We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

TripAdvisorUS$103*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Stay in the new heartland hotel, the renovated one. The rooms and very clean and well maintained and with all amenities. Though they are small but good for a night's Stay or two. The breakfast provided is good. But for lunch or dinner you might have to go to the nearby restaurants. There are more restaurants in Franz Joseph but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hinal M
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Hinal M, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated accommodation rooms - we are very proud of the finished product. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed here a night in January and found the hotel very comfortable since the room we stayed in had been newly refurbished. The breakfast was great and the hotel bar fun,warm and friendly. The staff were attentive and provided a good service,there was on site parking which suited are needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPRedman
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning RPRedman, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us, our hotel bar is quite the genuine West Coast experience with its large fireplace and is the natural wooden counter tops. I do hope you...

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

This quaint little hotel isn't as bad as some of the reviews are saying. It's older but they have done a great job keeping it relevant. The room was clean, well stocked and no issues with anything not working. Check in and out was easy and the location was fab. If I had my time again I would stay a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Zoe S, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed at the Heartland's second hotel, which is on Fox Glacier Highway, while on a coach tour of New Zealand and found the service and facilities poor, despite the hotel supposedly having undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment in 2016. Because we were part of a tour, the hotel restaurant staff refused to take our orders until the whole table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bob r
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning bob r, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Glacier Country. You have our apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We certainly did not intend on this being the outcome of your experience with us and we are reviewing your comments...

New York
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Clean room with great amenities and good shower pressure. Kind staff and quiet location. No elevator, so you do need to carry your suitcases upstairs. Centrally located so everything in town is walkable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlmostAnywhere44
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning AlmostAnywhere44, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. You're quite correct - unfortunately we do not have an elevator, however we have porter staff members that are happy to assist with guest luggage. I hope you enjoyed your visit to the West Coast. Kind...

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel is a renovated old hotel. Small rooms and no elevator. Nevertheless it's clean, renovated, good location and friendly staff. There is a restaurant and plenty of parking space around. I have had wors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Th D
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Th D, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. You're quite correct - unfortunately we do not have an elevator, however we have porter staff members that are happy to assit with guest luggage. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

cleethorpes
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

I am very surprised by poor reviews that was not our experience.lovely staff lovely refurbished small suite excellent food in next door restaurant loses one star only because a bit noisy and no lift a bit of a problem with heavy cases.we did have help to get our cases upstairs however would happily stay here again if in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning CleethorpesGtfcfan, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our porter team are on hand to assist with any guest luggage - great to hear you made use of this during your stay with us....

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 19 January 2017

This hotel is located at the corner of the Main Road and the Cook Flat Road. If you go to Fox Glacier by Intercity Bus, tell the driver the name of the hotel and he would drop you exactly at the entrance of the hotel. I stayed for one night and found the staff friendly and helpful. The standard room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Thomas L, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I read a lot of mixed reviews of the hotel and was little skeptical at first for the booking but now I believe I made the right choice. The hotel and its management was generous enough to upgrade our room as we are on Honeymoon trip....and ofcourse...thanks for the complimentary bottle of wine. The bar (white pub) is the most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pswetaagarwal
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning pswetaagarwal, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. I do hope you had a wonderful holiday in New Zealand. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I was 7 month pregnant when I visited New Zealand this past Christmas with my husband and 5 year old daughter. What a beautiful country, until I had to spend 2 nights in this hole hotel. The beds are 20 years old and broken, when I said that I wouldn't mind changing room even if it meant paying extra, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. I anticipate you may have been booked into our Climbers Rest Backpackers accommodation, an accommodation block that is managed by our property - which is targeted to a different market mix from our Hotel. In future I...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
350 reviews
0.2 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.6 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
16.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,327 reviews
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $141 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have a room on the street, can hear everything that goes on!”
957gracew, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor if you must stay here”
545carens, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
M5791MIbobr, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check your TV is working.”
AddickMark, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid main floor rooms. Ask for a room with a king bed.”
l0vet0travelCalgary, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$103* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates