We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
385 County Rd Rte 189, Lubec, ME 04652-3503
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Vio.com
Agoda.com
Etrip
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
65 This newly renovated 20 unit motel and fully equipped cottage is only minutes from the famous West Quoddy Head Lighthouse, the most eastern point in the Continental US. We are the area's only motel and provide immaculate, comfortable, and well equipped rooms. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. You will wake every morning to a free continental breakfast that includes a freshly baked batch of homemade muffins, gourmet coffee and a fresh bowl of fruit, juice and yogurt! We are less than three miles to the county's best restaurants, breathtaking beaches, quaint gift shops and Campobello Island's Roosevelt International Park! We are your eco-adventure tourism destination and can provide you with directions to the greatest hiking trails, whale watching tours, and puffin excursions!We are now open through the winter and provide snowshoes for those wishing to trek our beautiful trails!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Vending machine
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English
499Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 337
  • 120
  • 26
  • 12
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bryce W wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
I originally booked the hotel through a third party. I learned I could get a better rate by booking directly so I cancelled the third party booking and booked directly. I later learned of a $5.15 cancellation fee which was not stated on the web site nor was I advised of it at the cancellation. I see another customer has also commented about being charged a cancellation fee without advance notification. Overall, the room was nice, however, we had an issue with the air conditioner. It appeared to be working properly when we first turned it on but then did not blow cold air during the night. We reported the problem the next day and asked for another room. We were told there were no rooms available. We were able to get a fan for our second night and had the same issue. The ac was not blowing cold air./working properly. As a result, my husband asked for a small discount on the room. We were told they would make a note and check with the owner. The morning we checked out, we asked about the status of our request and the rep didn't know anything about the request. My husband explained and again we were told they would make a note and check with the owner. We did not get a discount and never heard any type of response from the owner. This is poor customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
I’m so sorry… you are partially right! If the desk clerk told you to cancel a third party booking to save money, you should have been refunded. We are charged a credit card fee and other booking fees when someone cancels a third party booking on their own. That’s a heavy cost to take on with no return and could put a mom and pop place like ours under! If you cancel a reservation made over the phone or through our web page, you would not be charged. If you could please call the motel, give them your info, I promise you will be refunded immediately. Regarding the air conditioners? Yessirreee.. there are several rooms left that still have the original air conditioners from 1982. We replace as many as funds will allow every spring. Hopefully the remaining ones will be gone this year and replaced with energy efficient heat /AC pumps.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelinsis wrote a review Sep 2022
Simi Valley49 contributions27 helpful votes
Our room was newly remodeled and large. A nice view to the rear of a green meadow. It's near a small airport but no noise at all. Across the street is a another view of a large pond. The bedding was nice, great shower pressure and very clean. The AC unit was very quiet and kept a perfect temperature with no drafts. Employees were very nice, helpful and friendly. Few places to get a quick meal so most of ours were from the grocery stores so plan accordingly. The location is great, just a few minutes from Campobello Island - a must see.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't miss tea with Eleanor - great stories.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us! We truly appreciate your kind review. Please come back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosemary P wrote a review Sep 2022
9 contributions1 helpful vote
The motel is a perfect location given it's proximity to the border. We were late in planning our trip. Owners were kind enough to save the very last room for us. We were somewhat skeptical about staying since the only room listed was a pet friendly room. When we got there it was not a pet friendly room and we were delighted since we did not have a pet. Room and bath were very clean and although the owners are in process of updating the motel, it served us very well for our one night stay before heading to Campobello. P.S. Thank you for the yummy muffins. Good Luck with your project!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for staying with us Rosemary! We are happy you were able to get a room on short notice. We worked hard this year to complete additional renovations so thanks for your patience and understanding. It’s been a work in progress, but after 13 years of owning the motel, I can say we see the light at the end of the tunnel now! Hope you have the chance to come back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynda M wrote a review Sep 2022
Waterville, Maine2 contributions2 helpful votes
Very comfortable motel. We had stayed there in previous years but had to cancel our reservation recently. We were told if we cancelled within 48 hours there would not be a cancellation fee. Unfortunately we had to cancel 72 hours prior to our stay and found our credit card was charged $5.15. When we called to ask about the charge saying we were not informed about a cancellation fee, we were told there was a fee. We indicated that was not told to us nor was that stated on their website. The gentleman stated that their website has not been updated and we will not be issued a refund. We’ll certainly take that into consideration next time we book a room in the Lubec area!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Be sure to ask about hidden cancellation fee not stated on their website.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 14 Sep 2022
Hi Linda, sorry about the extra charge. Unfortunately cards were charged when making a booking to ensure the card is legit. We have been stung too many times. But, when you check in it is deducted from your room cost. I’m sorry that you were not refunded. You should have been. Please call again tomorrow and we will refund your card immediately.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sudbury9122 wrote a review Aug 2022
Arlington, Virginia217 contributions111 helpful votes
We were lucky enough to rent the apartment next to the office, which featured full-size appliances, washer-dryer, lots of seating in the living room, and a large, separate bedroom with a comfortable bed and ceiling fan. Furnishings are old-fashioned but functional. It was a bit weird having to walk through the kitchen to get to the bathroom, but that made it accessible to anyone on the sleeper couch in the living room. The bathroom was small but had a large shower with a floor tiled with pebbles. The continental breakfast is modest but features freshly-made muffins. If you're still hungry, a food truck in the parking lot serves up breakfast sandwiches most mornings. The motel is located about 2 miles from the commercial area of Lubec, but it is well situated for accessing various of the Cobscook Shores nature preserves. Even in the summer, some galleries and other businesses were not open mid-week but would be easily accessible from this location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The apartment is worth the extra expense if you value space and a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 14 Sep 2022
Thanks for your kind words. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Lubec. Our motel apartment is a work in progress with the mud room yet to be renovated. It is great for lengthy stays. But the furniture is fairly new… the living room couch was purchased 6 months ago and the bed only two months ago. It’s far from the modern look, but fits in with the Lubec area, we think.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gemutlichkeit wrote a review Aug 2022
Austin.TX59 contributions51 helpful votes
Nice location for Lubec and crossing over to Campobello (though maybe we should have stayed in Campobello). Easy to get to! Easy to check in and check out! Great night of sleep! Couldn't figure out the heater, to be honest, but we lucked out on the weather and slept with the windows open. Staff was amenable to anything we asked about. Definitely stop by the office in the morning and have some of the homemade muffins they put out for breakfast -- we went back for seconds!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 14 Sep 2022
Campobello is a magical place! Happy you were able to experience it! Thanks for the positive review. We appreciate you staying and hope you are able to come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice M wrote a review Aug 2022
Auburn, Massachusetts1 contribution
The room accommodations were very clean and updated. The breakfast muffins were yummy and friendly staff. We would recommend your motel when passing through Lubec and will return again. Had a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 14 Sep 2022
Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we appreciate the recommendation! Hurry back please! We love our staff! Thanks for noticing how amazing they are.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
abbiesteej wrote a review Aug 2022
Maine4 contributions
Wifi modems hang by their cords in the hallway suggesting the installer is not qualified or knowledgeable of their proper installation, location, or networking. The front desk staff insisted everything works well, but the morning cleaning staff say sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. This morning none of the modems were visible during a wifi search, 20 minutes later all they were visible, but some without internet connection. Don't stay here if you need a reliable internet connection. Do stay if you want clean accommodation and a courteous, trying-to-be-helpful staff in the heart of unique Downeast, Maine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for taking time to write a review Abbie. Like all WiFi routers, sometimes we have to reboot. It happens occasionally and our staff are all trained on how to do it. We recently upgraded our internet infrastructure, thus the hanging wires in the hall. We are working to secure them! Most of our reviewers claim to love and appreciate our high speed internet… however broadband will soon be here, so we anticipate even better internet service next season.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GnomiHaus wrote a review Aug 2022
New York40 contributions13 helpful votes
We spent a few nights in the cottage at this property in the heat of the July summer. The cottage is spacious and well maintained, with a quaint mood (if a bit dated). The bed was comfortable and the amenities were much appreciated, such as the big kitchen/dining area, the washer/dryer (complete with laundry soap), and the swing out back. Unfortunately, it was hot, and the cottage does not have air conditioning. If you arrive in the heat, bring a fan! We aired out the cottage each evening as we dined out, and that helped cool it down. One other thing: it is a bit loud during the day, as the cottage is just a few feet from the busiest road in town. Friendly staff, and proximity to the heart of Lubec and the many outdoor adventures in this neck of the woods make it a good place to stay, and worth the reasonable rental price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Fine, not fancy? We will take it! The cottage certainly is quaint and comfortable, but far from modern. We purchased it several years ago and it has received many updates… and a complete new paint job inside. And we can also promise an immaculate space with all the amenities (including fans) and a free continental breakfast in the motel lobby.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachael H wrote a review Jul 2022
United States3 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here on our way to Campobello. Our room #1, looked and smelled very clean. The AC was very loud, but we used it sparingly. We had a nice stay and enjoyed the fresh homemade muffins in the morning. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room away from the office to avoid noise in the morning.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Henry, Owner at The Eastland Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the kind review Rachael! That AC has been replaced… we pride ourselves on our immaculate rooms. Thanks for mentioning it. I hope you have the chance to return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMaineDownEast and Acadia MaineLubec
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE EASTLAND MOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 165 Photos (Lubec, ME) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Eastland Motel
Which popular attractions are close to The Eastland Motel?
Nearby attractions include Quoddy Head State Park (6.1 km), West Quoddy Head Light (2.5 km), and Roosevelt Campobello International Park (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Eastland Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Eastland Motel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Eastland Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Eastland Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monica's Chocolates, Water Street Tavern & Inn, and Lubec Brewing Company.
Are pets allowed at The Eastland Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Eastland Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Roosevelt Campobello International Park (6.7 km).
Is The Eastland Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.