We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I had been in hospitality industry for very long time and is well verse with how the best services are rendered to the customers and I find the same with this hotel. The staff were very courteous and always ready to help. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I recommend all my fellow travelers to visit once over here and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akram J
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.com. My team and I are delighted to know of your positive experience. Comments such as yours, motivate us to walk that extra mile to ensure the expectations of discerning guests such as yourself are met and exceeded. Thank you once again.

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Two of us stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm with communal bathrooms. Staff were excellent, rooms were neat and tidy with individual light and power socket in each pod. Can never complain about free breakfast and soup for dinner. Bathrooms were a little dated, nothing special but clean which is most important. Good laundry facilities and enjoyed discount at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor.com. My team and I are delighted to know of your positive experience. Comments such as yours, motivate us to walk that extra mile to ensure the expectations of discerning guests such as yourself are met and exceeded. Thank you once again.

Reviewed 6 January 2017

The hostel was in poor shape. The rooms were dark and needed to be cleaned better. The bathrooms could be in better shape. The "Sauna" was indefinitely closed and the staff had no apologies nor compensation for this closed amenity. The free soup in the kitchen as not good and not worth sticking around for. The hostel staff at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jspek
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At the onset I would like to thank you for your review. Firstly, its none of your business that where and when our staff works. Its called Multi tasking which i guess you have never heard of. Secondly, our policy is very straight any cancellation is free of charge if done 48 hours prior. If you are so...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed here 2 nights over New Years', and paid $125 AUD per night as all other accommodation in the town was booked up. We were very disappointed with the standard at the hostel, especially given the price! Showers and toilets were dirty and not well maintained. The building itself is old and noisy. The food in the restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xxemmamcdxx
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would have appreciated if you would have written the whole story rather than just accusing the staff and making them the offenders. The staff was not rude instead you were totally drunk and were abusive to the Bar manager and the cashier. On which you were asked to leave the restaurant as other guests were getting uncomfortable...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here again. The room was overall dirty, dead insects were squashed on the walls and the mattress was broken with springs poking into me all night. However, the attached Bigfoot restaurant was good. Avoid the hostel if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fox Pod Hostel. It is with sincere regret that I noted your dissatisfaction with our services and facilities.It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. I would like to reiterate our commitment to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2016

It was the worse place that stayed on my trip to New Zealand. WI-FI didn't work, breakfast wasn't ready on the time (and it was just bread and cereal). The shower wetted the entire bathroom. Well, at least location was good..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valeria M
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, During the past one week we havenot had any complains from the guests regarding the WIFI. All my staff including me use the hotel WIFI and it has been working absolutely fine. There is a way to login to our WIFI which is explained at checkin. So if your WIFI didnot work you should have come to our...

Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed one night on the backpacker and we loved our stay ! The receptionists are lovely and the rooms are clean and quiet. We have free wifi and free breakfast and they are both nice. I recommend it !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean F
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Koia Ora!! Thank you so much for your review on your stay with us. Your kind commendation of our property and services just brighten our day. We are committed to consistently provide warm and efficient services to all our guests and appreciative comments such as yours are most encouraging and will always be our greatest reward. We are...

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We booked a room with own bathroom and separate beds. Bathroom was not clean. Hairs in sink and shower. We had to turn over the matrass because it was crooked. The room smelled bad due to the humidity in it. Some minor remark, you can not darken the room. It is very light. Very disappointed. Not worth 80€.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaétan d
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the Fox Pod Hostel!! Thank you so much for posting your review on your stay with us. We are extremely sorry for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. If given an opportunity we look forward to welcoming back soon and offer you the signature Fox Pod Hostel Experience, which our guests have grown so...

Vancouver
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Host was friendly. Restaurant had a good vibe. I stayed in room 9, in a four bed room I took the bottom bunk on the left. I was grossed out the fitted sheet had a couple of old blood spots on it. And the pillow had multiple old blood spots on it. Basic shared bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank specializedrh1550
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you. I appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review on this forum. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. I hope to do better the next time you are here. I appreciate your feedback...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here just for the one night. Okay we only paid $110 for the night....But. Worst place to stay. Room smelt of old feet and mould!!! The carpet of the room look like it never been cleaned!!! Hair of all colours were in it!!! Had a drink at the bar and was going to have dinner there but my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherie2014
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you. I appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review on this forum. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. I hope to do better the next time you are here. I appreciate your feedback...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
342 reviews
16.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
374 reviews
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.9 km away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Address: 39 Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $52 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles Fieka, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that faces the car park - it may be less mouldy”
 of 5 bubbles 22LBB, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early in the high season”
 of 5 bubbles normanh414, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“superb location, multiple activities like skydiving nearby, a serene place”
 of 5 bubbles muzzammilb2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 33 which is a private room with ensuite as it was in the end we only had one neighbour”
 of 5 bubbles 186lisam186, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates