We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garrett's Desert Inn

Expedia.comUS$89*
View Deal
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Garrett\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Garrett's Desert Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 359: English reviews
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We have stayed in Santa Fe on several occasions but never at Garrett’s. I’ve always expected to pay a lot for a hotel room in the downtown Plaza area but we were delightfully surprised to find this little gem. Not only is it in the heart of downtown the prices were Fantastic. This Hotel is not the "Ritz" but our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank irene m
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Garrett's Desert Inn had been recommended by a Santa Fe merchant during our last trip. It's location on the edge of downtown was appealing and certainly the prices seemed like a deal. When we arrived at our Junior Suite room, we were very disappointed to find our mini-fridge unplugged and moldy. There was glitter and confetti on the floors, indicating...

 Report
Helpful?
21Thank Greg B
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2013

It is right beside the main tourist area, so you know it's going to be more expensive. I stayed on a Saturday night, making the price higher. I didn't see any tour buses, so I assume everyone there drove, so I don't understand why I would have to pay extra for parking in their lot. I was getting tired so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdnmint
Brian M, General Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review

All Hotels in DownTown Santa Fe charge for parking since it is very limited and at a premium. We have one of the lowest parking rates which range from $8/day (our rate) to $32/day.

Phuket Town, Thailand
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are comfortable and not your carbon-copy plan hotel rooms found worldwide, which is nice. The location is great, right near the plaza. The only thing I didn't appreciate was that parking is not included in the room price. Who am I, some millionaire who flies in and gets a limo from the airport?...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulieweb
purrfctprncss
Reviewed 30 December 2012

For the price, the location of this hotel is good. That's about all it has going for it. The room is dated, and our bathroom had all types of hair all over the place--none from us. We had reservations for 2 nights. Went to breakfast after the first night and returned to the room. They did not make our beds...

 Report
Helpful?
18Thank purrfctprncss
Brian M, Manager at Garrett's Desert Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We do take these seriously. I will first apologize for the lack of service your room received. Often times, we receive requests from our guests stating they only need fresh towels and the room doesn't need servicing. A room number may have been mis-communicated to our housekeeping department and thus your room was not...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We've stayed at many of the Santa Fe hotels and resorts and decided to try Garrett's for a recent one-night stay. The location can't be beat - easy walk to the plaza, shops and restaurants. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean and everything worked just fine. I agree with other reviewers that if they did a small...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ZenDogAZ
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Yes it's dated but man what a location! Walking distance to the Plaza and everything Santa Fe. We actually enjoyed the restaurant and the very accomodationg staff, great breakfast and coffee every morning while we were there. My wife and I have been coming to the Garrett's since 1991 and consider it the only place to stay when in Santa...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dean B
Aurora, IL
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here around Labor Day. It is very convenient to the downtown area-just a short walk. The rooms as others have mentioned are dated but clean. I very much agree about the friendliness of the staff. The pool looked very nice but I spent too much time in the Plaza to have a chance to enjoy it. I was really...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 1KathrynK
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Ok hotel. Could use some updating. Very convenient to downtown. Overall excellent value for what you pay. Some condition issues. Skip the restaurant on the premises. Short walk to plaza and square. Short walk to outstanding restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank llmesq
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Most reviewers say the same old thing. Old, dated, etc. I totally agree. However, female staff member was a delight. She was so accommodating and genuine. After the ice-cold reception at La Fonda, it was refreshing to be treated like a human again. The price is what gets this motel 3/5, otherwise it would be 1. I sympathise with the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ACEPMQ

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,244 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,491 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,500 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,016 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Garrett's Desert Inn - a Santa Fe motel in the heart of town. ~ A Route 66 Santa Fe Motel right in heart of Santa Fe, sitting three blocks from the end of the Santa Fe Trail. Now under new management since Oct 2013. Serious downtown value. ~ a classic Route 66 "motor-court" motel with front of the room parking, has been the go-to bargain accommodations for downtown Santa Fe. ~ with the famous "Bite" all-day restaurant featuring its renowned "Best of Santa Fe" burgers and malts. ~ one of the most affordable pet friendly Santa Fe hotels, ~ heated swimming pool and plenty of sun open late May to late September. ~ three blocks or less to 1. The Plaza 2. Palace of the Governors 3. Cathedral and its chiming bells 4. Loretto Chapel 5. The three downtown museums 6. Canyon Road and its 80 plus galleries - a visual feast of a walk 7. Oldest house in Santa Fe 8. Forty - yes 40- restaurants. ~ Right by the end of the Santa Fe trail. ~ Imagine what has passed us by. We're not fancy - we're "right there - in the heart of it" Locally owned since 1957. Giving Back with Every Stay It is our mission to support non-profits by hosting community environmental and political groups, book readings, lectures, meetings, yoga, and meditation - - the essence of living here in Santa Fe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garrett's Desert Inn

Address: 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Price Range: $134 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garrett's Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garrett's Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrett`s Desert Hotel Santa Fe
Garretts Desert Hotel
Garretts Desert Santa Fe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garrett's Desert Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
San Jose, California
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bryant, Arkansas
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Garrett's Desert Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I heard that it does not have elevator, so I chose downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles thdo, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They charge $8.00 a day to park which is cheaper than most hotels in this area.”
 of 5 bubbles R4732LTjackies, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“second floor”
 of 5 bubbles BWolfe13, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms not worth the climb. View of the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles jmckphil, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“1st floor old fashioned motor court access”
 of 5 bubbles SaraF742, 7 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$89* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$89
Booking.comUS$89
Orbitz.comUS$89
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates