We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lake Matheson Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Lake Matheson Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lake Matheson Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 31 August 2014

fox glacier is a very very small place. Given that the location is really not relevant. It is on the road that leads to lake matheson and gillespies beach - hence the name. The rooms are very neat and clean. However they are quite small and a bit cramped. One toilet though. Otherwise they are very comfortable. We spent 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRC_1976
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lovely little motel just off the main road. The staff were very helpful with regard to helping us out in organising a heli hike on the glacier. The room was comfortable and warm, with plenty of cooking amenities. Would recommend this motel to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed for one night at Lake Matheson Motel and absolutely loved it! My room no 2 was immaculate, clean, bed was comfy and I slept really well. The bathroom was amazing with very good hot shower. It has small kitchen, a heater, a tv and location wise...it is just perfect. It's very close to the main street. The motel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Poikime
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August. We would have stayed for a longer period had time allowed us to. Our room was cosy warm when we arrived, extremely clean and very comfortable. We dined out on our first night at a lovely local restaurant, and cooked a bar b que on the second night at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy K
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed here in July with my family and couldn't have asked for better service! The heaters were on when we arrived so the room was nice & toasty. The managers, Heather & Mike were extremely helpful and suggested things we could do whilst we were there. It was nice, peaceful & quiet plus good value for money. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason P
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by a lovely couple, Heather and Mike, who showed us to our two bedroom apartment, where they had the lights and heating already on. I thought this was a really nice touch. The apartment was spacious, well decorated and impeccably clean. We all felt at home straight away. Heather reminded us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldSearcher2014
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for one night with our 3 kids. One of the more spacious units we stayed at on our trip for a bigger family. Also one of the less expensive stays. Nice and toasty warm with all the heaters on after our chilly and wet west coast hike up to the fox glacier. Simple, clean, comfortable, and warm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebranties
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Lake Matheson Motel in April this year for two nights and what a pleasant stay it turned out to be. Our one bedroom unit was lovely and warm when we arrived (thanks to Heather) and everything thing in our unit was perfect. On the first day when went for a walk to Lake Matheson which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisrl53
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room was freezing cold, the room was small with no privacy from the street unless the curtains were closed, the wifi didn't work and the reception staff were inattentive. Luckily I had got an online deal for a cheaper price or I would have been disappointed with what I had received for my money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isobel T
RobHalsey, Owner at Lake Matheson Motel, responded to this review

WOW we are a bit shell shocked!! Yes we were having trouble with our WIFI after a prolonged period of bad weather and power cuts. This has now been resolved. However, all guests for this 4 day period (until the computer repairman arrived) were advised that there was no charge for WIFI as it was a bit hit and miss...

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed one night in Two bedroom unit and requested for 2king beds. This motel has only one floor. All rooms are on the first floor, fully furnished and clean. My unti has 2bedrooms, 1lounge consist of living room with sofa, dining table and kitchen. Kitchen is very well equipped and has all you need, but no oven. The window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babypen9uin

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.5 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
324 reviews
0.6 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
255 reviews
16.5 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
149 reviews
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
345 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lake Matheson Motel is ideally located 400 metres from the town centre of Fox Glacier. While we have been proudly named after beautiful Lake Matheson for our 22 years in business, we are definitely a town based motel; while we are not on the edge of the Lake, we are only a ten drive away and the same for the Glacier. Our motto is 'simply nice'. This means we provide simple, clean and comfortable accommodation and focus on giving you good quality basics such as quality Sleepyhead beds, cotton linen, good showers, televisions and utensils. We have a 4 star grade with Qualmark. So come and enjoy our studio and 2 bedroom units, with mountain views, in a peaceful location. We have WIFI,undercover parking for all units, some spa units, King and Queen bed units, continental breakfasts, a portable BBQ and a Guest Laundry for your convenience. We hope to welcome you to Fox Glacier soon. Heather and Mike, Motel Managers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Matheson Motel

Address: Corner Cook Flat Road & Pekanga Drive | PO Box 23, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: $153 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Matheson Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lake Matheson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Matheson Hotel Fox Glacier
Lake Matheson Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lake Matheson Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King Bed studio is worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles reisverslaafde, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“All excellent”
 of 5 bubbles robertcX3148CJ, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Not tips needed! All places are central and its quite!”
 of 5 bubbles jmoar, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The View Of Mnt Cook Ask for the room with the view at the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles penelopem374, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Great view of fox and cook behind. Easy access to lake matheson.”
 of 5 bubbles travel166, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay