We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Christopher Dodge House

Booking.comUS$149*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Christopher Dodge House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Christopher Dodge House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 257: English reviews
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewed 2 November 2014 via mobile

While the lodging itself was just ok, morning breakfast was fabulous. I wasn't happy about the neighborhood as we drove in. Later on our local cab driver told us we were staying "on the edge of seedy". The graffiti around the neighborhood was a turn off and a bit creepy. House personnel very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3Debi3
Kate P, Front Office Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. The chef's are happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. Providence is currently undergoing a process of revitalization. The area around the inn is safe and we have never had any issues. We hope that you will return in the future!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend here while visiting our son who's in college. It was close to campus and looked nice online. The building is gorgeous and filled with nice antique furniture. The staff was friendly, but the breakfast was sub-par and the bath products low end. Two other issues further marred our stay: noise and a smelly old pillow. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eyedoc88
Rae P, Marketing Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay did not exceed the expectations. We strive to make sure all our guests have the most pleasurable stay as possible. Guests are always welcome to notify our house staff if any needs should arrive during their stay so that we may address them immediately. We truly appreciate the review...

Cazenovia, New York
Reviewed 8 October 2014

Our first trip to Providence and the Christopher Dodge House was a great choice for our one night. We were thrilled with everything - the room, the bed, the staff, the breakfast, proximity to downtown. It was all top-notch. We talked about asking to stay another night, but the weather wasn't great so we headed home. Many have mentioned the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Therese A
Rae P, General Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Dear Guest - We are truly glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you again anytime you come through Providence. We will definitely talk to the meteorologist to make sure the weather is better next time. :) Thank you so much for your kind words. Our staff greatly appreciate it and we...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Really comfortable room - bed was superb - and friendly staff. Coffee and cookies available at all times and quality breakfast served with a smile so thank you for making our first visit to Providence so memorable. Only downside, the lower ground floor room suffered from road news and slight cooking odour from the adjacent kitchen. Otherwise, excellent value for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nick2811
Rae P, General Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are honored that you chose the Christopher Dodge House for your first visit to Providence. What a pleasure it was to have you. Thank you for your kind thoughts and your review. If you have any future plans to visit Providence again, definitely give us a call and we will make arrangements for you to be on...

Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We have been to Providence several times over the past 25 years. This time, we tried a B&B. The Christopher Dodge House was an excellent choice. I have read many reviews that complained about the street noise. It's a city folks. Besides, there was not much noise over the a/c. The breakfasts were OK, nothing special, yet filling. The 5...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jon W
Rae P, General Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Dear Guest. It was a pleasure having you with us. Thank you for choosing the Christopher Dodge House this trip and thank you for such kind words. We truly enjoy getting to know our guests and it's always a blessing to hear when they have enjoyed their stay to the fullest. Please let us know the next time you will...

Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. The location was convenient to downtown. The staff were first rate. Breakfast was acceptable, although not particularly special or memorable. You could hear the highway when the a/c wasn't running. When the a/c was running, you couldn't hear anything else - not a terrible thing from my perspective, but your opinion might...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CEB_12
Rae P, General Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate your kind words and our staff enjoyed visiting with you. We hope that you will consider us again for your next visit to Providence. Just give us a call and we will arrange accommodations for you away from the highway. Blessings

London, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Decent B&B, but didn't meet our expectation -- from reviews we thought close to I-95, but didn't realize inn was right on top of highway. Rooms clean, roomy with decent bathrooms, but bring your own TP as the sandpaper supplied was harsh. (Note to innkeeper -- splurge on a better product -- I'd be willing to pay an extra dollar/night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
Rae P, General Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure having you with us. Thank you so much for your feedback. We greatly appreciate it and we will definitely consider your recommendations as we do for all our reviews. If you have any plans to return to Providence, we would love to have you again. Please give us a call so that we can...

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 25 July 2014

For absolute value, great location, spacious ,clean, cool and quiet rooms and an amazing breakfast, this can't be beat. The staff is warm friendly and welcoming and eager to help with suggestions, advice and ideas. We were sent on 2 great walking tours and to a great Italian restaurant on atwell street. It is close and convenient to brown u....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jeffrey S
MyMrPiper, Guest Relations Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Hi Jeff, We so much appreciate your kind words about Christopher Dodge House and do hope you continue to tell others. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Phyllis Guest Relations

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We called an hour before the office closed, found vacancy and stayed two nights. This old house has all the necessary amenities to enjoy your stay, huge rooms with high ceiling, excellent breakfast that you find only in good diners and welcoming team. Although close to I-95 the rooms are very quite and we slept well. The neighborhood is calm...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 12hai
MyMrPiper, Guest Relations Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Hi, We so much appreciate your kind words about Christopher Dodge House and do hope you continue to tell others. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Phyllis Guest Relations

Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This was a beautiful inn. I loved the room. It was big and roomy and overlooked the city. I walked to the State house and Providence Place Mall with no trouble. We did have noise from the freeway when the A/C was turned off. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Disneyfan1987
MyMrPiper, Guest Relations Manager at Christopher Dodge House, responded to this review

Hi, We so much appreciate your kind words about Christopher Dodge House and do hope you continue to tell others. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Phyllis Guest Relations

362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (253)
Viewed
King Bed Room 1 (43)
Viewed
King Bed Room 3 (56)
Viewed
Queen Canopy Room 4 (55)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,372 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#5 of 12 in Providence
981 reviews
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#7 of 12 in Providence
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in downtown Providence, the Christopher Dodge House Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast was renovated to its original stately grandeur, a stunning 3-story brick Italianate mansion. Enjoy the convenience the Inn offers to attractions such as, Providence Place Mall, Convention Center, RI School of Design, Brown University and world famous "Water Fire". Rooms are spacious and offer comfortable accommodations with many amenities such as fireplaces, hand-crafted furniture, WIFI, and a delightful, home cooked breakfast. Special packages include historic tours of Providence, fabulous restaurants, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Christopher Dodge House

Address: 11 W Park St, Providence, RI 02908-5724
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Smith Hill
Price Range: $211 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Dodge House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Christopher Dodge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Dodge House Hotel Providence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Christopher Dodge House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Christopher Dodge House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms not facing freeway are quieter”
223helen, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Website had photos of each room, so you know what you're getting.”
jamis, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you do not like stairs, choose the first (which is the second) floor of the house.”
McCroson, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the largest room, which is located in the front of the building, directly above reception. Room D1, if my memory serves me.”
mixedaya, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in room 1 king size nice fireplace very large and nicely located”
leogirl1968, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$149* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$149
TravelocityUS$149
Expedia.comUS$149
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates