping and plenty restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed twice at The Berkley Hotel and did not write a review the first time as I couldn't imagine that my wallet was stolen from my room. However, after my second visit I feel as I can rate this property as poor in regards to safety, cleanliness and customer service. It's a shame because I like the location... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzardooo
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would love the opportunity to discuss directly with you the circumstances of your two visits. I recall the events of your first visit and was involved in the investigation while you were still on property. My apologies if you were expecting a call once you left; however, we spoke... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was large, elegantly and comfortably furnished -- including a sofa, arm chair, and desk so we could easily read and/or work (or watch television). The bed and bathroom were both fine, as was the in-room coffee maker and complimentary wifi. While the valet parking price of $23/night seems step, the public parking garage on the next block was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We love hearing about our guests' experiences. More 

Easton
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Berkeley Hotel. The service, from the Valets to the Front Desk to the Restaurant servers, was outstanding! The rooms were spacious and comfortable and we enjoyed relaxing on our balcony, which overlooks the city. We walked to quite a few attractions from the hotel, which was nice. We would definitely come bake to the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lindakF9003CX
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review

We can't wait to welcome you back! Our wonderful staff is what makes The Berkeley a great place to see. More 

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 83 in Richmond
1,644 reviews
1.4 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 83 in Richmond
1,113 reviews
1.1 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 83 in Richmond
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
1.5 km away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#8 of 83 in Richmond
462 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Dining Room at the Berkeley Hotel
The Dining Room at the Berkeley Hotel
Cuisines: American, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $188 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Berkeley Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 months ago
Northampton, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Atlanta, Georgia
Arlington, Virginia
2 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Berkeley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ASK for fourth floor”
 of 5 bubbles 757NigelB, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get an off street room”
 of 5 bubbles psutz, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The area has an active night life, so be prepared for some street noise on the weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles megamom2, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 410 as it really leaks when it rains. Your floor will be soaked.”
 of 5 bubbles hqueeniew, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in a room near the end of the hall and even though our door sounded loud when it shut, we never heard another door close.”
 of 5 bubbles melissaaharding, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay