We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Hotels.comUS$151*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$185*
US$151*
US$185*
US$150*
US$153*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Start your review of Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for three nights. The room was comfortable and clean / tidy. Fairly simple however it ticked all the boxes plus breakfast was a bonus. Would happily stay here again, staff were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MattyAspinall
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment of arrival, Freddy not only made us welcome but displayed a knowledge of the area that was very impressive. We were there two days and the whole team were very friendly and committed to serving the guests at the highest level. But Freddy was the standout - a fabulous ambassador for both the hotel and the area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris It is very gratifying to read and receive your complimentary feedback regarding your recent stay. I will of course pass on your comments to Freddy and indeed it is great to have people like him on board. Trust you had a wonderful time in NZ. Regards Christian

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the opportunity to stay at this lovely hotel as I was traveling through the South Island. Everyone at the hotel was smart and very friendly. My room was immaculate and always in perfect form whenever I returned. It is in a perfect location to walk everywhere in town. I also happened to leave a small bag with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poplico
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Distinction Fox Glacier. I am pleased to hear the hotel, its facilities and staff were all up to your expectations and trust you had an enjoyable trip to NZ. Best regards Christin

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Distinction for 2 nights, and had a very pleasant stay. Christian was awesome; he organised our helicopter flight over the glaciers and made sure we had a time slot before the rain came in. What an experience that was! The hotel is very clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed using the communal lounge room. We wouldn't hesitate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Fiona Thanks for your very kind feedback and also for recommending the hotel to future travellers. I am pleased we managed to get your flights in on time and trust you had a wonderful trip to NZ. All the best Christian

Scarborough
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We wished we had been staying more than one night here, the lounge looked warm comfy and inviting. We we warmly greated by Christian with helpful suggestions for eating in the evening, our room was spacious with a comfy king bed, and breakfast room was nice and clean, waiter service for hot food. We were made very welcome and can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HilarySch
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hilary Very pleased to hear you've thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Distinction Fox Glacier and safe travels for the remainder of your NZ trip! Best regards Christian

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Freddie's welcome, local knowledge and recommendations made us instantly feel at home before we entered our lovely room. A complimentary welcome evening drink in the comfortable lounge and a delicious breakfast with delightful waitresses. A wonderful place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theladyj2015
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and I am pleased you were made feel at home away from home. Trust you had a lovely trip to our country. Regards Christian

Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This hotel is clean and comfortable. It does not have a bar, but is within very easy walking distance of a couple of local pubs. The white pub just down the street in town and across the main road is a true locals pub if you want that feel. We had dinner at the hotel. It was adequate but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodiefool_10
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Distinction Fox Glacier. Helicopter flights here in town are one of the main tourist attractions and are part of the local tourism industry as they are the only way to access the glaciers. I will share and discuss your feedback with all staff concerned. Regards Christian

Brooklyn, Iowa
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Just a nice & cozy place on a night when it was cold outside. The rooms were clean. The meeting area was great for our group as it was a great get together spot after a long day of travel. The Lounge offered wine and drinks and comfortable seating. The dining room offered a very nice breakfast buffet with eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron A
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ron Lovely to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I am pleased our breakfast offerings were to your liking. Trust you had a great trip through our beautiful country. Regards Christian

Williamstown, New Jersey
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in great location for visiting Fox Glacier and just a quick 5 minute walk to the town center. But this is no 5 star hotel. The hosts were very helpful but the rooms really need some updating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 27Hamer_27
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there - thanks for your feedback. The hotel however is not advertised as 5 star but we are currently reviewing room updates. Regards Christian

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Perfectly ok for an overnight stop on the west coast within a few minutes drive of the glacier. Room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was also good. We dined out so can't comment on the quality of other meals

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
DistinctionFox, General Manager at Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Distinction Fox Glacier. Enjoy the rest of your trip! Regards Christian

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
16.1 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,146 reviews
0.1 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
352 reviews
15.8 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
269 reviews
30.5 km away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,892 reviews
15.7 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Distinction Fox Glacier is a purpose built 20-room property located on State Highway 6, 100 metres from the centre of the township of Fox Glacier. The rooms are 20.6 sq metres with generous 7 sq. metre en suites with separate bath and shower, super king or king single beds, tea and coffee facilities, wifi, iron, arm chairs, writing table, Sky TV, direct dial telephones, individually controlled heating, balconies with views of the surrounding native bush and mountains. Guests access their rooms via undercover parking, which leads to an internal stairway or elevator. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel

Address: 15 Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $228 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Bristol, United Kingdom
9 months ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My guess is all the rooms are good.”
poplico, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“No rooms really had views.”
foodiefool_10, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room on the top floor.”
90RichardT, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on an upper floor.”
Whitesaway, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This hotel would serve if you are desperate or nothing else is available. Otherwise look elsewhere.”
BarbaraL183, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$151* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$150
PricelineUS$153
HotelQuicklyUS$185
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates