We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 334: English reviews
Start your review of Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Bella Vista is a motel chain, and so you always know what you're getting. Every stereotype about a standard motel chain is true of this one. The room was spartan but clean, nothing fancy but just what we needed after a long day of hiking on the glaciers. Perfectly acceptable quality, I had no complaints. Fox Glacier has only one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in time is 2.00pm and no point in arriving earlier as Reception does not open until 2.00pm - unlike all other motels we have stayed in who have allowed an earlier check in. The lady checking us in was friendly and helpful. The outdoor spa pool was out of order. A bit characterless compared to other Motels we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Sally B. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve the service we offer our guests and suggestions are always welcome. Great to hear you enjoyed The Last Kitchen and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Put it this way, if I came back to fox glacier, I wouldn't stay here again. The receptionist who was working when we arrived was veru nice, but the rooms themselves leave much to be desired. The showers feel like they are a temporary fixture, and the shower heads are very small. The setup of the room is bizarre, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainslee R
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience here, but your comments are at odds with previous reviews received. We get many comments from guests about the great shower and pressure. With regards to the set up of the room, it is a standard motel room. It is a shame you didn't...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were upgraded to an apartment which was lovely. There was a hob, microwave & fridge & a bathroom to die for complete with walk in shower & spa bath. Had a really good nights sleep. Reception were ace. Handed us a map of the town & gave us some idea as to where to eat what to do. Can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ros W
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this great review Ros W. We really appreciate feedback as it helps us ensure we're offering our guests the best possible service. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time here and we hope the rest of your trip goes well.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This motel is situated near the end of the main road in Fox Glacier, just next to the trail leading to the terminal face of the glacier. There are supermarket and restaurants on the main road near this motel. While it is a motel, the standard room is still big enough for us 2 persons to stay comfortably. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Thomas, we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We're glad you enjoyed your time in Fox Glacier and hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Lovely three night stay. Good location right next to the information centre and walk to the local restaurants, friendly lady in reception, rooms equipped with everything you need, very clean, hot shower with decent pressure and best of all if you have teenagers, unlimited internet. We stayed in a room facing the car park, so noisy in the morning but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 21DaysAway
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Glad we helped your teenagers stay in touch with the world! Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Room 8 was at the end and on the ground floor and appeared to require noise proofing. The plumbing in the room above was noisier than the plumbing in our room and there appeared to be a heard of lead footed elephants installed in the room above us. The heating was perfect and it was a good place geographically perched...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thanks Andrea for your review. It is unfortunate that you didn't mention to us about the noise above. We would have addressed the problem. Your mother visited reception many times and never complained of any problems. Trust the rest of your holiday was enjoyable and you saw some sun shine.

Melbourne
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Basic motel style, nothing flash, very dated but clean and staff great. My room had a blocked sink which I reported but nothing was done about it. It rained constantly in Fox Glacier the whole time we were there (2 nights) and we were pretty much confined to our rooms. Bed was reasonably comfortable compared to others I stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blackjenmay
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Blackjenmay, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. Sorry I didn't get the chance to tell you, we did take a look at your sink but decided fixing it properly at the time would cause too much disruption during your stay with us. Hopefully you'll come and see us again and...

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

This was a great place to stay, great room and great service. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and suggested some great restaurants. We also used the washing facilities there which were great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharni P
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Sharni P. We love hearing about our guests' experiences and we're pleased to have such good restaurants in Fox Glacier. We hope to see you again some time.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Located in the centre of the village and comes with the usual Bella Vista facilities. Clean and comfortable and would recommend if you are in the area. There are a few places to eat in the village, but be aware most close between 3 & 5 pm. A small convenience store is available too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Mick, hope to see you in Fox Glacier again some time.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
337 reviews
0.1 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,804 reviews
16.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,042 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $96 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
3 months ago
Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles Z1196DTthomasl, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not facing road and car park would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 21DaysAway, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room no.24”
 of 5 bubbles Bhaskarbvr, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if you don't want to carry your luggage up the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles CKWJ30, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 13 was good.”
 of 5 bubbles VickiBrooklyn, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5