We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn Richmond South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Richmond South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Richmond South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 382: English reviews
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Front desk staff were rude to not only myself, but to the person she was speaking with on the phone. Also, breakfast was terrible, fruit was frozen, banana's were brown and rotten, and the eggs, sausage, and other items were being served cold.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Top8m
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Dear Top8m We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. As well, we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of your breakfast. We...

Searsmont, Maine
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Beds very comfy. Rooms cleaned every day. Great place to stay. I'm always satisfied when I stay at Hampton inn. We travel a lot with her club field hockey team and the Hampton gives us good rates and enjoyable stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey M
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know our hotel services were suitable for your travel needs and we also have thoroughly enjoyed accomodating your group time and again. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to see you again in the...

Pensacola, United States
Reviewed 26 November 2016

i travel several times a month for work and have been able to earn and this time use some of the reward points for 2 nights during thanksgiving week. The hotel was centrally located so we were close to family and close to shopping and downtown, the staff helped as needed and when in the area again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank feliciaa975
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know our hotel accommodations and services were suitable for your travel needs including the shopping facilities. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to see you again in the future!!

Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We select Hampton Inns on purpose for their consistent comfort, cleanliness and breakfasts. This Hampton was no exception. My only complaint is that we'd done the on-line check-in in advance and selected our preferred room on the top floor. When I arrived at 2:45pm, the room was not yet cleaned as the previous guest has just checked-out at 2:30pm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa N
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know our hotel services were suitable for your travel needs. Please accept our apologies that the room selected was not ready for you Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to see you again in...

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is sandwiched between a major highway and an industrial access road. Semi-trucks air brake all night was very loud. Windows are single pane so let's all the noise in. I had to switch rooms twice. The staff was extremely helpful but I eventually had to check out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cmphd
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again. Thank you.

Irwin, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Average "along the highway" Hampton. Exceptionally friendly staff. Our bathroom smelled offensively musty, but appeared clean. Some of the breakfast items could have been fresher. Overall, a decent experience for a good value for a clean place to sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReneeRothwell
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know our hotel services were suitable for your travel needs. I am so sorry that the bathroom had an odor which has been discussed with the housekeeping department and breakfast variations are looked into for improvement Your kind comments will be...

Franklin Square, New York
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Right next to the highway. Convenient from 95 and I only needed one night with quick access to and from highway. Good night sleep, clean room and decent breakfast. Didn't need anything else or anything fancier than this.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 939leog
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know our hotel access was efficient and services were suitable for your travel needs. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to see you again in the future!!

Fredericksburg, United States
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Our large party arrived and the many rooms were ready for each of us, the lobby was Clean and the Staff were Friendly. The Coffee in the Lobby was Hot and Fresh.. Our rooms were clean and we each had enough towels... It was an Wonderful Place to meet and greet Family members from all over the Country.. Everyone came...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know our hotel facilities and services were suitable for your travel needs!! Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!!

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Outed me wrong price, wouldn't do anything about it. Very unprofessional! Always stay at Hamptons while traveling! I'm also a honors member. Always been very happy, but don't think I will ever go back. Very disappointed!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shopkind
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you received a poor level of service; this is not the Hampton norm as our goal is Satisfaction Guaranteed. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience an...

Smithfield, Virginia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The Hampton Inn Richmond South is a pleasant surprise. Although not ideally located, the hotel is centrally located between the city and the airport. Our room was, arguably, one off the nicest I've ever stayed in. The hotel staff are friendly and work diligently to make you feel welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review

Dear Tim B Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor about your recent experience. I am so glad to know our hotel facilities and services were suitable for your travel needs especially the location!! Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!!

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 km away
No photo provided
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
17.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
16.1 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
12.5 km away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: $185 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn Richmond South staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn Richmond South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“street side (not highway side)”
 of 5 bubbles 974jennyh, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Non I-95 facing rooms will definitely be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles kevinmW8797NI, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the west side of the hotel facing Commerce Street - East side is practically on top of I95”
 of 5 bubbles mikehT3164LJ, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the other side of the hotel not facing I-95”
 of 5 bubbles whytegroup, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Try not to get room facing highway. Lots of truck noise”
 of 5 bubbles RobertC548, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5