We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Start your review of Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This quaint little hotel isn't as bad as some of the reviews are saying. It's older but they have done a great job keeping it relevant. The room was clean, well stocked and no issues with anything not working. Check in and out was easy and the location was fab. If I had my time again I would stay a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Heartland's second hotel, which is on Fox Glacier Highway, while on a coach tour of New Zealand and found the service and facilities poor, despite the hotel supposedly having undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment in 2016. Because we were part of a tour, the hotel restaurant staff refused to take our orders until the whole table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bob r
New York
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Clean room with great amenities and good shower pressure. Kind staff and quiet location. No elevator, so you do need to carry your suitcases upstairs. Centrally located so everything in town is walkable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlmostAnywhere44
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is a renovated old hotel. Small rooms and no elevator. Nevertheless it's clean, renovated, good location and friendly staff. There is a restaurant and plenty of parking space around. I have had wors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Th D
cleethorpes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am very surprised by poor reviews that was not our experience.lovely staff lovely refurbished small suite excellent food in next door restaurant loses one star only because a bit noisy and no lift a bit of a problem with heavy cases.we did have help to get our cases upstairs however would happily stay here again if in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is located at the corner of the Main Road and the Cook Flat Road. If you go to Fox Glacier by Intercity Bus, tell the driver the name of the hotel and he would drop you exactly at the entrance of the hotel. I stayed for one night and found the staff friendly and helpful. The standard room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I read a lot of mixed reviews of the hotel and was little skeptical at first for the booking but now I believe I made the right choice. The hotel and its management was generous enough to upgrade our room as we are on Honeymoon trip....and ofcourse...thanks for the complimentary bottle of wine. The bar (white pub) is the most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pswetaagarwal
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I was 7 month pregnant when I visited New Zealand this past Christmas with my husband and 5 year old daughter. What a beautiful country, until I had to spend 2 nights in this hole hotel. The beds are 20 years old and broken, when I said that I wouldn't mind changing room even if it meant paying extra, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The location is great - a few minutes to the trail to go see Fox Glacier, and right by restaurants and stores. Staffs I interacted with were very nice and friendly. This hotel was very pricy for what they offer - we paid about $210NZD (~$150 USD), and it didn't even come with breakfast or anything. The room/bathroom was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HM1212
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning HM1212, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fox Glacier in the future. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

The quality of the rooms was grand (i.e. Ok)... but at $180 room only, it was by no means cheap. We didn't book in advance and rocked up... they did let us see the room before we chose to stay and they were OK, but quite a walk from reception (in an outbuilding in fact!). Didn't eat or use any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Johnny C, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. Our accommodation rooms have been recently refurbished and we are extremely proud of the level of accommodation we have available to our guests. As a recommendation for future I would advise it is a good...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
334 reviews
0.2 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
16.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#8 of 10 in Fox Glacier
163 reviews
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
357 reviews
0.3 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $158 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles M5791MIbobr, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check your TV is working.”
 of 5 bubbles AddickMark, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid main floor rooms. Ask for a room with a king bed.”
 of 5 bubbles l0vet0travelCalgary, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“not sure there is a "good" room”
 of 5 bubbles carmenwtx, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that opens on to the balcony. They seemed to be more spacious & had baths; and the balcony area adds to the appeal.”
 of 5 bubbles tlm999, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5