We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Booking.comUS$76*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

675 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 615: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
 Click to rate
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here because I wanted to be within walking distance to the convention center for a conference and I was on my own so couldn't afford to split a room with someone. It was tolerable. I had to kill a water bug with my shoe in my room. Yuck. Housekeeping talked at the top of their lungs in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meg_lynne
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear meg_lynne Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will be sure to address the noise your hear with the team. As you indicated we are close to many attractions and very close the convention center here in San Antonio. We do hope that you will think of us on your next trip to San Antonio. Your Raving...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Red Roof Plus is a good choice for basic lodging in the River Walk area. A nice three block walk saves at least $30 a day for the food and beverages and attractions you will enjoy. A few reviews focus on the negatives of that walk. They ignore the LED light show under the interstate bridge. My room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chip B
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Chip B, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will defiantly share your comments with the Team. As you indicated we are close to the river walk and many other attractions here in San Antonio. We look to serving you again when you next in San Antonio. Your Raving...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

After 1 night at Red Roof Inn, housekeeping did not return to clean my. So I called for clean towels and rudely told by Melissa that I had to get the towels myself. Melissa, along with the other staff and Manager Rob Lindsey are rude and have no customer service! Their website is a lie, they are not obsessed with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Oluye
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Oluye, Thank you for your review of our hotel. While we do everything we can to provide very clean accommodations at an affordable price point along with great customer service. I apologize that in your case we could not in light of your circumstance. There are two sides to every story and while this is your side of the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are travelling the US for six weeks and are staying at a variety of hotels. We were disappointed in the management policies here. The main gripe is the extra charge for the room safe. I was told if we didn't use the safe the charge would be taken off. My husband handed the keys in at checkout and when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggyTfromOz
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear MaggyTfromoz, Thank you for your Review of our hotel. The room safe we let the guest make there own decision on weather they will use the safe or not in the privacy of there own room. Please contact me and I would more than happy to assist you with this. While we are pet friendly, we do have a...

Ludlow, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pet friendly, clean rooms,convenient. We walked to everything. Very quiet. And secure. I would stay there again. Made reservations on line a month before we got there. Everything was all set and ready to go when we got there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle C
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Kyle C, Thank you for your review of our hotel! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. We look forward to serving you again when you are back in San Antonio. Your Raving Fan, Rob L.

Albany, New York
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

It may appear cheaper than other close by hotels, but it's not worth it. Service is Ok. No breakfast. Rooms are averagely maintained. Shower area is small. Wouldn't go there again. Plus point is that it close to many attractions, riverwalk, and convention center.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yatri23
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear yatri23, Thank you for your review of our hotel. While we do not offer breakfast we have vending options that you may purchase. We also have Restaurant options that are very close by. We do hope that you keep us in mind in your future travels. Your Raving Fan, Rob L.

Whitewater
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed an extra day after a conference and had to find a cheaper hotel near the river walk. The Red Roof was a good value. It appeared a bit rundown as I came in but I was pleasantly surprised. It had friendly staff. The room was clean and had a nice bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matt A
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Matt A, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team. We look forward to serving you again when you are next in San Antonio. Your Raving Fan, Rob L.

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The worst customer service I've ever encountered. We booked 3 rooms for a family of 6. Requested they be near each other. We were put on separate floors. 1 member in a wheelchair that we notified of at booking. Not given wheelchair accessible room. Had to call the manager(who was not in building) to get permission to get Ada room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tbansic178
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear tbansic178, Thank you for your review of our hotel. As we do have many different room types those room types do have different amenity's in them. While we make every attempt to fulfill requests such as being close to another rooms at time such as this when we have a very high occupancy that unfortunately we can not fulfill...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I got 50% off for the room via Expedia. The room was spacious and is near to the convention center. The only problem I had with the room was the toilet floor which didn't have a shower stall. The water had a tendency to flow to certain parts of the floor and pool there because the floor wasn't even. Other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adele W
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Adele W, Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you indicated we are close to the convention center as well as many other attraction here in San Antonio.I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team, Your Raving Fan, Rob L.

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to come to San Antonio a day early for a planned trip and needed a place to stay for one night. I thought the price was very high for these accommodations, but we didn't have many options for lodging on such short notice. The location was close to the Riverwalk, the front desk clerks were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mollyjack345
Rob L, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear molljack345, Thank you for your review of our hotel. As it is a very busy season right now for us I am delighted that you choose us and we were able to accommodate your travel plans on very short notice. As a Downtown Destination property we are very close as you indicated to many attractions here in San Antonio....

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
1,089 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#122 of 354 in San Antonio
700 reviews
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,816 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 354 in San Antonio
1,810 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Parking is available for standard vehicles for $15 per night with in and out privileges. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2029
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Price Range: $108 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Hamilton texas
over a year ago
26 days ago
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from interstate”
MaggyTfromOz, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a back room.”
tbansic178, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“BETTER FRONT DESK PERSON must see rooms in person not on web site”
jrodriguez193, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Within walking distance to Alamodome & Riverwalk”
ezunigafamily, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side of the hotel look out on a quiet street - that is, if the reception desk decides to give you such a room.”
Christiaan_Leo, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$141
Expedia.comUS$76
Hotels.comUS$76
View all 16 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates