We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel @ The Lafayette

Show Prices
#13 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel @ The Lafayette
See the most recent reviews
Showing 255: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for our wedding at he hotel. I booked a 2 bedroom suite for the night before and for the girls to get ready. The hotel was very accommodating! Because of check out time, they linked my reservation with my aunts so that our room would just get turned over and I didn't have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AubreyTJ
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is really nice and within walking distance of Coca-Cola Field. The building may be old but the room was really modern and very clean. We loved the decor. The hotel staff were relaxed and very helpful not all formal and stuffy. We will stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M M
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I got married at the hotel in the Courtyard Room on July 30, 2016. We also stayed at the hotel. I stayed in two rooms. The first was the two bedroom suite the night before my wedding with my bridesmaids. It was an amazing room! It was large enough to sleep 6 people comfortably (we only had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank asmath0813
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Asmath0813, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so honored to have been a part of your big day. Congrats to both of you and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad the rooms were comfortable and spacious enough to accommodate all your wants...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The hotel is beautifully renovated on the outside. From the positive comments I take it that the same is true for some parts of the hotel. Where we were (3rd floor) there were significant shortcomings: the paintwork in the sorridor was distinctly amateurish; I would be complaining with the painters if it was done like this in my home. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam007
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Amsterdam007, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you felt the hotel has been beautifully renovated, it is always great to hear that it was money well spent! We are also happy to hear that you found our team to be polite, friendly, understanding, and helpful during your...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel design was great and the room was spacious (no mini bar or fridge). The room itself was filthy. I know they recently did a renovation so I would be very disappointed as the owner that my house cleaning staff was not keeping up with my hotel. If they continue to not clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msolly86
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Msolly86, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. All comments are taken seriously and are a great training tool to help us all grow stronger as a team. We are sorry to hear that your room cleanliness was not what you were expecting and rightfully deserve. I do apologize, and only...

NY
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Reservation process was painful. My name was on a list of people included for a discount room made available by the bride. The young man I spoke with said he never heard of such a thing. When I checked in I got this gigantic 1 bedroom apartment complete with a kitchen. It cost $30 more than a regular room would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scp427
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Scp427, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your feedback with us it is greatly appreciated. We are sorry to hear you felt the reservation process was painful, as all our brides are offered two types of blocking for their guests. The standard block which holds room at a discounted rate and allows individuals to...

Darien Center, New York, United States
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Our "Mom and daughters" get-away weekend staycation in Buffalo turned out perfectly. We started our day playing tourists in our own cool city visiting the old train terminal, Riverworks, and some other sight seeing. We arrived at the Lafayette with a no hassel check in, friendly helpful staff, and then found our one bedroom suite with kitchen cool, comfortable, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen C
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Karen C, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are so glad that you were able to have "mom and daughters" time, as that is something all mother's need and rightfully deserve! We are glad to hear you found our team to be friendly and helpful as we...

ontario
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Great stay here. Rooms are beautiful, well kept and clean. Walking distance to the Niagra centre. The hotel bar was welcoming as well. Would return and will definitely recommend to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2ayearOntario
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello 2ayearOntario, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for such nice comments. We realize there are several lodging options for you to choose from when staying downtown Buffalo, so we are honored that you decided to stay with us. It is great to hear that you found your room to be beautiful well kept, and clean. Our...

Reviewed 3 August 2016

I happen to stay here when I was in Buffalo on business and couldn't get a room at the chain hotels. They happen to have one room left and it was the presidental suite. All I can say it WOW. I was in awe of this room. It was amazing. I walked into the room and jaw dropped. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Perrianne H
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Perrianne H, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback. We are glad to hear that you decided to give us a try and it is so great to hear that our presidential suite was jaw dropping! The balcony overlooks Lafayette Square, which is a great view of the area and certainly a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Four of us were travelling to see the Blue Jays AAA team the Buffalo Bisons, and to investigate Buffalo. This hotel is a few blocks from the baseball field, which was our primary reason for the visit. Additionally we wanted to see some of the Buffalo early 20th century architecture, and much of it is within walking distance of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John A
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello John A, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience. All feedback is taken seriously and helps us all grow stronger as a team. We hope you enjoyed the game and we are glad you stayed with us as it is just a few blocks from the ball diamond. It is great to hear...

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 km away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 22 in Buffalo
1,681 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.5 km away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#12 of 22 in Buffalo
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Price Range: $190 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel @ The Lafayette staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Toronto
West Palm Beach, Florida

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel @ The Lafayette staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on a high floor to get further away traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles stevesI1920IU, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cpk123532, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book a junior suite”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay the night. Only there for a wedding.”
 of 5 bubbles 111sharonr, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't get room 214”
 of 5 bubbles Bluemango4me, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay