We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cliffside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Cliffside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliffside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,009: English reviews
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2014 via mobile

As a " regular " at the Cliffside Inn, I am never disappointed. The staff and the owners are amazing with their ability to anticipate my needs. Their knowledge of Newport and suggestions of places to go are always spot on, enhancing my every trip. I am always in awe of the cleanliness and standards in the Inn, along with... More 

Helpful?
Thank DutchessCooks
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

What can I say? We are always thrilled to have you come and stay with us. Please don't let it be too long before the next visit. Warmly, Nancy, Bill and Koty More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We were so lucky to phone the Inn in the morning from Cape Cod and have a room available for us that night! Most people book weeks ahead. Mind you, it was near the end of the season. And then innkeeper Nancy gave us a 10% discount because of the weak Canadian dollar, which was a nice way to begin... More 

Helpful?
Thank susan w
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure to have you stumble upon us. Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We enjoyed having you here and having you feel like you had your own mansion for a few days. I'd like to say I hope the Canadian dollar improves, but it's the only one the US dollar is doing... More 

silver spring, md
Level Contributor
542 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Everything about this inn is perfect! Stayed here recently for a special weekend with my wife and, because we had read the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, we had very high expectations. The inn itself, its delightful owners Nancy and Bill, and the efficient and personable staff exceeded our very high expectations in every regard. The inn itself is a beautiful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IAP65
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

It was so lovely to have you both here. We really enjoyed getting to know you. I'm glad we were able to get the wine to you too - wouldn't want to ruin pizza night! Thank you so much for all of your wonderful comments. We do try very hard to make everyone feel special and I'm glad we hit... More 

Joisy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. Stayed in carriage house and one of the best places we've ever stayed. From outside its very simple looking w faux garage door. Step inside to a 2 person jacuzzi big bathroom soft pillow top 4 poster canopy bed. Window bench fire place. Run by friendly prof people. Breakfast was home made granola yogurt fruits warm... More 

Helpful?
Thank June R
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you were able to have a last minute get away with us. The Carriage House indeed is a unique space. It is the only room that was built completely by us, so we have a special attachment to it. Even though you were only able to be with us for a short visit, we are so... More 

Warfield, Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cliffside Inn in June. Bill and Nancy made us really welcome and served up fabulous breakfasts each morning, which we were lucky enough to enjoy in the sunshine on the lovely wraparound porch. The location of the Cliffside Inn is absolutely perfect just minutes away from the famous Cliff Walk/Mansion Houses. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tinaarena
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope you are all settled in back in the UK. We are having an absolutely brilliant fall here too - although we did catch a few rainy days this week. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope if you make it back to... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Beatrice Suite for a special Birthday Weekend. I couldn't fault the Inn, the staff or the owners. It was an experience to remember. Breakfast's and wine afternoon's a special experience also. Monica & Denis, from Melbourne Australia

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica C
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

MJ and Denis, We really appreciate you coming to the Cliffside Inn for Denis' "big" birthday! I personally really enjoyed speaking with both of you. I hope you were able to get back to Australia ok. The Hong Kong protests are still going on and they have stopped tour packages. Hmmm, luckily there is trip insurance. I do hope if... More 

Coventry, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2014

My spouse and I were celebrating our Anniversary at the Cliffside Inn. It more than met our expectations. From the warm greeting by the staff to the wonderfully appointed rooms and delicious food attention was paid to all the details. The Cliffside is charming, comfortable and very will maintained. I look forward to returning and would definitely recommend to family... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing the Cliffside Inn for your 50th (!!!) wedding anniversary. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely anniversary. Even though Coventry isn't very far, it is nice to be able to get away somewhere special to celebrate. Thank you for all of your lovely comments. Best, Nancy and Bill More 

Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2014

I stayed in the Victorian room, everything was beautiful and super clean, breakfast is fantastic, especially if you sit on the porch and enjoy the view. The staff is friendly and helpful and the owners are very nice people.

Helpful?
Thank Vlad M
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Vlad, Thank you so much for your kind review. You were a pleasure to have with us and we will miss you. It was so great to see Newport thorough your eyes (and your camera lens). I hope you will send us some of those wonderful pictures you took. I'm glad to hear you are considering coming back to Newport... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We had the good fortune to book a two day stay at Cliffside Inn for our 30th Anniversary and we could not have been more delighted with the experience. The accommodations were clean and updated and spacious. The Innkeepers (Nancy and Bill) and their entire staff could not have been more gracious and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the wonderful breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lanning B
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to host the two of you for your 30th wedding anniversary. We truly enjoyed having you here and getting to know you both. I really did think you might spend the entire first day on the front porch (which would have been fine) but I'm glad you got out to enjoy some of Newport as well.... More 

Bethel, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2014

My husband and I stayed here in September 2014 in the beautiful Garden Suite for our 10 year anniversary. The suite was beautiful and cozy, the Inn itself was impeccably maintained and exuded character, the breakfasts were delicious and the staff was wonderful (Bill and Nancy, the innkeepers, are fantastic). We've stayed at many luxury resorts and I can say,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SASlaughter
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much. Our wonderful guests make it such a pleasure to be in this business and the two of you rank at the top. It was great to have you with us and watch you enjoy your time in Newport and at the inn. We are really happy that you chose us for your 10th anniversary. Looking... More 

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (452)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (181)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,759 reviews
0.3 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
1.5 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the best of Newport in a romantic and serene coastal setting at this romantic Rhode Island inn, just steps from the historic Cliff Walk and Easton's Beach. Each of the beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites in our restored 19th century Victorian mansion, offer all of the amenities of a luxury hotel while retaining the unique charm and character of a New England country inn. Our Newport, RI bed and breakfast has earned an international reputation for gracious hospitality, epicurean delights, attentive service and special touches - making it one of Newport's most sought after destinations. Welcome to the Cliffside Inn - a AAA four diamond and Select Registry property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliffside Inn

Address: 2 Seaview Ave, Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range: $307 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Cliffside Hotel Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffside Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Massachusetts
over a year ago
Norwalk, Connecticut

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites were nicer, more privacy”
 of 5 bubbles averykrein, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Atlantic Room in the cottage”
 of 5 bubbles jonmanch, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Tower Room, two story with seperate access.”
 of 5 bubbles randyjacks0n, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I suspect all rooms are exquisitely appointed. Ours was.”
 of 5 bubbles Robroyce, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We loved the 3rd floor suite because of the beautiful view, but be aware that there is no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles katw646, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay