We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Linden Row Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Linden Row Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Linden Row Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 918: English reviews
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

I like boutique, odd hotels. This one deserves your attention but requires some thought. First, great location, clean and the price is right. But, very old virginia. The rooms open onto a common porch overlooking an attractive courtyard. Rooms have very high ceilings and solid rood doors with real keys. There are parlors along the porch and rocking chairs along...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vafarmer
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of the Linden Row Inn. We appreciate all of your constructive feedback on our historic property and are sorry that we missed the mark on aspects of your stay. We will certainly utilize your feedback as part of our ongoing efforts to improve our services and amenities. We hope...

Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

We were upgraded to a parlor room and it was amazing! No updates necessary as the hotel was historic with much charm. The shuttle to surrounding areas was a perk and the driver had several successful recommendations. The staff was friendly. breakfast was mediocre. The best hotel stay we have ever had and will not stay anywhere else in Richmond.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AshRop
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that your recent visit was your best hotel stay ever. We appreciate all of the compliments and look forward to your return!

Reviewed 14 August 2015

Very nice and unusual Inn in downtown area. Victorian style accommodations. Pleasant staff, great buffet breakfast and supreme location (walkable) for enjoying all that Richmond offers! Great mix of Inn guests too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh D
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your positive feedback!

Oxford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 August 2015

My husband and I only stayed one night, but we had such a lovely stay at the Linden Row Inn. We purchased the trolley package and enjoyed free valet plus an interesting and informative trolley tour of Richmond! We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite and it was very spacious. After we returned from dinner, we sat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 11KGreg
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us! We are glad that you had a memorable stay and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Lovely historic setting in the Fan district of Richmond. We try to stay there the couple times a year we visit. It's in walking distance to the coliseum, which is convenient for us. There is a very nice breakfast included in the price. There are different price points on the rooms, so if you want a moderate price, you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crowntraveler
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your frequent visits to the Linden Row Inn. It is a pleasure hosting you every time that you are in town, and we look forward to your return!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 10 August 2015

My friend and I really enjoyed out recent stay at he Linden Row Inn. Though an older hotel, that's some of it's appeal. Our room was huge, with amazingly high ceilings. I also liked the way it was traditionally furnished. The staff was great, too. One tip on parking. Avoid the $30 valet and park on the street. Look for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randy S
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during your recent visit to Richmond. We are glad that you and your friend had an enjoyable stay at our historic property. Your recommendation to future guests regarding street parking is appreciated. We urge guests seeking street parking to read the parking signs because the City does actively ticket and tow vehicles...

Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

The pictures on line do not tell all the story of this hotel. They are missing the boat, because it could be fabulous. The courtyard is wonderful and the lobby is nice. Our room was not what we expected. The bed was not comfortable.. The air froze up in the middle of the night...so getting ready the next morning was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Linden Row Inn. On behalf of our entire team, we are very sorry for missing the mark on your stay. Needless to say, the comfort of our guests is our top priority. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered in your room, and would like to make...

Chicago
Reviewed 7 August 2015

If you're sick of the chains and looking for an authentic Richmond experience, Linden Row is the place. It's an old building with a truly haphazard floor plan, but rooms in the main building are large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a bonus, and you're a short walk from Tarant's -- an awesome place for lunch or dinner. Service is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SEH7
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had a chance to use some of our complimentary services. And, we love Tarrant's too. Next time you visit, please look into our dining package that includes a meal from Tarrant's, overnight valet parking and a night in a Main House room. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 August 2015

I stayed at the Linden Row Inn with my boyfriend for a wedding in the area and was really pleased. Linden Row was in a great location for our needs, and our room was surprisingly spacious with a beautiful bathroom. We were extremely happy with our stay and would absolutely go again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meredith W
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while in town for a wedding. We are happy that you enjoyed our historic property and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

woodbridge, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Wow...the moment I opened the door to my parlor room, I felt like I was on the set of a Hollywood movie. Seriously, this was the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in...I wouldn't really consider this a hotel...more like a step back in time to an old fashioned Inn. It was amazing. If you love history and antiques,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments on our historic inn! We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to hosting you again soon.

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 83 in Richmond
1,118 reviews
1.1 km away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 83 in Richmond
680 reviews
0.4 km away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#7 of 83 in Richmond
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
1.1 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 83 in Richmond
1,647 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $168 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Linden Row Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Linden Row Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the front side of the hotel are bigger, I think, with enormous windows and high ceilings.”
 of 5 bubbles F2858BZlisaw, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No views, but quiet neighborhood”
 of 5 bubbles U9581QTrobertb, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a courtyard room, if available!”
 of 5 bubbles sarek1cat, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“parlor suites were best views, but sold out during our stay”
 of 5 bubbles fdimango, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is accessible by elevator or on the first floor if you have mobility issues.”
 of 5 bubbles viajara821, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay