We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bugibba Hotel

Hostelworld.comUS$44*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$50*
US$44*
Great Deal
US$50*
US$50*
US$44*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bugibba Hotel
The Bugibba Hotel
Panoramas (60)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

865 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 654: English reviews
Start your review of The Bugibba Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I have had two recent stays here, in April in a two bedroom apartment and May in a studio. The rooms were clean and well kept. Already value for money numerous improvements are being made. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This is the 2nd time I have been to this hotel, the first was 3 years ago, it wasn't great then but 2 years on we returned and it was even worse. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day but even that wasn't fantastic. Dinner and tea was very limited and we ate out a lot this year....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 2 weeks in May 2017, on all inclusive if this is your only annual holiday then PLEASE do not stay here, especially if you have kids, the pool is small and very cold, the food is dreadful, we ate out every day, the breakfast is about the best meal of the day although that wasn't great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karinacook
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karina Cook, Firstly, there are three pools, one of which is small and shallow, especially for children, and they usually play there quite happily. The other two are either outside or inside. Again, children play there quite happily, that's what children do, whether they are of the same nationality or not. I saw a group of Spanish, English and...

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel between the 9th and 16th May 2017 and having read other reviews, after booking, was a little apprehensive. I need not have worried the staff could not have been more helpful and assisted me when my purse was lost. All of the reception staff were fantastic and the standard of housekeeping was good. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Velta K
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Velta, We gladly help all our guests and we wish you the best of luck regarding your purse. We are indeed continuing the improvements and the staff are very motivated, especially after reading your review. Thanks again for your positive thoughts. Yours, Graham Powell

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

older hotel undergoing a series of improvements, staff were all helpful and pleasant, we stayed all inclusive, food was all of acceptable quality and quantity (breakfasts were good) can't really fault it for the money, if you want five star go somewhere else and pay accordingly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robtreperry
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your pleasant review and we are happy that you had a good holiday. This is very important to us and it heartens us to read such an appreciative review. Yours most kindly, Graham Powell

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

When we arrived, the reception area was devoid of any furniture, the receptionist explained it was being refurbished and sure enough, the maintenance crew worked throughout the night. The following day we were met with new and modern furnishings. We took the time to speak to staff and were told the new owners were undertaking a programme of refurbishishment and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debbie D
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, Not only the maintenance crew hit the nail on the head, you have too! We really appreciate your honest appraisal of the improvements being made and we are glad that you interacted so pleasantly with our lovely staff. We look forward to welcoming you again. Yours, Graham Powell

Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed at this hotel last week. Do not under any circumstances eat at this hotel. the food is cold and of very very poor standard. I spent 4 days in bed with food poisoning which totally ruined our holiday. I could give you a large list of things that occurred in this hotel from no towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, Curiously, you did not report any of this and the hotel values looking after its guests above all else. A doctor is only a phone call away. There is never any need to argue about the return of a deposit and staff understand about explaining the regulations of the hotel. This incident was not reported either, strange because...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok so did book this at the last min. And was a good price. But to be honest food is shocking, I strongly recommend Not taking kids to the Hotel,because they will starve to death, the restaurant isn't set up for children at all. It's a depressing place and although the staff are really helpful, It's ok if you just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryl W
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for praising the staff in the hotel, the restaurant facilities being reviewed via the subcontractor. The menu has a note at the bottom about special meals cooked for children. It is best to consult the waiting staff about this service. We have refurbished the reception area and it is bright and breezy now. Yours, Graham Powell

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

don't stay at this hotel . it was the worse time we had food horrible service bad moved to 3 different rooms first not what we asked for other I got bitten with bed bugs and a dog barking at 5 in the morning waking us up. had to keep asking them to clean the room and out of 21...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julie F
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie, I personally placed a bottle of sparkling wine in your room just prior to you arriving and the maids had arranged your towels as swans on the bed, petals and flowers also being given to you. With the bottle, I arranged glasses with a petal design. It is a pity that this was considered bad service. I also...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the worst hotel ever went on honeymoon for 3 week changed rooms 3 times in first week the rooms dirty old broken furniture had keep asking for room be cleaned and towels the breakfast was a joke hotdogs sausages raw egg no tea machine not working told manager he just shrugged his shoulders offers no alterative you complained...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Derek P
Graham P, Guest Relations Manager at The Bugibba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek, Both you and your wife have concentrated on negative aspects to the hotel, not mentioning all the things we did for you. That's a pity. The tea machine was serviced and the manager you spoke to sorted it out, though he cannot, obviously, just magic another machine there and then. Other guests appreciated the fact that he supplied...

626 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (441)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (170)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (177)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (14)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Quad Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Studio (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bugibba
0.6 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,435 reviews
0.2 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
455 reviews
0.6 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
#14 of 15 in Qawra
1,696 reviews
0.3 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.5 km away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 15 in Qawra
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bugibba Hotel & Apartments is an ideal choice for those looking for a charming break in the popular St. Paul's Bay area of Malta. Just a five-minute stroll from Bugibba's pretty seaside promenade and town centre, families, couples and friends will enjoy the comfortable facilities and pleasant service of this delightful 3-star hotel. The 165 Mediterranean style rooms and apartments centre on a spacious outdoor swimming pool complete with terrace and sun loungers perfect for relaxation and revitalisation, plus a separate children's area. Guests of the Bugibba Hotel & Apartments can also enjoy a large indoor pool (non-heated) and Jacuzzi, providing an idyllic space to retreat to if the Maltese sun gets too much. Further facilities include a pool bar, 24-hour reception and Wi-Fi to make every stay as comfortable as possible. Decorated in a traditional style, each accommodation includes an en-suite bathroom with a shower or bathtub, cable TV, air-conditioning and heating. Many rooms enjoy a private balcony with attractive views of the pool or internal courtyard. For guests who opt for an apartment stay, a kitchenette complete with fridge and cooker is provided, great for preparing simple meals from the fresh, Mediterranean produce available nearby. Those who prefer to leave the cooking at home can make the most of the hotel's buffet style restaurant, complete with al fresco relaxation area available during the summer. There's also Jack's Bar, reminiscent of an English style pub, sometimes with entertainment, and a pool bar offering a wide range of drinks and light snacks to keep hunger at bay. Being perfectly located in the centre of town, the Bugibba Hotel & Apartments is close to the seafront, restaurants, bars and shops. The resort's lively main square is within walking distance, as are public transport options that link you to the many fantastic sights and attractions that the whole of Malta offers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bugibba Hotel

Address: Tourist Street, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 1025, Malta (Formerly Blue Sea Bugibba)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Bugibba
Price Range: $50 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bugibba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bugibba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugibba Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Hotel Bugibba
Holiday Complex Bugibba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bugibba Hotel staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from The Bugibba Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get a court yard view and get a middle view for pool view”
juliefH4951GM, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“No good rooms”
R1332RSderekp, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Studio rooms not available - trek to our room was two floors down - walk past the pool then two floors up !!!! With an unreliable lift !!”
JeanetteW93, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“stay somewhere else”
evamaijal, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to o get a room in main building as sun shines in the afternoon”
lindas717, 1 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$44* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$50
TripAdvisorUS$44
HotelQuicklyUS$44
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates