We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Shaven Crown

Certificate of Excellence
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Shaven Crown
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Start your review of The Shaven Crown
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel and a really comfortable room, we enjoyed our weekend stay and so did our dog Bella who was thoroughly spoilt by the wonderful owners , lovely meal as well as breakfast and we would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear Kelly M, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It pleases me to no end that you enjoyed our food and your weekend. Bella is a sweetie and i hope she, and you of course, will be back to visit us soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff couldn't have been anymore accommodating and attentive. If anyone is staying in, looking to stay or casually passing by, I couldn't recommend this place any higher than I do now Little gem in the countryside

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BernieBrown
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear BernieBrown, Wow Thank you! Would love to welcome you again soon to our little corner of the world. Kind regards, Evelyn

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night on the drive up to Harrogate, this would have to be situated in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. The Shaven Crown is beautifully presented, the rooms are well appointed, exceptionally clean and retain an authenticity. The bar and dining room is very cosy and the meals we had served for dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kylebarratt
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear kylebarratt, Many thanks for your lovely review. You wouldn't believe it but it is actually a 14th Century Inn and the Church is a century older. They new how to build in those days!! I am really happy enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome again in the future. Kind regards, Evelyn

Oxfordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Six of us met up at The Shaven Crown last night. None of us had been there for a long time. We had read a really good write up in the local Oxford Times so decided to try it. The food was really excellent. Each course that I had was excellent. The scallops were cooked to perfection. We all loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joodeoxfordshire
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear joodeoxfordshire, Thank you for your brilliant review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your meal and our little speck on the map. I really so hope you will come and visit us again very soon. If you have a dog please do bring it and he/she will get the blanket too! Kind regards, Evelyn

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A large family party including three generations assembled for a Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday and it all worked our perfectly. We gathered in the bar which we had to ourselves so there was plenty of room to spread out. The service was really friendly and very efficient and the meal, again in a room to ourselves, was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polyolbion A
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear Polyolbion A, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your lunch and your time with us. I am looking forward to seeing you again in the Summer time. Kind regards, Evelyn

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is difficult to know quite WHERE to place this small "review" as we had actually only called in to ask if they would mind us leaving our car in their parking lot while we viewed a flat for sale nearby (and also to ask if they could tell us WHERE the flat we were searching for was located!) The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbararitchie
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear barbararitchie, What a lovely review. Thank you. I would love to welcome you again soon and goodluck with the house hunting. Kind regards, Evelyn

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a Sunday night stay, just us and one other couple were staying there. It was very clean, tidy and well decorated. Very comfy bed, a tasty breakfast in the morning. Good location and a car park tucked away behind, beware low riding cars, there isn't much clearance ;) it is on the more expensive side of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pk_1878
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear pk_1878, Thank you for your very kind review. I so apologise for the entry road to the car park but, hopefully, our neighbours will put it right after the build of the house is finished. I do hope you will be back one day so you can experience our restaurant and bar as well. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed 17 December 2016

I used to sing carols on the stairs every Christmas Eve when I was a child and had always wanted to stay at the Shaven Crown. A gift from my sister made it possible. We have had a lovely stay , were greeted warmly and the breakfast was delicious with so much choice and so beautifully presented. Such tasty eggs!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The S
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear The S, Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you got to stay with us but, more so, that you enjoyed yourself. It would be lovely to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We first discovered the Shaven Crown last year, as a restaurant. The food was excellent, the service first rate and the welcome friendly and interested. The open log fire was also a 'plus'. We returned this year, for a long weekend, hoping that the hotel side would be as good as the restaurant. We were NOT disappointed. We were made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear Andrew P, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you had a relaxed time with us and it was a pleasure to catch up with you. I do hope we will see you again sooner rather than later! Kind regards, Evelyn

Kenilworth
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We arrived in the late afternoon to be very warmly greeted by very caring staff. This was a hotel full of character and decorated and furnished to suit The dinner was excellent and the breakfast matched When booking avoid the Milton Room as the plumbing from an adjacent room is extremely noisey went on let into the night and waken...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P9920XKjohnm
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear P9920XKjohnm, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so sorry for the noise problem. We are on the case! I do hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Evelyn

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
0.6 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
215 reviews
6.6 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
336 reviews
11.0 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,677 reviews
12.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,067 reviews
6.3 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
OFFER - a 15% REDUCTION ON ALL ROOM RATES FOR DIRECT BOOKINGS MADE & TAKEN BETWEEN 1ST DECEMBER 2016 AND 28TH FEBRUARY 2017 (Sunday to Thursday nights only, redeemable at check-out and non-applicable to existing bookings). The Shaven Crown Hotel, which is situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, re-opened September 2014 after extensive refurbishment. The Hotel is one of the oldest inns in England and oozes character and atmosphere as well as lashings of Cotswolds charm. You will usually find a roaring log fire to welcome you in the Grand Hall and can guarantee an equally warm welcome from the staff. We have a an excellent restaurant, serving the highest quality locally sourced produce, a bar, which is open all day, and seven beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms. Our basic room, The Crown Room, has new furnishings, however the en-suite and carpet are yet to be updated, we hope to do this in early 2017. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shaven Crown

Address: High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range: $160 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shaven Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Shaven Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaven Crown Hotel
Hotel Shaven Crown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shaven Crown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Shaven Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not the Milton No outside views ( darkened glass) and very noisey plumbing”
 of 5 bubbles P9920XKjohnm, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The pump room was lovely. but I expect all the rooms are lovely WE WERE EXTREMELY HAPPY TO BE THERE 😄”
 of 5 bubbles shirleyw24, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“make sure you eat in the restaurant, the food was amazing”
 of 5 bubbles maxinetinkler, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We only dinned at the Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cheshire66, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Shipton room overlooks the courtyard with no road noise”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpyoldman, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates