We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Certificate of Excellence
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Admiral Fitzroy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 370: English reviews
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is directly in the cent or the town where you can get out and walk to shops, restaurants and the harbor area. A premium point for staying at the Fitzroy is that they have their own FREE parking lot for its guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eldridgebf
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

Location of The Fitzroy is a definite plus. Park and relax instead of dealing with traffic! We can point you to numerous restaurants within a short walking distance.

Palmer, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesome stay our favorite place to visit in Newport. Don't have to drive if you don't want to easy to walk to all the shops and restaurants. The staff is pleasant and very accommodating to any needs you may have.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 768kay
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. The staff is always ready to assist guests and assure their stay is pleasant. Hope to see you again soon!

East Hampton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing time, we would definitely stay again, it was a perfect location and the inn was charming. The rooftop sitting area at sunset was an added bonus! Breakfast was good but very difficult to move around room when more than 2 couples are dining at the same time. Still would stay again, staff were knowledgeable about the area and gave...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenClif
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

Love that you discovered our roof top deck and enjoyed the setting sun. Space is a bit cramped in our pretty breakfast room but one is always welcome to take a tray back to their room or enjoy a tray up on the deck! Depending on front desk staff in the moment, we love to share our favorite restaurants and...

Milford, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our three-day stay was the perfect way to enjoy Spring in Newport. Beautiful weather, superb accommodations, professional, friendly staff and delicious breakfast. The Inn's location is convenient to all the shops we love to visit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidandAnnY
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

The beautiful weather is certainly a plus when visiting Newport as it enhances the experience, but providing our guests with lodging where they feel comfortable makes us oh so happy!

Cromwell, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a gem. right on Thames st. So convenient. all of downtown accessible by walking. Parking provided on the premises. you only need your car if you want to visit the mansions up on Bellevue Ave. Staff is excellent, friendly and so accommodating. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Continental breakfast was also excellent . we definitely will book...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ricandkathyn
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

Of course location, location, location is one of the keys to our popularity but we also love to be recognized for our friendly and helpful staff, our simple but fresh breakfast, and our comfortable rooms. Thank you for letting us know!!

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The breakfast is awesome and the rooms are comfortable and really nice. Highly recommended it's a wonderful getaway and we go back as often as we can. Great location too!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

Wow we are feeling very grateful for your feedback as we continue to try our best to make your stay memorable. Our breakfast staff works hard to bake, display and maintain our expanded continental breakfast. Thank you for noticing and enjoying.

West Kingston, Rhode Island
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful Historic Inn. Comfortable room. Rooftop patio was a pleasant surprise. Very nice breakfast. Owners were laid back, attentive and available but gave you your privacy. Close to everything in Newport

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dory W
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

Lovely to be recognized as giving our guests their space but also being available for the asking......rooftop seems to be a bit of a secret but we love it too! We appreciate your favorable review!

NEWINGTON, United States
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Nice quaint B and B on Lower Thames St. in Newport. The rooms are clean, but a little dated. Very nice breakfast with a good selection of items. The location is a little bit away from down town, but close enough to walk. Good local food and drink are close. Inn keeper Angela is nice, but a little rigid. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased you found your stay at the Admiral Fitzroy pleasant enough. Each year we try to update our rooms by touching up the hand painted motifs and faux finishes, installing new carpets and a/c units but the antiques are in keeping with the original style of the Inn and may not suit everyone's taste. We appreciate the feedback...

North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This inn is nice, but not spectacular. It was great to have the off street parking. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. There was a very nice spread for breakfast. My main complaint was the shoddy, pilly sheets on the bed. Hard to believe that anyone would use sheets as worn as were on our bed. The sheets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank satchmom
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

Oh My. I am happy you mentioned a few of the high points of your visit before telling us about your "old sheets" experience! And I offer my apologies. My housekeeper mentioned to me that on your way out you told her about the condition of the sheets which she then told me about and we promptly discarded them. It...

Fall River, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Plenty of off street guest parking behind the Inn. Very clean, and well maintained. Pleasant courteous staff at check-in. They offer weekday and weekend packages, just go online. Coffee, coco, and cookies upon arrival. Rooms are clean, Victorian decor and modern updates. Small bathroom, apt size refrigerator, flat screen TV. Clean bedding, and linens. Rooms are comfortable decent size. Located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddyboat
admiralf, Manager at Admiral Fitzroy Inn, responded to this review

We so appreciate your review! You covered all the details we work so hard to present to our guests from within, and the natural location of the Inn lends itself to such easy access to all things Newport! We will continue to do our best to bring you a wonderful experience during your stay at The Fitz!!

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,950 reviews
0.9 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#5 of 21 in Newport
562 reviews
1.4 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.9 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Admiral Fitzroy Inn is an 18-room bed and breakfast conveniently located in the heart of Newport's bustling waterfront district and within walking distance to many popular local shops and restaurants. The Inn offers three floors of unique, hand painted rooms with private baths in each and an elevator for easy access. A Signature Continental breakfast, on-site parking, wireless internet and roof top deck are additional amenities included in your stay. The Inn was built in 1854 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is approximately 1.5 hours south of Boston, 1.5 hours from Hartford, Ct, and 3.5 hours from New York. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Admiral Fitzroy Inn

Address: 398 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6624
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $262 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Fitzroy Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Admiral Fitzroy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fitzroy Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Admiral Fitzroy Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Admiral Fitzroy Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have stayed here 3 times ...so far. We have not stayed in the same room twice. All of the rooms were great and I don't feel the extra money to stay on 4th floor or in the front is really worth spending it. All the rooms are lovely!”
jeralynf2017, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“none the room was very comfortable”
robert121946, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Excellent accommodations, located right in the center of town. ”
josephd820, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They are all great! ”
851danaw, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms very comfortable. Owners available and giving just the right amount of attention and privacy. This Inn is in a perfect location to waterfront and restaurants. The streets of Newport are a wonderful historic walking place. ”
17doryw, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates