We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 143: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked a room with own bathroom and separate beds. Bathroom was not clean. Hairs in sink and shower. We had to turn over the matrass because it was crooked. The room smelled bad due to the humidity in it. Some minor remark, you can not darken the room. It is very light. Very disappointed. Not worth 80€.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaétan d
Vancouver
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Host was friendly. Restaurant had a good vibe. I stayed in room 9, in a four bed room I took the bottom bunk on the left. I was grossed out the fitted sheet had a couple of old blood spots on it. And the pillow had multiple old blood spots on it. Basic shared bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank specializedrh1550
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you. I appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review on this forum. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. I hope to do better the next time you are here. I appreciate your feedback...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here just for the one night. Okay we only paid $110 for the night....But. Worst place to stay. Room smelt of old feet and mould!!! The carpet of the room look like it never been cleaned!!! Hair of all colours were in it!!! Had a drink at the bar and was going to have dinner there but my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherie2014
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you. I appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review on this forum. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. I hope to do better the next time you are here. I appreciate your feedback...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were the oldest people at the complimentary breakfast but didn't feel out of place. Our room was warm, clean and comfortable and had an ensuite. It looked out on to a lovely wall of ferns and the view from the balcony was great. The free soup for dinner was an interesting experience. Book online as it is much cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avntheothers
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the feedback you have shared, further to your stay with us. I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great accommodation at very reasonable prices. Best restaurant and bar also with great food and drinks. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and tidy. This is a great place to hang out with travellers, business people and a great place to stay. Plenty of options for tourism and activities in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthernHunting
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the feedback you have shared, further to your stay with us. I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Thank you to the team at Fox Inn for extending such warm hospitality. Easy booking process and check in facilities. The room was warm and cosy. Clean sheets and a tidy space to make us feel at home. We hope to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Selina & A
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Excellent location, clean, budget accommodation with helpful friendly staff and restaurant right on the premises if you can't be bothered cooking.Kitchen really well set out with everything you need for your own use. Great mix of travellers. Very good showers/toilet areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryjudymag
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Very clean,cozy and well located. The use of space is intelligent and proximity to market. Good wifi coverage all around the hostel. The best thing is very friendly and helpful staff, specially the owner(HT).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baljit D
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed at Fox pod Hostel for three nights. It was just perfect for a couple.The rooms are clean . The staff is very helpful. Special thanks to Mani and cecil. The complimentary breakfast and unlimited wifi was an added advantage.We will be definitely back and recommend it to all our friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VIVA890
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed in Sir Cedric's hostel for two days prior our Fox Glacier Ice climbing tour. The hostel was ideally located in the small town, just a short walk to the company that organises the tours to Fox Glacier. The hostel has a large bar/restaurant, which offers discounts to people staying in the hostel. There is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
324 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
345 reviews
15.9 km away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Address: 39 Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $57 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dormitories are available but we chose a private room with ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles Avntheothers, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room near the corridor end as can access outside easily to carry gear into room.”
 of 5 bubbles terryjudymag, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Use the wifi late at night or very early in the morning. To get a quiet room, get rooms facing the lush green vegetation e.g 32 and 34”
 of 5 bubbles rocksandmusic, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Motel rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Evz1, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Private room with bathroom, other rooms are without bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles MartinP991, 19 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay