We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Econo Lodge Downtown

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Well I finally got in the area it's bad if you ever come to Albuquerque do not stay at the Econo Lodge on Central Avenue address 817. Boy did I make a mistake this is where all the drug addicts hang out I saw one person almost get in a fight with the manager as I was walking to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronny m
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ronny m, Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We are working to address all of the issues that you mentioned and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. You can absolutely rest assured that your voice is important to us and that...

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older hotel but very clean. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room. The bed was a little hard for me and the pillows a bit soft. My son loved the bed and pillows. The continental breakfast wasn't that good not enough choices. They did have Direct TV which is always a plus. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Anthony M, Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We are delighted by your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping standards. Your thorough review is greatly appreciated! We...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were friendly but the place was a little bit of a dive. Plenty of strange people around to keep you amused if your into that. Was a little run down but serviceable for the price. Get better pillows the ones provided were terrible. Shower was also made for short people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. We want you to know that your voice is of utmost...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Homeless people and panhandlers roam the parking lot begging for money. When reported to night manager he told me to "Knock them out"! Rooms stink, window screens ripped, shower floors filthy with nowhere to place soap or shampoo. Employees allowed a homeless drug addict (lady) into lobby to serve herself coffee and grab the very food we were being served....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lvaces4
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear lvaces4, Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. We hope you can consider us again...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to crash, this is clean and convenient. Do not expect luxury at this price. I was traveling solo and felt safe staying here - lots of retirees seem to stay here. The staff were very pleasant. Breakfast was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OzTex
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear OzTex, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and for rating our hotel so highly! I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the value and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. We hope you'll return and enjoy...

Lenoir City, Tennessee
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Friendly check-in. Walked to eating establishments in the evening. TV didn't work. Had to ask for more washcloths. (Only had one in room). Was disappointed that breakfast didn't start till 7. Minimal breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Diane W, Thank you for this review of our hotel. I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are working hard to address these issues and improve...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for a couple of nights without spending a fortune and decided on the Econo Lodge downtown. The property's location off of Interstate 25 and not far from where the I-25 intersects with I-40 was a big plus for us. We found the room to be clean (there was a tiny bit of mold in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARodriguezP
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ARodriguezP, Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our services, amenities and our high standards of cleanliness and comfort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast! We always aim to give you the best value for your money and we are so happy to know that our efforts are well received. We...

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Visited while a friend was hospitalized. Complications developed, the staff were understanding and held our room, even extending our stay when another day was needed. The beds and pillows were sooo comfortable! Special thanks to Jacob and Denise! Everyone here is so kind. There are 2 excellent eateries nearby as well. Try the Whole Hog or Holy Cow!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candace M
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We are excited to share this wonderful review with our hardworking staff, and we...

Taos County, New Mexico
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We stayed here for a week while our granddaughter was hospitalized and were treated with great care and respect. Front desk staff were very friendly every day as were the hotel custodial staff. We got fresh towels daily and a sincere question about our grandchildren. I highly recommend this place to anyone who cares about how they are treated vs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RTorres456
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and we are very pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your recent stay. We only wish to give nothing but the...

SW MO
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This hotel is just a couple of minutes off the interstate and has several places to eat nearby. The room was clean, there was a fridge/microwave, and the ac worked well--especially with the quiet ceiling fan. We were very impressed by this hotel until it was time to sleep. The dogs (and that is plural) in the next room barked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maccogirl
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noise level, We strive hard to maintain a quiet and family friendly environment, but we can not control the actions of the dogs. In the...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Knights Inn Downtown Albuquerque
Knights Inn Downtown Albuquerque
#105 of 144 in Albuquerque
65 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#72 of 144 in Albuquerque
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,553 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Econo Lodge Downtown Albuquerque hotel near the Albuquerque Convention CenterThe Econo Lodge® Downtown is conveniently located less than one mile from the Albuquerque Convention Center and the University of New Mexico. This Albuquerque, NM hotel is close to popular attractions like the Albuquerque Aquarium, the Rio Grande Zoo, historic Old Town Albuquerque and the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta.The Albuquerque International Sunport airport is three miles away. The surrounding area offers a variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and eateries. The hotel is close to several restaurants and cocktail lounges, including the Artichoke Café, McDonald's, Milton's Family Restaurant and Coaches Sports Grill.Superior hotel accommodations include:Free continental breakfastFree local callsFree coffeeOutdoor heated poolPet-friendly hotel (stay fee applies)This Albuquerque, NM hotel also provides business travelers with additional conveniences like large work desks and access to fax services.All spacious guest rooms come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers and coffee makers. Some rooms feature balconies. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms can be requested.Ample parking is provided on the premises and can accommodate most vehicles and trucks.The Econo Lodge Downtown offers ideal accommodations, friendly customer service and affordable rates, with easy access to all Albuquerque, New Mexico attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 817 Central Ave. N.E., Albuquerque, NM 87102
Region: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Price Range: $70 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Albuquerque
Albuquerque Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Downtown Albuquerque, New Mexico
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rear facing room”
 of 5 bubbles danielbU4182BW, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“At busy intersection, choose room away from office in front”
 of 5 bubbles 269dianew, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Noise is an issue. Right on a freeway and near a hospital. Choose a room at the back by the pool for lowest noise level.”
 of 5 bubbles candacem227, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you do need a handicap room or adjoining rooms, just ask.”
 of 5 bubbles RTorres456, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room where pets cannot stay nearby”
 of 5 bubbles maccogirl, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay