We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University

Save
Share
1220 Stadium Dr, Macon, GA 31204-5501
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$157
View deal
Vio.com
US$154
View deal
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$157
Lol.travelUS$189
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (40)
Videos (1)

About

#5 of 72 hotels in Macon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hilton Garden Inn Macon/Mercer University hotel is located on the Mercer University campus, minutes from Interstate 75 and historic downtown Macon. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our hotel in Macon, GA when you're visiting Mercer University for Parents Weekend, graduation, homecoming or sporting events. If you're traveling to Macon for business, you'll find we're conveniently located near many businesses such as Georgia Power, Kumho Tire, Irving Consumer Products, Amazon Fulfilment Center, Tyson Foods, Robins Air Force Base, Armstrong, Graphic Packaging, FedEx, Yancey Bros., and Tractor Supply. Stay at our hotel in Macon and enjoy complimentary WiFi, wired internet access and a 24-hour business center. Take advantage of our fitness center or relax at our outdoor pool. Start the day with a cooked-to-order breakfast in our Garden Grille® & Bar Restaurant and relax after a long day with dinner or room service, offered daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
893Reviews4Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 566
  • 194
  • 75
  • 28
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
674venush wrote a review Jan 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania5 contributions1 helpful vote
Front desk agent came across as unfriendly and bothered. She was not at the front desk when I arrived and I had to look around for her. Interaction with this agent was transactional at best. After a 14 hour drive, I was very tired and wanted to get in the room and settle down. Room 330 has a very large water stain going across the room. While it was disappointing to see this stain, I did not want to complain so I continued to get settled in. There were a few crumbs near the HVAC unit as well as a pubic hair in the toilet. Again, I did not want to complain. I stepped out to grab a bite from a local eatery and came back and went to bed. When I woke up in the morning and began to work from my laptop, I noticed the desk area had several ants crawling around. They were on my keyboard. Super frustrated, I called down to the office (there even was an ant on the phone). No one answered at the front desk. I went downstairs to see if I could get a hold of someone to swap out the room as this was not acceptable. The cook had to come around from his workstation to help me locate the overnight desk agent who was fast asleep in a separate area to the left of the front desk. If you can't find her, check dark and quiet areas. When I explained to her what happened, she informed me that when she travels she checks everything before accepting a room. I believe she meant well, however, I was not in the mood for this "friendly advice" as it would be my expectation as a guest to receive a room that is in suitable condition. She was able to transfer my room to room 428. Room 428 appeared to be cleaner than the previous room. I went to work with no issue. Came back to the room and there was no issue. When I woke up in the morning there was a bug on the bathroom floor. I didn't see any other bugs anywhere else in the room but this was very disappointing again as this time I did not recognize what type of bug this was. I packed up and got ready to check out. When checking out the front desk agent was friendly and very apologetic about the stay. He is the one person who had expressed genuine concern that there were bugs in the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Andre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Responded 1 week ago
I am so sorry to hear about the issues you had with some ants in your room. We will definitely get our pest control company out to take a look at that room and ensure that it is taken care of. I apologize the staff was not available to help you immediately. I will look into this situation immediately. I do hope you give us another chance to wow you on your next visit. Hospitably,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David K wrote a review Aug 2021
Tampa, Florida13 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Clean, quiet despite college check in weekend, safe and comfortable. My wife and I were just passing through and checked in around 9pm and was very pleased with this property. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Rooms were clean and quiet.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Andre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Responded 2 Nov 2022
David, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. We appreciate the great comments. Please come and see us again the next time your travels take you to Macon. Hospitably,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sliphorn wrote a review Jan 2023
Springfield, Ohio1023 contributions393 helpful votes
We stayed here last night on our way to Florida. It was a good stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The property was pretty much clean and had things like conference rooms and a restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable and we did not have to run the heat or AC. We had a suite with TV's in both rooms and a nice tables. The cost was a little steep but was OK. The college is a view across the parking lot. We would stay there again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Andre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Responded 1 week ago
Sliphorn, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed yourself and will come back. We do look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels take you through the Central Georgia area. Hospitably,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dmlohmeier wrote a review Nov 2022
Rogers, AR10 contributions9 helpful votes
Where to begin. The room they gave me smelled like smoke. When I asked for a different room, the front desk was very rude. When I checked out, they overcharged me by $400. When I pointed this out, the front desk was again very rude and put the ownership on me for proving that they charged me the wrong rate. Unfortunately, this isn't the first time this hotel put me in an uncleaned/smokey room and messed up my bill. This hotel continues to get worse. The Marriott across the street is looking better and better
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Andre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Responded 1 week ago
I apologize you had issues with your stay. We are a 100% smoke free hotel so there should never be an issue with the smell of smoke in a room. I can assure you the hotel did not bill an extra $400 but there may have been an authorization for Hotel Services/Incidentals which is released at check out if you do not charge anything to your room. Please reach out to me so we can find out what may have happened. I hope you give us another try the next time you travel through Macon. Hospitably,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim W wrote a review Nov 2022
Winnetka, Illinois37 contributions24 helpful votes
After a long day of driving towards FL, we chose this pet (small dog) friendly hotel which was in town, not on the I75 bypass. It wasn't the least expensive choice but Hilton is very reliable, generally a bit more upscale. It's in a good, safe location next to a University and a very close to the interstate highway. Easy, friendly check in and clean and comfortable good size room. We especially liked that they had a small dining area and bar that was open to at least 9 PM with a decent menu. The chef and server were friendly and attentive. They not only worked the night shift but were back early AM to handle breakfast! The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars as the $50 pet charge seems excessive.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Andre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Jim, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you found everything enjoyable. We charge the $50 pet fee do cover the additional cleaning we do in a room after a pet room checks out to ensure to ensure there are no pet signs left in a room. If you do shop around, you will find that our pet fee is one of the lowest in the entire city of Macon. Please do come and see us again the next time you are travelling through our area. Hospitably,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy Adventurer wrote a review Oct 2022
Bend, Oregon46 contributions8 helpful votes
Staff is lean and not as welcoming as one would hope. Lobby is much nicer than the rooms, which are dated as are bathrooms. Carpets are not clean. For the price, and as a Hilton member this is less than ideal. Busy street noise nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Andre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Responded 2 Nov 2022
I apologize you didn't feel our hotel is as advertised. I am not sure what you are referring to as all photos on our website are actual photos of our guestrooms and bathrooms. We recently had our hallway carpet replaced and all of our guestroom carpets professionally cleaned. I apologize if your room was facing the interstate but usually do not get complaints from the noise. If you are a light sleeper, please ask for a room facing Mercer University the next time you stay with us. Hospitably,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nomad490935 wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
The carpet was dirty. There was a pair or dirty socks in the drawer. The staff was rude. Asked the staff for a late ckwckout as a diamond member and was denied without any politeness. The faucets were leaking
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Andre, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Responded 19 Sep 2022
I apologize for the issues you had while you visited our hotel. You probably noticed while you were here that the carpet is actually getting replaced this week. I am sorry we were not able to grant you a later check out than what we originally offered you, but on days of Mercer Football Games we have to be able to have all of our rooms cleaned and ready by check in time. We do hope that you come and visit us again and give us another chance to wow you. Hospitably,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stevearnoldmusm wrote a review Aug 2022
Macon, Georgia8 contributions2 helpful votes
Evening check in clerkhad to be called to finally respond to the desk, other patrons told had same problem..Cortez restaurant was most customer friendly..best asset at this hotel! Stay across the street at the Marriott
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gina A wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Please thank Diamond and Cortez for their superior and unmatched service. They were attentive, personable and professional. They made my stay extra special by going above and beyond to ensure I was happy. In a world where we don't see top notch service, I am happy to see it in full effect at the Hilton Garden Inn. Thank you. I am certain they are an asset to the Hilton brand. - Gina Diamond Member
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
debbie m wrote a review Jun 2022
FL234 contributions79 helpful votes
Wow what a pleasant surprise!! Came with family on our way up to Blue Ridge from Florida. I have to say this is one of the better Hiltons I’ve stayed and I travel for business a lot. My review in detail: -Room is super clean and huge! Nice touches like creamer pods for coffee instead of powdered crap. Hotel has great Ac and lots of TV channels. Bathroom is immaculate. Bed super comfy and love the pillows. -hotel lobby is spacious clean and nice looking. -staff very welcoming and even recommended Amicis for dinner nearby (very good). - pool is lovely large and clean - fitness room was normal- smallish but well equipped and clean. -great parking and very safe. -walking distance like 5 mins to places to eat. - they have an on-site restaurant with hot cooked breakfast. - fast free Wi-Fi. So glad I booked and we are going to be back next week on way back home! Yay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$161 - US$215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton garden inn macon / mercer university hotel macon, hilton macon, macon hilton garden inn
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaMacon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON GARDEN INN MACON / MERCER UNIVERSITY: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 83 Photos (GA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
Nearby attractions include Tattnall Square Park (1.1 km) and OrthoGeorgia Park at Claude Smith Field (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
Conveniently located restaurants include Margaritas Mercer Village, Sauced at Mercer Village, and Nu-Way Weiners.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hay House (2.6 km), Cannonball House (2.6 km), and Sidney Lanier Cottage (2.2 km).
Is Hilton Garden Inn Macon / Mercer University accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.