We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Mt Lyford Lodge

    10 Mt Lyford Forest Drive | Inland Kaikoura Road, Waiau, New Zealand
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in WaiauSee available hotels in Waiau
    Traveller (27)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Dining (2)
    • Excellent69%
    • Very good15%
    • Average8%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible6%
    Travellers talk about
    “inviting feel” (2 reviews)
    “the kitchen” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Available
    Room Service
    Wheelchair Access
    Conference Facilities
    Laundry Service
    Self-Serve Laundry
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (45)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 45 reviews

    Reviewed 30 September 2017

    lovely host, beautiful day half way betwen kaikoura and culverden/hanmer.. perfect place to stop for lunch and even accomodation of various types , 3 small hot pools fantastic views in a very peaceful part of canterbury country ...

    Thank gavinr17
    Response from Jennifer Y, Owner at Mt Lyford LodgeResponded 1 week ago

    Gavin, thank you so much. This is a majestic building in an amazing spot. Great for Lyford. Come back again :)

    Reviewed 1 August 2017

    This place has such huge potential. It's a shame that the new owners don't love what they're doing. The shared facilities are small, lack cleanliness and utensils. This place needs some love and care. If I had money, I'd buy it.More

    Thank Feliciahaf
    Management response:Responded 3 August 2017

    Hi Feliciahaf We are very interested in our beautiful lodge. At the moment we are dealing with travelling backwards and forwards to Taupo as our father has an inoperable brain tumour, and dying. This is a bitter blow to us as it was unexpected so...More

    Reviewed 29 April 2017

    Stopped there on way home as had broken down they were fantastic and very helpful and went out of there way to help us. We will definitely be back and highly recommend stopping there lovely people coffee and food

    Thank Aileen C
    Management response:Responded 1 May 2017

    Thank you Aileen. Our pleasure and we hope to see you again. We trust you got home safe and sound without more mishaps. All the best from Angela, Tony & Jenny

    Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

    The place is so dirty and they do not change the sheets after people have slept in there ! the owners are rude, talk about their customers behind their backs, and have no idea how to treat their guests do not know how to cook...More

    Thank Roseanna S
    Management response:Responded 22 April 2017

    Hi Rose I have spoken to your employers - Men at Work and the agency you got the job through. For those reading this review it is important to know that Rose was not required to work any more with the company and therefore had...More

    Reviewed 3 April 2017

    I stayed at the lodge because of work for several weeks and it is the frst time in my life that I'm so disappointed about an accomodation. We had to bring our own sleeping bags, the mattresses weren't comportable at all, and the food was...More

    Thank wogmaun
    Management response:Responded 8 April 2017

    Hi Wogmaun I have just spoken to your employers - Men at Work and the agency you got the job through. For those reading this review it is important to know that Wogmaun was not required to work any more with the company and therefore...More

    The St James
    483 reviews
    #1 of 21 hotels in Hanmer Springs
    26.7 km
    Hanmer Apartments
    528 reviews
    #2 of 21 hotels in Hanmer Springs
    27.5 km
    Settlers Motel
    617 reviews
    #3 of 21 hotels in Hanmer Springs
    26.6 km
    Village Lake Apartments
    309 reviews
    #4 of 21 hotels in Hanmer Springs
    26.4 km
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Room Service
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Conference Facilities
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Room Service
    • Laundry Service
    • Breakfast Available
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 10
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • South Island >
    • Canterbury Region >
    • Waiau
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (27)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (28)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby Restaurants
    Brenda's On Lyndon
    7 reviews
    18.95 km away
    No.31 Restaurant & Bar
    792 reviews
    26.63 km away
    Malabar Restaurant
    852 reviews
    26.61 km away
    389 reviews
    26.63 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Mount Lyford Alpine Resort
    9 reviews
    2.50 km away
    Conical Hill
    380 reviews
    26.65 km away
    Hanmer Forest
    249 reviews
    25.73 km away
    St Anne's Lagoon
    6 reviews
    28.68 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Mt Lyford Lodge staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "Intermittent WiFi. Don't get double rooms near Kitchen. Noisy coz sharing with mountain staff."
    Read review
    "best ask the staff as there is something for everyone"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing