We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

#1 Rock Tavern River Kamp

Save
Share
1420 S Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835-3155
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)

About

#6 of 19 Specialty lodging in Luray
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Glamping!!! "Vacation In the Round" alongside the beautiful, legendary Shenandoah River. Experience true serenity in one of our ONE-OF-A-KIND YURTS! Waterfront! Whether you select our most Romantic Yurt for a UNIQUE HONEYMOON experience or bring the families for an awesome gathering by the river we offer on-site tube and kayak rentals with complimentary shuttle to bridge for a beautiful float back to camp, fishing from deck, lots of hiking trails and horseback riding in the G W National Forest just 8 to 12 mins away, Luray caverns 7 mins, River Hill Distillery just 5 min (offers wine tastings plus). Ben Jones "Cooter's Dukes of Hazzard Museum" is just 12 min away. Our yurts offer a true "glamping" experience -small refrigerators, microwaves, ac, crock pots, toaster, etc. Bring your own linens. Several yurts to choose from or pick a primitive campsite along the Blue Bird Trail, hang in the trees with your hammocks, reserve your space today for a unique and unforgettable experience!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Boating
Canoeing
Fishing
Children's playground
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Board games / puzzles
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Room types
Mountain view
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
35Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
MsReesiecup H wrote a review Jul 2020
Annapolis, Maryland1 contribution
Camp review A wonderful family vacation spot. We stayed in the Cherokee Rose Yurt which has enough beddings for 2-4 people. The yurt is right next to the water and is equipped with exactly as stated on the website. There is no AC but has one oscillating fan and a ceiling fan. We stayed in July but the weather was mild and it was not too hot. The river was clear enough you can see the bottom. It is rocky and water shoes are recommended. It’s a nice swimming hole. There was concern about a water fee in other reviews but that is only if you plan to go tubing/canoeing. Otherwise, swimming is free. The fire grill has a grill ring if you desire to cook over a fire or you can use a charcoal grill that is also on the yurt plot. The bathrooms are maintained and clean with hand soap, toilet paper and paper towels. The showers are not a continuous faucet flow but the water is Luke warm. You have what you need here. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway to relax, here are some things to consider. This is a small campground with 6 yurts and there are more tent sites situated around the yurts. These sites are clearly marked and separated by wooden fences but the downside is they are very close to each other. We had to walk through campsites to get to our yurt. It also means on a busy weekend, it’s not as peaceful. There are families playing games, having fun and it’s loud. Your camp neighbors are so close, you can’t help but hear their personal conversations. Also, the campground is right next to a road. In the middle of the night, you can hear cars/trucks go by. It’s a well traveled road. There is no cellular service if you have Verizon. You have to go up the road to even get a signal. That may not mean anything to everyone when camping but if you must contact the camp owner, you may not be able to do so. You’re instructed to text or call upon your arrival, we couldn’t do that without some difficulty. Everyone’s idea of “glamping ” is different. Anything where I do not have to sleep directly under the stars or in a tent sleeping on the ground is “glamping.” This is what you get in a yurt here: The beds are not hotel comfy beds but are comfortable enough for camping. Bring what you need if you require something softer. You bring your own linens. When renting a yurt, You still use the comfort station for your bathroom needs and so does everyone at the campground. They are clean but the bathroom stalls have shower curtains for doors. The showers are concrete, you do not adjust the water temperature. It was warm when we were there. Although clean, by the end of the day and weekend may not be as clean. The water is well water and it does have a very strong sulfur smell that stays on you. Bring your own drinking water as suggested by the owner and even more for cooking and cleaning if you don’t want the smell to stay with you. However, this water is clear and clean. Each site has its own water pump. You don’t have to walk far for water. These things did not prevent us from enjoying our stay but I felt these things should be mentioned if your camping needs require more creature comforts. This is still camping even in a yurt but not “roughing it.” We came during the weekend in the middle of summer so the campground was full. It cleared out by Sunday checkout and we enjoyed a quieter stay until Monday. We plan to return late fall and see how it is then. One more thing to note, it rained a down pour several times during our stay and it got windy. We were worried at first but the yurt held up well. We were comfortable and dry. If you plan to tent camp, the campground is under a lot of trees. So If it rains, the trees may offer some shield.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ava wrote a review Jul 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia8 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4th of July 2020 holiday weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip, but there are some interesting aspects of this campground you should know before you go. Pros: Beautiful sites right on the South Fork of the Shenandoah. There are rapids about a hundred yards down river, so it was nice to fall asleep to that. Your reservation includes a firewood fee that covers 2 bundles, with more available to purchase ($5 for a good sized bundle!) and another awesome thing is they have ice you can purchase (self serve, with a code to unlock the freezer that the owners will tell you, $3 for a 10 lb bag). The town of Luray is ~10 min away, which has tons to do, breweries, distilleries, restaurants and shops, and there's a massive walmart among other grocery stores that will have whatever you may have forgotten to pack. Some sites are in shade, some are not. We stayed at site 10, which has neighbors right next to them on one side but on the other we just had a river access ramp for kayaks, canoes, etc and our site was in full sun. Though it was hot, we liked this site and would recommend it if you plan on booking here. Sites are decently sized, but VERY close together, as in, a waist high fence post separates them. It didn't bother us, but when our neighbors arrived they seemed displeased with this, so if you are a camper who values space/privacy, this may not be the campground for you. Parking is also very limited, we got the last spot when we arrived, and were often "parked in" when the owner came to visit. They have bath houses complete with showers and well stocked with hand soap and plenty of TP, but the well water smelled really bad, like sulfur, while we were there. Same with the potable pump drinking water. And yes, I know well water always has a bit of an odor to it, but this was different, like rotting eggs. We ended up buying our own water at walmart to avoid the "stinky water", not really a big deal, just something to note. Another interesting thing is the water fee -- we tubed using public river access points and were told we still had to pay them a fee despite not using their section of the (state owned) river. Basically, if you step foot in the water without using their equipment (which, is as expensive as a typical river outfitter, don't expect a deal since you're already paying to stay there!) you're going to pay $25 or more depending on your party size. Which seems like a cash grab to me, and should just be included in your reservation fee, especially since they only take cash or checks once your're on site. I'm a "young millennial" or "older gen z", so I don't carry significant amounts of cash (the cash we had was for firewood and ice) and have written two checks in my life, so obviously I don't carry a checkbook around. While this review sounds really negative, we had an amazing time! I just wanted to be transparent about some of the issues you may run into or things to consider before booking. I gave it three stars because some of the oddities in terms of fees and amenities, but you can go and have an awesome time like we did despite all that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette Kibler Cates, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 6 Jul 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you all enjoyed yourselves! I am going to take this opportunity to clarify a few things for future potential guests. Our well water does have sulphur in it - however, it is treated by culligan water system and during the 4th of July our system needed chemicals and to be flushed----which was taken care of as soon as noticed. Although I do always recommend bringing your own bottled water due to some folks do not like the taste of well water. Parking is very limited at my place. I am an acre and half with a well maintained bathhouse, 6 yurts and 6 tent sites. I do prefer one vehicle for most sites and 2 vehicles when necessary. I don't have rv hookups at all. Tubing, kayaking, and canoeing is an amenity offered to our guests! I have pro tubes (have head rests and cup holders) these are commercial tubes made for the river...I do charge a rental fee of $20.00 per tube, we have cooler tubes, tube trackers, single kayaks and canoes ---all of which rental rates apply. I provide a complimentary shuttle for you up to the bridge then you float back to camp. Approx. 2 hr tube float when river is normal to low level. You are welcome to bring up to 4 tubes, or 2 kayaks, or 1 canoe per site of your own and shuttle yourself provided you can just bring on a truck - no trailers- a river access fee is charged if you plan to enter or exit at my Private River Kamp property. I bring in kayaks and canoes as needed as I have limited parking and I don't even have a trailer - I use only trucks. Guests also like to fish and swim ---in front of our deck. There is no charge to Fish (with license) or Swim. The $25.00 fee is for access in and out at my property--- I am Private for our cabin guests, yurt dwellers and campers. I personally do not feel this fee should be added into price because not everyone wants to be on the water. You can fish and swim and no access fees are ever charged. there are many government landings up and down the river that the local Outfitters uses as well and you can use all these public boat landings free of charge. There are several ways to pay this fee - add to your booking if you book direct with me, paypal, venmo, cash or checks are accepted. Come visit us to tube, kayak or canoe and enjoy a unique yurt experience! Annette (owner) I do hope this helps clarify things a bit.
Read more
Jon B wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
If you're looking for a place to take the family to get outside within reasonable driving distance from the DC suburbs, this is your place! The yurts and bath house are clean, clean, clean! The view of, and access to the river is great! Very close to Luray for food and sightseeing. The prices are reasonable and Annette the owner is absolutely a joy to chat with. I would highly recommend planing a getaway here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette Kibler Cates, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 6 Jul 2020
We look forward to having you come again! So glad you all enjoyed your stay! Annette
Read more
97sallyc wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We had a fantastic weekend Annette spoke with me on the phone several time before arrival The Cherokee Rose was very cozy and ready for our arrival After settling in she drove us up to a local landing and we paddled back to our Yert. The area is quite and has great views. . The River is awesome for either floating down or paddling up of you can. The bathroom was spic and span clean . Everything was in order . The other guest were quite older couples or nice young families .mI look forward to going there again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette K, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 31 Mar 2020
Thank you for a wonderful review of your stay! I am so glad you all enjoyed your get away in the Cherokee Rose Yurt! Yes do come again! Annette
Read more
MaryJanetravles wrote a review Oct 2019
Winburne, Pennsylvania398 contributions129 helpful votes
+1
I visited the campground with my very well behaved dogs on my way back to North Carolina for a driving break. I stayed in the Cherokee Rose yurt and it was lovely. It’s right on the river and had everything I needed. You have a little walk in so be prepared and the bath house isn’t far away. I was alone in the whole campground and it was totally the beautiful solitude I needed. Cell service is very iffy , but up by the road I had some. Not a big deal to me. It’s not a large campground and the yurt was much smaller than some I have stayed in , would be fine for 2 people, very cozy. Annette was wonderful, met me on arrival and told me places around I could get dinner. The mountains coming in were amazing and a bit scary even for a PA girl from those mountains, so I opted for delivery for dinner and ate it by the river. I hope to return when I have time to float in the beautiful Shenandoah.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette K, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 11 Oct 2019
Thank you! So glad you and your canine family enjoyed your stay with us! Annette
Read more
Stacey H wrote a review Jul 2019
9 contributions1 helpful vote
We did not actually camp here but we stayed in another one of Annette's homes down the road. We visited the campground the several times during our stay to fish and cool off. The yurts are super cool! The sites are quiet. Just a lovely area over all!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette K, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 19 Sep 2019
Thank you So glad you enjoyed your stay! Annette
Read more
Sharon G wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution
The yurt my boyfriend and I stayed in was equipped with what we needed for our little getaway. It was also very clean and gave off a nice cozy home feeling. The owner provides guest with lots of information on what’s around/what to do so we had no problem filling our stay with adventures. Waking up to the river was a beautiful way to wake up! On our last day the owner had stopped by to give us a ride and drop us off near a bridge to use her canoe, very sweet and friendly, and gave us lots of tips on canoeing since it was our first time—she even stayed with us for a little bit to make sure we felt good to paddle back to camp. Overall our stay and experience was great and the owner was reachable and responsive at all times, will definitely be planning a trip back here again next year! The water does have a sulfur smell to it, however my boyfriend and I weren’t too bothered by it.. we were out and pretty much roughing it, plus everything else was beautiful and amazing we didn’t really mind!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette K, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 15 Oct 2018
Thank you for sharing your experience with others! I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return! Annette
Read more
kay m wrote a review Jun 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We did not have such a good experience with Rock Tavern River Kamp. When other campers refused to turn down the music after midnight, and threatened to shoot us when we asked multiple times, the owner was unavailable and no one was onsite to enforce any quiet times. We had to call 911 and the deputies just spoke to the other campers and left. We felt unsafe and had no where to go at 2am. I wouldn't stay here again for this reason. I am going to look for places that have someone onsite to handle these issues.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Look for a campground with someone onsite to enforce quiet times
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette K, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 23 Jul 2018
No one on Premises to handle issues? I am going to take this time to bring future potential guests up to date...First time ever since 2013 when I developed out my little camp has anything of this nature ever took place where officers needed to be called to my camp for any reason. I am a small little camp on the river with just 12 sites ( 4 yurts and 8 tent sites). It is not advertised anywhere that I have 24 hr security although when you call my cell - it is rare that I am not reachable. My camp was pretty full the weekend when this took place as the reviewer above speaks of---the reviewer is a guest of a registered guest that booked for a group of ladies that shared the Dancin' Wolf Yurt as well as 2 campsites for a group of approx 15 which were welcomed when they arrived and checked in with periodically during their stay which is the same I do for everyone. The last night of their stay ---as I discovered the next am (a lady that did not reserve but was a guest of registered guest left me a voicemail that didn't come thru to me until she left the camp ---failed cell service) I was just floored at what I was being told that they all bunked into the Dancin' Wolf yurt at 2am because they did not feel safe). This was the only call that did not come thru...I had no texts, no missed calls, no other voice mails and I had several families on property as well. So I am grateful the police were called to handle this situation as I do not take any of this lightly. As I immediately started investigating this. I was told by other guests that had not checked out yet on Sunday that (the parties involved had a brief shouting match back and forth and then cops were called - then all quieted down.) I advised that they certainly did the right thing by calling 911 due to should there ever be a situation like this occurring on my property - the Police officers are for sure the ones to handle this immediately and correctly. I then proceeded to get a copy of the report that was filed because I truly care about the safety of my guests and will certainly not welcome anyone of this ugly character being presented above,to my property. When I called the sheriff;s dept I was told by Major Baker that he would cc when he responded to an email asking that this matter be looked into further...Below is a copy of the email that I received regarding this matter...I am satisfied that this matter was handled correctly and professionally by our local law enforcement. So sorry you felt threatened in any way and good luck to you all - in your future travels! Annette (owner) Maj. Philip Baker >___________pagesheriff.com> To:>___________@gmail.com Cc:vahorselady@rocketmail.com ,Sheriff Chad Cubbage Jul 9 at 1:02 PM Ms. ________, I have reviewed the Call for Service related to this incident, and have spoken to the Deputy who responded to this incident, in order to provide an accurate response to your concerns. After reviewing the information I was able to obtain, I am satisfied that our staff took appropriate action to ensure everyone was safe and that available legal options were explained to the complainant(s). Due to the fact that the threats were not made in the presence of our staff, there were conflicting statements from members of both groups about the events that had occurred, and we were unable to locate any evidence, our staff was unable to reach the point of having probable cause for an arrest. The complainant was given the option of speaking with a Magistrate to present probable cause toward the issuance of an arrest warrant, but they declined. According to the Call for Service abstract, “both parties involved have been advised of their options and have agreed to keep the volume down.” To my knowledge, there were no further issues, and I feel that our staff handled this incident appropriately. Feel free to contact me if you have any further concerns. John P. “Phil” Baker Major – Chief Deputy Page County Sheriff’s Office
Read more
Mimi Chow S wrote a review Oct 2017
Arlington, VA43 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
This little campground is so divine! I've always have been curious about staying in a yurt and was so excited to find this only 90 miles from the DC metro area. We stayed in the Cherokee Rose Yurt. The yurt itself is fabulous! It has electricity including a mini fridge, microwave, fans and a heater. It is has a spectacular view!! And, the front is well shaded. The property is very well kept - the bathrooms/showers were so amazingly clean. You can tell they always have someone on property periodically checking on it. The other really amazing thing is that the customer service is amazing. Annette is always accessible via phone and made us feel so welcomed. She was sure to have fire wood ready and available for us (even when we needed more) and provided easily accessible rental of a kayak or canoe right there on the camp site. The only down side of our yurt were stink bugs but honestly, this is camping and there are bugs in general especially since you're right on the water. We had kids there and we all had an absolute blast! Will definitely be coming back and trying the other, larger yurts in the near future!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Compared to the Hummingbird, I personally liked the location of the Cherokee Rose Yurt as the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette K, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 15 Oct 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Annette
Read more
N D wrote a review Jul 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed a night tent camping (site 3). Absolutely a quality place. Rented a canoe on sight with easy in and out launch. Firewood was waiting for us at our site. Fish right from the shore...!! Bath house is less than 50 yards away, CLEAN, hot shower and amenities. The campground is very well cared for. Looked at the Yurt's ...AWESOME will be back for that experience!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Annette K, Owner at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Responded 15 Oct 2018
Awesome! So glad you enjoyed your stay! Annette
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaLuray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp
Which popular attractions are close to #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp?
Nearby attractions include Luray Caverns (5.8 km), The Car and Carriage Caravan Museum (5.6 km), and Hawksbill Greenway (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, boating, and canoeing.
Which room amenities are available at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp?
Conveniently located restaurants include Triple Crown BBQ, West Main Market, and Gathering Grounds Patisserie & Cafe.
Are pets allowed at #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to #1 Rock Tavern River Kamp?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shenandoah Valley Cultural Heritage Museum at The Edinburg Mill (13.8 km) and Mount Jackson Union Church (14.0 km).