Menger Hotel

Menger Hotel

The garden area - also the smoking area.
Traveller (1505)
Panorama of the Deluxe King Room at Menger Hotel
360
Panoramas (18)
King Ranch Suite
Room & Suite (532)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#25 of 362 hotels in San Antonio
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Menger Hotel is a historic hotel located in downtown San Antonio, Texas located where the Battle of the Alamo happened.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

204 Alamo Plaza, San Antonio, TX 78205
4,152Reviews38Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,257
  • 1,069
  • 431
  • 217
  • 178
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ariana Davis wrote a review Oct 2020
Denton, Texas1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is an icon in San Antonio and has been there since 1859. The interior of the original space is a moment in time with its historical cases of old ledgers and photos of times never forgotten. The rooms were were assigned were also in the original space and met every stand expectation of modern traveling. The Colonial is the restaurant on the bottom floor and boasts beautiful access to the Spanish courtyard as well as the experience with the restaurant space with its mirrors and pillars and crown molding capturing the essence of times long ago. The staff are courteous and prompt with addressing any concerns that may arise. The only constructive feedback I would volunteer is upon check-in the front desk staff should communicate the housekeeping expectations due to COVID as the rooms are not serviced each day as you would normally expect. They are quick to remedy any needs due to this change. The value is average to the surroundings however exceptional from my perspective simply due the all the history that abounds in and around the Menger. The location is literally across the street from the Alamo and though there is severe construction presently, it is not too challenging to work around this. The majority of main attractions are within walking distance such as an entrance into the Riverwalk and the Alamo. The beds and linens are comfortably to provide a very restful night sleep, unless you have one of the many haunting visitors to come visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
billpoynter28 wrote a review Nov 2020
Austin, Texas1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent a great 3-day weekend Oct 23-26 at the historic and fabulous Menger. I had always wanted to stay there having grown up in San Antonio and visited the hotel and iconic bar many times. Our stay could not have been better! It all started with the warm welcome we got upon arrival at the entrance where we were met by Margaret. She was so friendly and helpful and really set the tone for our visit. A shout out also to Eve on the front desk who was always wearing a smile and ready to assist me and others when needed. She is a good ambassador for the Menger! I also want to recognize Mary, who was our housekeeper. She quickly responded to our requests for additional towels, other items, and the emptying of trash. She could not have been nicer. And last but not least, the housekeeping manager, Maria, is special! She is a real asset to the Menger team. When we got back home to Austin my wife realized that she probably left her glasses in our room. We contacted the front desk that evening and were given Maria's tel. no and advised to call her the next morning. We called Maria and she immediately went to work, found the glasses, and then took the necessary steps to get them FEDEXed back to us the next day. Outstanding service! Based on
this fabulous first stay at the Menger, we will definitely look forward to what we hope will be many future return visits. Thank you so much for your warm hospitality and a great getaway during this very stressful time due to the coronavirus. Keep up your great work! We will certainly recommend the Menger to anyone who is planning a visit to the Alamo City.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jimmy wrote a review Mar 2020
Spring, Texas491 contributions285 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Menger Hotel is a beautifully restored and maintained 1859 hotel built on the grounds of the historic battle field of the Alamo. For many years I've hoped to stay there and join previous guests: Sam Houston; Robert E. Lee; Babe Ruth; Robert Mitchum and Babe Ruth just to mention a few.

The lobby, adjoining meeting rooms and bar are beautifully maintained and filled with memorabilia. The Colonial Room restaurant is very nice and the buffet is very reasonably priced during the weekday.

The rooms as you would expect in a historic hotel are smaller. The rooms were clean and linen was fresh. As reported previously, the walls are thin and noise is evident from room to room and in the hallways. For two nights our frisky and lascivious neighbors would return between midnight and one AM to entertain the floor.

The hotel is in an excellent location in order to tour San Antonio.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David B wrote a review Jan 2020
New Braunfels, Texas30 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
From start to finish, this was a stay we wish we hadn't done. This was suppose to be a Thanksgiving decompression stay at a local hotel. Turned out to be a nightmare. We expected to have a heated room and basic furnishings. Turned out the hotel, being a "historic" property does not heat their rooms until outside temperature reaches 45F. No where in their brochures is this mentioned. The weather was cold and rainy and without heat, we just couldn't get rid of the chill. We opted for room service but were again unpleasantly surprised to find there was no where to place the serving tray the room service attendant showed up with.(This was a suite we were in) It was plain to see he was also confused as to where the heck he could place the food. As he spoke no English, there was a few moments of shoulder shrugging and shaking of heads. We finally decided to use one of the ottomans to hold the food. We had ordered 2 meals and this was confirmed by the confused lady on the phone who took our order after a couple attempts. Seemed she was using a cordless phone with bad reception - this is a commercial hotel? The food arrived with utensils and drinking ware for one. At this point my wife was ready to scrap our San Antonio trip and drive home. We did however end up staying and bundled up to try and salvage the trip. I must mention, the year before we had stayed across the street at the Crockett Hotel. That was a fun stay and they knew how to run a hotel. Anyway, I didn't mention the parking. The hotel offers a valet parking service in the covered lobby, but it is so crowded as to be painful and very expensive. So, we won't be going back to the Menger, and won't be recommending it to any people to which we would like to remain friends. Big bucks for a big disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go across the street to the Crockett Hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Wally H, General Manager at Menger Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Frigid in Texas, First and foremost, please accept our sincerest apology for the less than satisfactory experience you had in our Historic Menger Hotel. We always try to provide the best services and experience for all our guest, we failed in this case. We do take our guests wellbeing seriously and please know that all of the issues you experienced are not our standard of service and all have been addressed with each department. We wish you the best for 2020, again our apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura C wrote a review Jan 2020
Leesville, Louisiana12 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s 160 years old and for that it’s worth a visit, history! San Antonio has grown up around it, so therefor there are very few rooms with an actual view of downtown. In fact you may end looking at the roof or wall of a mall that’s about 5ft away. There is no easy parking close by, so you almost have to pay 28 per day. It is right in the heart of the river walk, if your patient you can find everything you need with in a minutes walk. Downtown is always crowded.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathryn M H wrote a review Oct 2020
Houston, Texas3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights for our Honeymoon. The room was clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. We ordered room service for breakfast both days and it arrived quickly and was cooked perfectly. With a central location, it was easy to walk to the Riverwalk and other areas around The Alamo. The only issue was construction made directions to the hotel more difficult but not impossible.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolynn B wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Menger is a historic hotel in San Antonio. The location is exceptional; located steps from the river walk, Alamo, and commercial attractions like Ripley’s and the wax museum. The river center mall is right next door, which allows super easy access to Starbucks in the morning.
I give this hotel two stars because of the accommodations. First, the bathrooms seem to have been remodeled but there is not a hook or towel bar anywhere. Not one place to hang a bath towel, and traveling with a family makes for a very messy room, since you are either forced to throw them on the floor or hang them on a chair. Second, none of the outlets or usb plugs on the (2) provided lamps worked, so we had to unplug every lamp to charge our devices. Frustrating, but also made for a very dark room, amplified by the super dark rug and decor. Third, overall cleanliness was poor. The bathroom just felt icky with dust build ups and staining on the cabinets. There was a dirty fork on the floor in the hallway outside the room across from our room from when we checked in to when we checked out 2 days later. We had the breakfast buffet one morning, which was very reasonably priced, but our glasses and silverware were dirty with chunks of food and the waitress said it was just water spots. We checked out early to save ourselves from sleeping there a third night, and when my husband told the front desk the response was “you are free to come and go as you please”.
Overall, rated a 5 star for location for 0 for cleanliness. We would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TD-ATX wrote a review Nov 2020
Austin, Texas100 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a classic place!! It’s like taking a step back in time. We loved every minute of our stay. It was during the end of October and the hotel really plays up Halloween with decorations all over the place. The Covid-19 precautions were executed well as my wife wiped down the high touch areas of the entire room with a white cloth soaked in alcohol and it was clean - her version of the white glove test. If you stay in the original wing don’t expect a mini fridge; there is a small coffee maker. We didn’t see any ghosts this time but we will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Slkwill wrote a review Oct 2021
Cincinnati, Ohio17 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is great. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. We only came for one night but the room was so small and inefficient. The coffeemaker and light on the desk were not even plugged in. The only outlets were on opposite sides of the room and they didn’t even use an extension cord. No idea why they even put the light and coffee maker on the desk because they made no attempt to plug them in anywhere. Must’ve just been for show. The bathroom had no fan in it. Walls were so thin you can hear every conversation around you. I had actually been napping and woke up because of a conversation in the hallway. Thought this place looked cool and historic but just isn’t functional. Also note that parking is valet and it’s $30 plus tax. You will get a card with a barcode on it from valet. Scan that EARLY. We texted it before leaving our room to check out and we were quoted 35 minutes! It ended up probably only taking 25 minutes to get our car but still. If you’re in a hurry keep that in mind.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Guerra, Guest Services / Front Office at Menger Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2021
Dear Samisweetheart, Thank you for your feedback from your visit in October. I was disappointed to read of our shortcomings and please accept my most sincere apologies. Your feedback regarding the electrical outlets was certainly valid and we have identified the room to make the appropriate changes. I regret the noise issues you encountered during the day and my sense is that it came from our associates. Please know that I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team to make sure our voices are much quieter on the guestroom floors. We do have a bit of a challenge with our Valet as the Alamo Plaza renovation project has closed our Porte Cochere on Crockett Street. We are working off a temporary entry and the drive from our lot to this temporary entrance is a bit longer and subject to city traffic conditions. Thankfully we will be back at our normal entrance by February. Thank you again for your valid feedback and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Sincere regards, Garvin O'Neil General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sundra F wrote a review Mar 2021
Katy, Texas1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Menger for the 6A High School Boys Championship Basketball playoff game which was within walking distance. The hotel has a great location to all the tourist attractions which is why we normally stay there. Presently, the barricades and construction give the property a cheap and depressed look, the valet parking is chaotic and frustrating. Our room in the old section was extremely small and next to a noisy elevator shaft, there were loud and foul-mouthed guests in the hallway early morning yelling and screaming, the morning buffet food was cold and certainly not worth the price, our door mechanism failed and we could not enter our room until the batteries were changed. We’ve stayed there many times and usually resulting in a pleasant experience. We were extremely disappointed with our stay there and would not recommend the hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Guerra, Guest Services / Front Office at Menger Hotel
Responded 20 Mar 2021
Dear sundraf2021, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TA. I was so disappointed to read of the many service lapses during your visit. You deserved better and, on behalf of all of us, please accept my most sincere apologies. It is our overriding goal to provide excellence in service and accommodations in San Antonio. We dropped the ball in several areas during your visit and I regret the impact it had on your stay. The construction work on Crockett Street is part of a dramatic Alamo Plaza renovation in which Phase One is complete in June. Thankfully it does not interfere with any access to the Plaza, the Alamo or River Walk and the fencing is only restricted to that street. The Plaza project has caused us to move the arrival to the hotel to Alamo Plaza. This has caused some hectic days in valet due to city traffic and spring break. Thankfully we now have ample staffing in place and issues in valet like you experienced are not being repeated. I would welcome the opportunity to regain you confidence in us should your travels return you to San Antonio. You are welcome to contact me personally and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Historic Menger Hotel in the not too distant future. Sincere Regards, Garvin O'Neil General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra W asked a question Jan 2023
Westminster, Maryland47 contributions22 helpful votes
Is there a shuttle from the airport to the hotel?
Answer from Joe
uk333 contributions108 helpful votes
No I’m pretty sure there isn’t but you can easily take a cab or Uber etc.
Claire C asked a question Jul 2022
6 contributions
Is the pool outside or inside?
Answer from Peri K
Plainview, Texas9 contributions1 helpful vote
Outside!
Weldon M asked a question Dec 2021
How much is parking
Answer from Steven Y
margate, United States46 contributions58 helpful votes
I believe $25.00 per day valet
Weldon M asked a question Dec 2021
How much is parking?
Answer from bynner
Walnut Creek, California590 contributions118 helpful votes
How much is parking believe around 32.00 but there are private lots in area. Not sure cost.
Shalimar S wrote a tip 13 Jun
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find parking next door that’s covered or covered a few blocks away. Lots of construction around Alamo and flying rocks. "
Read full review
Crazy k wrote a tip 13 Jun
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool was good except no one keeps it clean The first day it was closed for shock treatment, so we did lose one day of swimming."
Read full review
TLC Bravos wrote a tip Apr 2024
Velez-Malaga, Spain2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your walking shoes! There is so much to see and do right by the hotel!"
Read full review
Wynn R wrote a tip Apr 2024
Morgan Hill, California2,349 contributions317 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of kids from a large group kept the pool busy, On Friday night there was at least one HS Prom/Ball going on in the hotel."
Read full review
Leonor H wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very well placed"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Antonio area.
PRICE RANGE
S$181 - S$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasSan AntonioDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
316
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MENGER HOTEL (S̶$̶2̶2̶4̶) S$178: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,028 Photos (San Antonio, TX) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Menger Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Menger Hotel?
Nearby attractions include San Antonio River Walk (0.3 km), The Alamo (0.1 km), and The Magicians Agency Theatre (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Menger Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Menger Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Menger Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Menger Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Menger Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Panaderia, Boudro's Texas Bistro, and Fogo de Chão Brazilian Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Menger Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Menger Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of San Antonio.
Are pets allowed at Menger Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Menger Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Menger Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All San Antonio HotelsSan Antonio Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San AntonioHotels near Menger Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire