We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel @ The Lafayette

Show Prices
#14 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Hotel @ The Lafayette
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel @ The Lafayette
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Lafayette for a bachelorette party and we all had a wonderful experience ! The two bedroom sweet was beautiful, a prefect space for a party of 6. We returned from dinner and we think the front desk sent a bottle of champagne to the room, what a thoughtful touch! Front desk agents Megan and Michael...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lollpop5692
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Lollpop5692, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your comments with us it is greatly appreciated. It is great to hear that this is your second time staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future! We are glad to hear you found your room to be beautiful and...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 June 2016

So I returned to this hotel for a second stay and I will probably go back for a third. However, as many have said before, the service is generally bad, but that doesn't make it not worth the visit. If you like a hotel with interesting character, this is a good choice. Interesting lobby and comfortable quirky rooms. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Effen D
Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We spent lots of money on a wedding and many, many rooms. A number of rooms for two nights. Before I get all negative the wedding, food and banquet hall were spectacular. Highly recommend for a wedding. What is most bothersome is our quest that stayed across the street in the Hilton garden Inn were treated better. It started when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Froggy944
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Froggy 944, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the response that we can't guarantee early check ins as we said and always say, we will certainly do our best to guarantee all requests, but unfortunately we can't guarantee an...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 31 May 2016

I recently attended a wedding reception at the Hotel at the Lafayette. I am breastfeeding my daughter, so during the event, I needed to a space where I could pump. As I'm sure you can imagine, traveling while breastfeeding can be extremely stressful and difficult. You are essentially banking on the kindness and preparedness of strangers in the hope that...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank utchicago
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Utchicago, We are so glad to hear that you attended an event at our hotel and shared your comments with us. I do apologize that you did not have the experience with us that you were hoping for as we certainly do our best to ensure all of our guests (whether staying with us or not), have an enjoyable...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Far from the high-end hotel that they are trying to be. The service is terribly unprofessional. Be prepared to pay way too much to park in a lot that isn't covered. The fitness room much to be desired and in a dark basement. The halls are loud and you can hear just about everything going on. The customer service is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jengoodwin130
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Jengoodwin130, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated. We are so sorry to hear that you felt the $20 we charge for overnight valet in downtown Buffalo is expensive. When comparing us to other hotels in downtown Buffalo, I think you will learn that everyone in downtown charges for overnight...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 May 2016

If you don't mind no service (not poor service) then you could stay here. Literally everything is do it yourself. Carry your own bags, no porter, no concierge ANY day that we were there, no breakfast attendant, no one was around! We called the front desk to ask where the fitness center was and they said that they weren't sure...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank michaelmY7565AF
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello MichaelmY7565AF, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your feedback. We certainly are sorry to hear you experienced "no service," however we are also a little confused as all the issues you are stating you received no service with are all services we certainly offer. So given your comments I personally reviewed our cameras and...

Hamburg, New York
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Stayed here on a Saturday overnighter as a birthday surprise from my husband. Staff was friendly, room was nicely decorated. Would have preferred a firmer mattress. Placement of TV was awkward and uncomfortable to view from the bed. We did not know that we were given a room within the Wedding block wing. Noise was minimal until the wedding guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlene K
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Darlene K, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you found our team to be friendly and your room to be nicely decorated. We are sorry to hear that the mattress wasn't what you were expecting. We are also sorry to hear that you...

Maryland
Reviewed 1 May 2016

The Lafayette Hotel was great starting with the first phone call I made. The gentleman I talked to to make the reservation (wished I got his name) was the reason I didn't bother looking anywhere else, he was helpful in getting me a great rate and was very pleasant to deal with. So were everyone at the front desk and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathymc
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hi Kathymc, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and our team enjoys reading all comments as it helps us grow stronger and work towards our goal of being the best of the best and offering the service to back it. We are so glad to hear that the...

Frisco, Texas
Reviewed 25 April 2016

What a unique hotel! I love old historic hotels that have been remodeled but still have the character. This hotel did not disappoint. Wonderful staff, and a GREAT Bell Hop/Valet team member. He helped us with SO many needs, really appreciated his help. The hotel was beautiful, we attended a wedding there and the banquet room and food were both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NMICustomer
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello NMICustomer, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback with us. Our team takes great joy in reading all comments, as we try to ensure all our guests have the same experience. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy the Pan American Grill and all the food, and drinks the brewery...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 April 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in Buffalo and the Lafayette was an attractive and interesting place to stay. No complaints. I only have one suggestion. We are from Ontario not far from Buffalo and I was surprised (and annoyed) to discover we could not get any Canadian TV channels. We just wanted to watch the Canadian news....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
Evan B, General Manager at Hotel @ The Lafayette, responded to this review

Hello Heather R, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for such nice feedback. All comments are taken seriously and help us grow stronger as a team, as we want to offer our guests the best of the best and feedback from our guests is certainly helpful in reaching that goal. We are so happy to hear that...

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Amenities (36)
Viewed
Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.7 km away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
1,732 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
1.0 km away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.5 km away
Lofts on Pearl
Lofts on Pearl
#11 of 23 in Buffalo
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel @ The Lafayette is a historical landmark built by America’s first professional female architect, Louise Blanchard Bethune in 1904, and has been painstakingly restored to its original beauty in 2012. It boasts thirty-four boutique guest rooms, three mouthwatering restaurants, and five breathtaking ballrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel @ The Lafayette

Address: 391 Washington St, Buffalo, NY 14203-2108
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Price Range: $188 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel @ The Lafayette 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel @ The Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#8 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel @ The Lafayette staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Toronto
West Palm Beach, Florida

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel @ The Lafayette staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms would probably get a better view of their little terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles Marthabuca, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles A8766EWwilliamb, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor room 202.”
 of 5 bubbles karenm249, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor to get further away traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles stevesI1920IU, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cpk123532, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5