We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Primera Hotel

CancelonUS$37*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Primera Hotel
Primera Hotel
Panoramas (46)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Start your review of Primera Hotel
 Click to rate
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel 4 years ago due to a problem with our original hotel booking and were transferred here so because we knew what to expect, we booked this specifically this time. I can't rate it higher than average as while it is a budget hotel it has pretensions because of it's location. I booked a side-sea view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann_paul186478
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is our second visit to this hotel in less than a year because it is a BUDGET hotel. This time we stayed for a month. Malta is expensive, where else on the island could you stay for £1,000 for two people bed and breakfast. This hotel is in a very good position within 1minutes walk from sea front and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Normasavory
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are just back from another stay in the Primera Hotel. Didn't have breakfast or dinner, so can't comment on those, but as for the hotel itself, and the staff, we have no problems whatsoever with them. We did have a problem with the bathroom in our room when we booked in but this was rapidly sorted for us, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very basic Hotel: You have to rent everything except maybe toilet paper. T.V didnt work. Most of the time the food was cold. There was never any fresh fruit and never any drinking water. The "Thump Thump Thump " from the music down road would drive you to drink = unfortunately there was NO BAR, you had to go out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
Sheffield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a 5 night stay here through Easyjet Holidays. Had read reviews prior to booking, so wasn't expecting 5 star or boutique for the price I paid. This place (in my opinion) is ideal as a base if you're on a budget. Bus stop not too far away that takes you to the bus terminus in Bugibba. There are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smh2009
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed here in the past I thought It was only fair to give the hotel a chance to redeem itself from the last experience, Well what can I say only that's it's even worse than the last time, The buffet breakfast could do with more choice as could the evening meal, I wasn't offered any drinks with the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trak04
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for six nights at Primera. Very conveniently located just off the main square in popular tourist destination Bugibba. We did not hire a car and used the excellent bus network to get from the airport and also around the country, just EUR15 for a 12 journey card. We got a great deal from booking.com-£35 per night. Kettle, WiFi,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cookie M
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have just read through some of the reviews on here and am sitting shaking my head. I stayed here in October for the first time. Alright there were a few little problems. I have no idea if the Tv even worked, but I don't fly across europe to watch TV! The shower in my room was not the best,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RobPattinson
Primera_Hotel, Operations Supervisor at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Pattinson, Thank you for sharing your extremely valuable experience as a returning guest with the other readers of Tripadvisor! And thank you for your lovely comment on our staff: we too are looking forward to having you again this May. And guess what? The indoor pool IS heated and will stay so for the whole year: bring your...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Relax Hotel in Bugibba was full so we were transferred to Primera Hotel on the main tourist street of Bugibba. The room was very basic and directly above the main tourist street. The hotel had more than a fair share of younger guys who were pretty noisy in their rooms. 150 metres down the road by the beach is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbradbury11
Primera_Hotel, Operations Supervisor at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear robbradbury11, We can't say we were not expecting at least one complaint like yours: you -as many, many other unaware "regular" tourists- came to Malta on the same days the Lost and Found was being held throughout the island, a festival that every year gathers around 7.000 young adults, coming here mostly from the U.K. to enjoy some warm...

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

This is the first time I have written a review for a hotel whilst still staying there. Firstly there is the noise which has been mentioned in a number of these reviews. To me it is not a problem and I knew what to expect before I came but when my mother casually mentioned it at reception not as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Primera_Hotel, Operations Supervisor at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John R, As we discussed today, 12/04/17 (as soon as I managed to get in touch with you after Tripadvisor published your review), I am sorry your stay at the Primera is not running as smoothly as we all wished. Again, I would like to apologise for the accident you had with the spring that broke while you were...

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (133)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (17)
Viewed
Side Sea View Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Room with Balcony (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.5 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,461 reviews
0.5 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,436 reviews
0.0 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,391 reviews
2.9 km away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,291 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#5 of 15 in Qawra
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Primera Hotel

Address: Pioneer Rd, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: $51 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Primera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Primera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primera Hotel St Pauls Bay
Primera Hotel Malta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Primera Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Primera Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 201 is right beside the lift and has the best side view of the ocean”
Normasavory, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps if noise may be a concern, ask for a room on the higher floors”
746teresad, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“This hotel is only suitable for young revellers.. Bars and restaurants on all sides”
paulinec508, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Book a different hotel?”
trak04, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are worried about the noise ask for a higher room”
RobPattinson, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$37* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$40
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates